Game Review - XCOM 2

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Hi members of Hive Gaming community. This is officially my first time posting inside this community. For my first game review, I wanted to share with the community about the game : XCOM 2.

I've purchased and have been playing XCOM 2 from Feb 2021. Meaning it's has been more than a year since I owned this game. I'm using my laptop to play the game, on top of Steam platform.

According to the Steam store page, below is the minimum requirement to play XCOM 2 on your PC. Thankfully my laptop able to meet the minimum requirement

Hardware / SoftwareSpecification
OSWindows 7 64-bit or latest
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Duo E4700 2.6GHz or AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core 2.6GHz
RAM4 GB
Storage45 GB available
Graphics1GB ATI Radeon HD 5770, 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 or better
DirectXVersion 11

Since the day I purchased the game, as of now, I have been playing it for 63.7 hours. I have finished the main game, and now just started playing the expansion. I bought the main game and the expansion as a bundle during Steam sale.

A bit about XCOM 2, it is a turn based strategy game. Where the storyline is you play as The Commander that is responsible to command a team of earth resistance soldiers, scientist and engineers on top of the mobile HQ called the Avengers. The enemy would be an alien race called as Advent

Executing the role as The Commander, you need to strategically deploy your soldiers performing task such as sabotaging the aliens laboratory, rescuing prisoners, end the alien occupation on earth, and many more.

There is a lot about the game that I like such as customizable characters looks, edit or create your own soldier personality, and to make thing harder, you can enable the Iron Man Mode, which allow you to only have a single save file. Which means, if your soldier dies, he/she dies permanently in the game.

If I were to compare the game with other turn based game, XCOM 2 will in the top 5 among the best turn based that I've played.

Overall, I would rate XCOM 2 = 8 stars out of 10 stars

For more info, you can refer to the wikipedia for XCOM 2 >>Link<<


(Pictures) Screenshot from my Steam App

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


Rosmadi Razali

Sort:  

Such an awesome game. Definitely among my top 5 strategy games too :D
If you still want more from the game, you can check out the Long War 2 mod. It's the same XCOM, but with many different mechanics.

This is my first time hearing about long war 2 mod. I will take a look on that. Thank you for the tips 😁😁

!hivebits