Elden Ring - Boss Fight - Commander O'Neil (3rd Attempt with Screenshots & Video)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

ELDEN RING

Boss Fight - Commander O'Neill

(3rd Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

elden-ring-button-03-1623460560664.jpeg


Image Source
Commander O'Neil pictured above

Here's some quick info on the game:

(Actual post is BELOW this intro info!)

[GAMEPLAY] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting.

Source

[STORY] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord.

Source

Today's post is about my boss fight with Commander O'Neil in Caelid -- along with a brief defeat by the Invader Milicent between my last two attempts!

(If you don't have time to read through the screenshots below, I've attached a video link of the full fight at the BOTTOM of the page!)


When I find the boss-fight area for Commander O'Neil, I see a cooperator summon-sign so I happily invite Polyanna to join.


Lately I've been using the Skeletal Militia due to their ability to come back from the dead if their remains aren't double-tapped after being defeated -- basically making them partially immortal.


I start the battle off with the Frenzied Burst incantation or what I like to call Frenzy Vision!


GIF Source
It's quite a cool way to start a battle by blasting enemies with laser vision.


I follow up my Frenzy Vision with my Exploding Sun incantation which is officially called, "Flame of the Fell God."


To finish that combo, I add Flames of Frenzy which is another fire spell to stack the burn damage along with a Rot Breath spell I casted.


I try to cast another Dragon Rot Breath but get interrupted by the archers supporting Commander O'Neil, while at first annoying I enjoyed dealing with the trouble of steady arrow fire from the enemy -- made the fight more dynamic.


After successfully casting Rot Breath, Commander O'Neil burst out from the pink-red smoke and stabbed me as payback for afflicting him!


I try to repay him back with an Exploding Sun spell but he interrupts that with a quick swipe from his halberd.


Anyone who's been following my posts knows I have a terrible habit of casting heal just before getting struck.


Thankfully my next healing spell is further away but that's also when I get the message that Polyanna has died.


I try to charge up a Lightning Spear incantation to finish the fight but get pelted by a volley of arrows.


While staggered, one of O'Neil's ghost summons tries to finish me with a giant axe but I'm already teleporting out of there with my Ash of War, called Bloodhound Step.


So he hits nothing but air!


I think I'm safe for a moment but haven't been paying attention to the rot-bar filling up on my screen and get poisoned just enough for the next arrow to the head to kill me ... got to pay attention next time.


Respawning at a nearby Grace Site, I reflect on the errors of my ways and try to come up with a better strategy despite my last one proving mostly effective.


In case you were wondering where I was -- I'm near the heart oft poison rot-swamp of Aeonia in Caelid.


Despite the advantage of the Skeletal Militia, I switch to Raya Lucaria Soldiers due to their being three instead of two and due to their more varied attack pattern. It's quite the trade-up, switching away from the immortality spearmen.


Here I go ... riding through the swamp again.


Who the heck is this guy?!
And since when did enemies cast holy spells??


Another Rot-Knight pops out in the distance to make it 2 versus 1.


I'm running away from the holy-magic they're casting with their spears (scythes?) when Torrent just disappears ... bad news.


I try to hide from the spells behind this fungus mountain but a THIRD rot-knight springs out of the swamp!


GIF Source


And just when I think things can't get worse ... I get invaded by the girl I was trying to save ... why is she attacking me? I'm fighting Commander O'Neil because of her haha


I'm trying to locate when I see her crazy-long sword swipes nearby below me.


I back away when she jumps up to my spot and see a nearby Rot-Knight casting some new kind of spell.


WTF lol haha


It's officially 4 versus 1 and they're all hunting me down. This must be what foxes feel like when the hounds are after them.


GIF Source


Tell a girl you'll fight a commander to cure her rot and what does she do? Hunt you down with the enemy's help lol. Good old Elden Ring!


Rot-Knight #5 has entered the arena!


While hopping around for dear life, I get stuck between two roots while Milicent is charging up for another crazy sword-swipe attack.


Luckily I jump out of the way before she can finish charging and escape another crazy holy-lance spell from the Rot-Knight behind her.


But unfortunately the Scarlet Rot effect kills me in the end -- better the swamp than them I guess.


Despite me dying, the gamer inside me yells ...


GIF Source


I summon Raya Lucaria Soldiers along with Polyanna.


Best way to start a battle!


GIF Source


GIF Source


Turning up the heat!


Those pesky bowmen keep interrupting my Dragon Rot Breath.


But after a few failed attempts I manage to fire it off.


Commander O'Neil does a whirlwind attack I was never close enough to get hit by before -- sending me flying through the air.


Rise and shine, Commander O'Neil.


GIF Source


Double Sun-Attack!


I try to add a Frenzied Flame spell into the mix but I get a well-placed arrow to the head, interrupting it.


Here's another clearer shot of the critical skull-shot.


Despite several body shots from the archers, I finally cast a good Flame Frenzy incantation and push Commander O'Neil close to death.


Rolling in for the final strike, Commander O'Neil interrupts up for a moment.


But when his back is turned, I place a nice sword-thrust to the back of his head.


After securing my victory, I dodge-roll away for a chance to breathe but see an enemy summon ambush me from behind.


Seconds after the boss is defeated, I myself am surprisingly slain.


I couldn't help but laugh seeing the "GREAT ENEMY FELLED" message while I died ... it felt like it was for me!


GIF Source


It appears that this time, instead of Polyanna, I am the who has died.


... But thankfully I somehow still receive the new loot and runes!

~

Here is the video for the full-fight below:

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Feel free to leave comments below!

See y'all on my next Elden Ring post!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @shortshots ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Amazing fight dude, best fight I’ve seen so far from you. The moment in 1:27 almost made me believe that it was up for you.

The last fight was a marvellous. The suns absorbing and then discharging it’s wrath was a power move. Loved the fight. Waiting for the next one!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thanks! Yeah Commander O'Neill was one of the more fun boss-fights I've done recently or ever in the game, loved that it wasn't just him alone but his ghost summons versus mine. Some fights can feel repetitive, like the Magma Wyrm ones but this felt like a truly dynamic battle. Flame of the Fell God is one of my favorite spells haha it's a bit on the slow side but once I get more buffs it'll be a lot more deadly. Thanks for the support, bro, and for the reblog! Very much appreciated!

Congratulations @shortshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you @bdvoter.cur! Your generous support is greatly appreciated :)

I remember having issues with this guy on my INT spellcaster cause the spear throwing guys kept interrupting me. I trashed him on my first attempt on my STR Greatsword boie.

 2 years ago  

Yeah thankfully I had the cooperator Pollyana and the extra ghost summon to help me out. Between the spear-throwing guys and that one dude with the giant axe this boss fight was both difficult but a lot of fun to maneuver. I can't wait to level up a bit and experiment with some sorcery spells but my INT stat is super low since I've focused on Faith instead. Melee strength builds look amazing, especially the greatsword ones that looks like Guts from Berserk!