New World - The dark side

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

The quality of life in this game sucks!

There, I said it! It's out now!

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

Boy, was I excited about New World. Boy, did I spend a lot of time playing it. Gathering, crafting, running around, exploring.

This game seems amazing for gatherers and crafters, and it is! At first. There is so much to do, so much to craft, so much to collect. There is also so much to see. And what you see looks amazing. I mean, this game's graphics are awesome! I am still amazed by the lighting.

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

After playing for a while, especially as a gatherer, you start to notice your bankspace is... on the small side. You fill up your bank, run around with full bags and are forced to craft and trade to make room for new things. And because everyone is doing the same, selling your stuff can be quite hard. So in the end, you just salvage the stuff you can't sell (mainly crafted armor).

You do this for a while, getting annoyed with the small amount of space you have left and you decide to drop off some stuff at another town, where the bank is still empty. Phew, that helps!

You continue gathering, crafting and exploring. Eventually, you'll get, buy or create a bag, or maybe two, or even three at the end. That really gives you some space to work with in your inventory. You can go on longer journeys now!

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

The bankspace though, that's still very low. Sure, you upgrade it a little while leveling up your territory standing, but that's peanuts compared to the amount you actually need as a gatherer/crafter!

So, you eventually decide to move over part of your crafting to another town. Light clothing and jewelcrafting in one, heavy armor, weaponsmithing and engineering in another town. Oh, and then a third town for arcana and cooking.

This works a little, although you start to get frustrated by having stuff you need in a bank in another town. I mean, everything needs iron. Well, almost. And you can't keep all of your linen in town number one, because your heavy armor needs a little aswell.

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

Even silk clothes need... metal buttons I guess!

So you drag around some crafting materials wherever you go, or you notice you miss something in one town, so you reluctantly head out of town to collect some of it nearby... hopefully.

It gets worse when your crafting level gets higher. You're starting to notice not every crafting station can make what you want. No, they have levels aswell. A tier 2/3 smelter couldn't possibly smelt orichalcum ore!

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

So you pick your crafting towns, based on the level of crafting stations they have. But wait! That's no guarantee!

Oh no. Towns change hands sometimes. Factions, guilds. They'll battle for towns and sometimes take over. They are the ones deciding which crafting stations to upgrade. And how high the taxes are.

And then there's the town invasions. I won't pretend to know anything about them, but I know this much: If they are not handled correctly (which happens a lot), various crafting stations might decrease in level! So if you pick your crafting town for that high-level smelter, you might run into a nasty surprise a few days later.

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

All I can think about now is how bad this will be once the hype dies down (which I think it already has). There will be less and less players to defend against invasions and less and less guilds willing or able to level up crafting stations. So eventually, won't every crafting station just go waaaaay back down to their starting level? What is a crafter to do then?

My crafting is at that point where I really need to look around for a good level crafting station and it is getting really frustrating. My banks are filled up, because I can't use everything right away. I even own three houses, but it still doesn't feel like it's enough. I've been moving stuff over to other towns according to the crafting station levels and I'm just hoping they'll stay this high.

I'm kind of annoyed that I had to buy three houses, just for storage, because they are expensive. Taxes are crazy in this game. Way too often and way too high, and that's while my server is cheap in taxes compared to most. I know, I checked before switching servers.

Playfulfoodie gaming New World

Yes, it started out as lots of fun, but the quality of life in this game is just horrible. It's making me not want to play anymore. Which is a real shame, because with a few tweaks, it could have continued to be awesome! Something like shared storage space across towns, shared trading posts across towns (on its way I think) and if crafting stations need to have levels, make them a personal achievements thing!

I'll still hop in a few times a week, but it's time for me to start checking out other games again. And just hope they'll improve on this stuff soon.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

Sort:  

I rather shame because I had been reading into it and it seems like a good game to be engrossed in.

I myself is a PVE kind of player and I love the crafting aspect of it. I don't really like PVP but the way that you described how the crafting stations may decrease is worrisome.

It is a great game to be engrossed in and to be fair, leveling crafting takes a while before you run into said problems. I played a LOT. It's been worth the money for me and without a monthly subscription, I can come back any time after they implement some changes. It's just very frustrating at this point, because we're kinda inbetween the hype and long-term. This game needs full servers to keep these crafting stations going, but many players have left, so we'll need the server merges they are working on.

And I really do hope they'll do something about storage space 😅

I myself is a PVE kind of player

Then you will (or already) love Albion Online.

I had several people mention that I should download that as I recently just stopped playing Ragnarok Next Generation (ROX) and Genshin impact as it was eating too much time.

I might finally take the plunge

Big shame but I see this happening to more people. I have a few friends who was 110% into New World when it released but one by one they're dropping off and joining me in FFXIV instead.

Aye, it's pretty sad. I really still want to love this game, but storage and crafting station levels are such a big turnoff :-(

This game sounds interesting, how do I get started? Do I need any token to get started?

You can buy this game on the Steam gaming platform. It is in no way a blockchain game :-)

Oh, I thought it was a blockchain influence game.

Sorry to disappoint! 😅
I haven't played many blockchain games actually. Haven't touched Splinterlands for a while either. I really should look into them more, but meh. No energy.

It's funny the way you said, "but meh. No energy" 😂😂

But it's okay. Soon you'll be drawn to the blockchain games, I am sure of it. 😊


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Taxes are crazy in this game. Way too often and way too high

Sounds like the game takes place in my country (in Hungary).
We have the highest VAT (27%) in the whole European Union.