WHERE'S THE F-ING BATTERY | Siren Head: Resurrection - Episode 1 [Pusen Plays]

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


A little while ago @therealflaws and @gabotask was talking about a game called Siren Head: Ressurection in the HGC Discord. Gabotask even made a post about it which made me interested in it. I really liked the prospect of randomized playthroughs in a game like this as well as the length of the game. Apparently this game takes about 1-3 hours to finish so I decided it was perfect for a let's play series. I also haven't played a horror game in a long time.

The game is made by a single developer who calls himself show-more. The game can be bought and downloaded from itch.io and it's a pay what you want game. That means you can choose to download it for free if you so wish or you can choose to support the developer. I first downloaded it for free but I chose to pay $5 for it after I had finished it. The suggested price is $3 but this developer spent 8 months making this so he deserves it.

sirenheaddonation.PNG

I know very little about Siren Head going into this game. I had never heard of the being called Siren Head either but apparently it's this urban legend created by a man called Trevor Henderson (who does a lot of cool art). I guess certain parallels can be drawn to Slenderman. I wanted to go into the game with as little information as possible. I only know that it has several different endings and that each run is different in that key items spawn in different locations every new run. A pretty cool feature.

vlcsnap-2021-07-31-13h38m57s557.png


First Impressions

My first thought was that this game looks great for a solo project. It's awesome that developers have access to so many assets to help them these days. What's weird is that the game performs really bad. It's choppy and has bad FPS drops which can be seen in my recording. I have the settings maxed which my PC should be able to run just fine. Especially seeing as it ran Resident Evil Village at ultra settings with a stable 60+ FPS.

The game mechanics are pretty straightforward. You can run around, interact with stuff and pick up stuff. You have a journal that keeps track of your progress and objectives as well as an inventory for the things you find.

What I don't like are the interaction controls. Pretty much everything is done with the left mouse button. Interacting with things, opening doors, shooting, adjusting the flashlight, looking through the binoculars. Everything except turning on the flashlight which is done with F. I wish some of these things had its own keybinds so that I don't accidentally shoot my shotgun (spoiler for a later episode) while trying to adjust the flashlight.

vlcsnap-2021-07-31-13h39m31s664.png

I won't go in much more detail on the game yet but will rather leave that for a later episode post. I've already recorded the whole game over four episodes and I can say that there's been a bunch of frustration involved. I suck at this game and I've had to consult @gabotask for help several times. I've raged on Discord and @therealflaws has been bullying me by calling me a bad gamer. I'm just not good at finding things.

My frustration should be quite visible in this and pretty much all the coming episodes. Even the trivial task of finding a battery is apparently to much for me. Not much later I'm completely stumped when searching this abandoned camp. Like, what do they want me to find?

After this first session I rage quit and was so mad that I deleted the game. I'm glad I managed to cool down and give it another go though. While the game doesn't become easier for a dummy like me I had a lot of fun the whole playthrough even though it might sound like I had the worst time of my life.

Enjoy the show and enjoy my frustration!


Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

LOL, It's funny to see you suffer and explore the map, you look like a little boy XD. What the fuck, at first the game almost exploded lmao 😆

I was just so lost when playing this. The game is good though. It's quite fun to explore. I just need to pay better attention to details. :P

This game looks amazing until you notice that only one person did all the textures, environment and gameplay, then you see it as a masterpiece

You had me in the first half. I think he got most of the assets from Epic Games and such bit it's still impressive!

Damn the game doesn't look as bad as I expected. I would totally lose my mind looking around for stuff like that though lol. Good video!

Cheers! I was pleasantly surprised at the aesthetics. He's done a good job this lad.

In those moments of rage, we blame the game, I include myself, but it's always good to stop playing and come back to it to try again. that's what I do, I'm sure many do, I also think that horror games that make you look for things, manage to scare us because we concentrate on finding things and we can forget that we are being haunted. thanks for this post @pusen

@pusen plays horror games ...awesome! :D ..I haven't watched the video yet just read the post but I'm going to watch the vid as soon as I get done with my Summer of 58 post...

I was thinking to myself Hive gaming needs more horror titles so I looked to see what are some of the newest and scariest games of the year so far. Summer of 58 seemed the most intriguing...

Its set in an abandoned Russian pioneer camp...we play the role of a paranormal investigator...I just finished level 1 and I'm pretty impressed by the game but also a bit freaked out to do a second video... :)

Cheers my dude! Just a shame there's not a lot of horror in this game. It's still good though! I'm planning on playing Layers of Fear as well quite soon.

Summer of 58 sounds cool! I hadn't heard of it yet but I see it's brand new. Looking forward to seeing your post!

!ENGAGE 30

"After this first session I rage quit and was so mad that I deleted the game."

I've done that many a time bro.... :)

I like the idea of key items being randomly generated on each play through but in the end I would probably be wandering around shouting "Where the F*ck is it?!" for most of the game...

One question I have is how can alcohol be prohibited in a whole Valley? That seems like a hard policy to enforce...I noticed that on the board at the start...I'm not going into the wilderness without whiskey...ever... :)

The game looks good though Im looking forward to part 2...

Its a pity about the choppy frame rates but if its a game done by one developer damn that's really impressive...

I finally finished the Summer of 58 post...its legit the scariest opening level of any game I've played but also really well designed...I was genuinely quite unnerved but definitely intrigued to play more...I'm told it gets much scarier as the game progresses...there are 8 levels I guess ill see if I can handle it all the way to the end...

https://hive.blog/hive-140217/@celticheartbeat/itmvooyv

I think maybe my first download or save file might have been corrupted in a way because when I played the game the second time it ran perfectly fine and looked even better. That will be visible in the next video.

I'll go check out your post!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @pusen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.
You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation