The best thing about Resident Evil Village is the mystery. What's going on!?

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

I finally got around to playing Resident Evil Village for a couple of hours. My oh my what an experience this game is. It really is a roller coaster ride all the way through. At least all the way through the castle, which is where I'm currently about to finish up. I think.

I'm gonna assume y'all has already read tons of posts on this game. There has been it's fair share in the community already. I won't go to hard in on the plot but I'll mention it in short.

We play as Ethan Winters, the same guy from RE:7, who is looking for his daughter. His whole family is kidnapped and, presumably, killed. After being taken away he wakes up in the mountains somewhere in Eastern Europe. As he traverses the mountain for signs of life he stumbles into a village with very little signs of life. The whole game then revolves around this crazy village.

20210508152453_1.jpg


The Mystery

What I like the most about the game so far is the big mystery. Just what the hell is actually going on? How does this all tie into the overarching storyline of Resident Evil?

I had the same thoughts when playing Resident Evil 7. How does it connect to the rest of the games? In RE:7 we met a deranged family in the middle of Lousiana. Turned out the reason they were insane was because of Eveline. Eveline was a bio-weapon who had infected the family and taken control of them. With the inclusion of bio-weapons it all started to feel really Resident Evily after all. The mutated monsters we met started to make sense. At the end Chris Redfield came to save ut which really tied the game into the Resident Evil saga. WHAT!?

While this ended up making sense in RE:7 the entire events of RE: Village so far is a total mystery to me. This time it's not obvious mutants but the beings and characters we meet are like taken out of a fairytale. Lady Dimitrescu, the giant vampire woman living in a grand castle. Heisenberg with his army of werewolves. The little doll that looks a little like Chucky!? And not to forget the god figure of Mother Miranda who seems to be at the center of it all.

I'm just completely baffled. This all feels like something supernatural over bio-weapons and mutations to me. I've gotten through pretty much all of the castle now and there's no hints pointing at the latter. I am really curious though as to why Chris Redfield comes to abduct us at the start of the game. There has to be a connection here. Not only that but after beating the demo we're shown a trailer of sorts, and in that trailer we get to see the Umbrella logo. What does it mean though!?

20210504185617_1.jpg

They've really done a great job with this mystery. I can't wait to see how it all plays out. While playing I'm being really thorough for my first playthrough. I make sure to search every room 100%. Not necessarily for items but for notes and clues. I want to consume everything this game has to give me.


The gameplay

The gameplay isn't something revolutionary but it does the job perfectly. The first person perspective really helps with the immersion. I'm so glad they switched from third person to first person for these last two games. I'm sure they wouldn't be nowhere as good in third person.

Gunplay is simple but it works. I think it reflects that Ethan is in no way a soldier. He's just an ordinary guy who happens to find himself in some peculiar situations where handling a gun is practical. I'm really impressed at his speed of switching guns though. It almost feels like he's just pulling out another set of arms with how quick it is.

The difficulty may however be the weakest point for me yet. I'm playing on standard difficulty, and while there are higher difficulties I could have chosen, I feel like standard is just really easy. I haven't taken a single hit from any enemies aide from bosses and mini bosses. I haven't died once, apart from that time I got stuck in a corner and mauled to death by lycans. I wish I could change the difficulty on the fly but I can't. I don't want to start over either so I'll just have to stick with it. I plan on playing it at least one more time though anyways so I'll crank it up then.

20210508154424_1.jpg

A typical feature in Resident Evil games are puzzles and Village has them to. Although really easy ones. I haven't really had any problem solving any of them yet. They're all quite obvious from just looking at them. I hope this is something that picks up as I progress.

There's also a ton of items and loot scattered around which lowers the difficulty of the game further. I have so much money I have already managed to fully upgrade my handgun and shotgun. I even managed to increase some stats on the sniper rifle and purchase the upgraded inventory. I don't know if this is due to lower difficulties handing out more items or what.


Verdict

I have no idea how far through the game I am. I can however say that everything up until now has been absolutely awesome. It's a wild ride for sure. There are sections of the game that really tense me up and makes me clench my butthole really hard. Like when being chased around the castle by Lady Dimitrescu. Or when sitting in a safe room listening to her stomp around outside.

I'm jupming straight bak into the action after publishing this. Now that I finally managed to put a few hours into it the whole game just feels like an addiction. I need to know what happens next.

20210509112703_1.jpg


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

SPOILER ALERT?

I personally haven't wanted to see anything about the game until I've played it for myself, but sometimes social media can be a bit of a spoiler. From what I've seen, that Ethan guy who is the main character isn't human (this is an assumption), or something like that. I find that quite interesting, it's all quite paranormal, I want to see how they tie the first games in with all this.

Edit. Big misunderstanding. Sorry @syberia

But what I'm talking about is the same thing that Perceval said, about the character and his hand. That's not something a normal person would do xd

The thing Perceval mentioned happens in the castle that I mentioned I finished and Perceval knows that because he's watched gameplay of it. It's also a very minor spoiler of a very minor event compared to the huge plot point that you spoiled.

But if the scene I saw, it was that same scene about Ethan and his hand. That's why I made the assumption that the character is not human. Also I looked it up and he does that same thing in Resident Evil 7. Is that really a spoiler?

Lol. You should say that it’s your own speculation then and not a spoiler you saw in social media. Literally killing me here man. 😅

This is the spoiler I was referring to, it's the video that popped up on Facebook.

This game is amazing. I've started watching the gameplays and I love it. If it's true what you say about the difficulty, it's pretty easy. I remember dying at least more than once in previous Resident Evil installments. Watching the gameplay, I felt like if I were playing, I would never die. The puzzles are too easy and the money theme is very unbalanced. The creatures are too many and grant too much money, saving bullets is not an option as you can craft and buy many with money. It's not like in the typical Resident where you have to hit as many shots as possible to save ammunition, although I don't know if in a higher difficulty the enemies give less money and it's really very complicated. Resident went from something scientific and biological to mysticism and paranormal stuff, I honestly love that. I must admit that the part of the game where Ethan loses his hand was very exaggerated, but good for Ethan, with one hand it would be very complicated to advance. I would love to enjoy this work of art, beyond everything, it looks spectacular. I'll always say it, but since the 7th release the game looks more spooky, with that Outlast feel, I just love it. Too much text. 🤓

You're spot on with this. Even through these "faults" though the game is still awesome. I just wish an enemy was terrifying to meet instead of a minor inconvenience.

 3 years ago  

Don't lie, Pusen. You play Village because of that big boobs lady, not because of the "mystery."

The game really looks amazing, but are you sure you can't change the difficulty? In that screenshot you uploaded where you die, I can see that at the bottom right it says "Change Difficulty", lol.

I'm surprised that Redfield appears in the game, I think it's a pretty cool addition to the story. Not that I know much about the story, but I know that man appears before, so it will be awesome to see all the gamers tied together (If it really is).

The mystery is just a metaphor for the big tiddies. That's why I called it a BIG mystery.

You can downscale the difficulty if you die but you can't increase it. Should perhaps have mentioned that.

 3 years ago  

That's why I called it a BIG mystery.

Shit, I knew this, I KNEW.

You can downscale the difficulty if you die but you can't increase it.

Oh yeah, now makes sense

 3 years ago  

The relationship Resident Evil 8 has with the others so far is still strange, but equally I imagine they'll also fall into the same thing that all the enemies we saw were also biological weapons. Lately the last thing that comes to my mind when I see the Umbrella logo, is that there or nearby they may have had a secret lab, it wouldn't be such a crazy idea. And I like that, that they put us to speculate about the story, I have not been able to play it but I have seen many videos and it is true what you say and it is something I've noticed, it is excessively easy, which does not seem very characteristic of a Resident Evil, but still the game is very good, maybe raising the difficulty will be something else, I want to continue to see what this game has to offer.

There's so many things I want to say that I discovered in my next play session but I'm not gonna spoil. I'm super excited to find out what Umbrella has to do with this.

Hey the truth is I have not played this game, it looks good, where what strikes me most is the suspense that we see in the game, plus the gameplay as well as you mention that not perfect but if you meet and I understand when you mention that the difficulty is not so much despite the level you mention that we played, but overall it seems to me that the game is really good for what you mention. Good job on the publication, it's excellent how you explain everything. Greetings!

Gotta be honest and say I barely understand what you're writing here. Thanks anyways! Glad you liked it :)

Next time I will try to explain myself better my friend hehehe.

I have my suspicion of Ethan I was watching a stream and well I would be right that Ethan is a descendant of one of the 4 families or I don't know, I remember that once you finish with the milf they talk about Ethan's daughter and that to save her you need to go to 4 places that are the family you mention the truth the game has a good plot really interesting and Ethan is the one that leaves me most intrigued I hope all these mysteries come to light.

There's something fishy going on for sure. Especially seeing as the baby is so important to all of this. I'm excited to find out. Gonna wait for the evening to dawn so I can play more. Need it to be dark in here.

Without darkness there is no excitement, the story is really interesting, I hope you can advance so that you can discover the secrets of the village.

 3 years ago (edited) 

uf yes, I've seen a lot about Village being a complete success, it's also very scary, very good game and I really hope that someday I can try it. I really like the mystery it has inside.

The videos I've seen have been complete madness, and as you mention the great change they made to first-person makes the experience unique to the rest. I also noticed that in the videos, the speed at which the character performs the actions, more specifically when he changes the different weapons.

regarding the difficulty, I think maybe they make it that easy so that people can get used to it at the beginning, but I'm sure if you raise the difficulty the story will be completely different. what a great game! god!

Yeah, could be. But wouldn't the "casual" difficulty be for that? Oh well. I'll be cranking up the difficulty for my next playthrough.

maybe, increase it and you will see that everything will improve (I hope so xD).

Not sure I should consider playing this. I actually sold my copy of Resident Evil 7 Biohazard because it was too violent for me.

Resident Evil is a saga that has evolved for the better. Returning to survival horror using a first-person perspective was one of the best decisions Capcom could have made.

I've seen quite a few gameplays of the game on Youtube, and I must admit that I was quite surprised that even watching a video the immersion of the game managed to capture me, something that hasn't happened to me with other games hahaha.

Regarding the difficulty, well I'm surprised that you say you found it easy, because in most gameplays I've seen streamers die quite a few times XD. The bullets I do not argue, the fact that you can create them in the inventory makes you never lack ammunition, especially the pistol.

The graphics are amazing, you can tell that this game is a true next gen, let's hope Capcom keeps up the good work with the future of the series. I'm still surprised that there are people who said that the game was going to be bad for not having zombies, which seems ridiculous to me XD. Resident Evil was always about biological weapons, it was never purely about zombies.

PS: if you get to replay the game but on hard, just remember that in the beginning appears a horde of lycans, if you want to lose your sanity go ahead, try it xd.