Elden Ring - Boss Fight - Frenzied Duelist in Gaol Cave (2nd Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Elden Ring - Boss Fight - Rennala, Queen of the Full Moon (5th Attempt with Screenshots & Pictures)

elden-ring-button-03-1623460560664.jpeg

Here's some quick info on the game:

(Actual post is BELOW this intro info!)

[GAMEPLAY] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting.

Source

[STORY] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord.

Source

Today's post is about my boss fight against Frenzied Duelist in Gaol Cave!

(If you don't have time to read through the screenshots below, I've attached a video link of the full fight at the BOTTOM of the page!)

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.13.24 AM.png
This starts the way it usually starts -- I've died horrifically against a boss once or several times but I've returned wiser ... even more desperate to pick up my fallen runes and continue this endless limbo of violence and resurrection. Here I am falling back down into the boss-fight arena after respawning.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.13.40 AM.png
I immediately lock onto the boss's location and clock the whereabouts of my fallen runes to the right which I'll have to grab without dying but Frenzied Duelist isn't so tough of a boss -- my mistake last time was to try engage him with only swordplay. I have quite a few magic incantations to use, plus ghost summons are available for this battle.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.13.55 AM.png
I cast a giant fireball incantation -- Flame of the Fell God -- which is my strongest fire spell which slowly floats toward the enemy and explodes for major damage, plus some residual burn damage from flames left on the ground.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.14.07 AM.png
Here you go, Frenzied Duelist, my gift to you -- a tiny floating sun bomb.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.14.29 AM.png
... And Mister Gladiator RUNS right past it, evading my spell with ease. How wonderful.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.15.01 AM.png
I Bloodhound Step around him trying to redirect him toward the blast but I'm not too late and it explodes just out of reach! Damn!

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.15.34 AM.png
I cast a Lightning Spear and throw it at him, staggering him slightly for over 300 damage. He runs right through the ground fire without suffering much burn damage. Not the greatest start.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.16.01 AM.png
For a big guy, he sure moves fast despite that not-so tiny axe of his.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.16.20 AM.png
I grab my fallen runes and hop around, gauging the reach of his axe.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.16.32 AM.png
Through a cloud of dust and rocks kicked up by his attack, I fling another Lightning Spear taking away another chunk of his life.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.16.58 AM.png
Another lightning spear!


Call me -- the LIGHTNING KING ... oh wait, my character's a girl -- LIGHTNING QUEEN.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.17.14 AM.png
Dodge-rolling isn't as quick as Bloodhound Stepping (which is basically teleporting) but I feel like I can control the direction more.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.17.29 AM.png


GIF Source

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.17.54 AM.png
I take a magic potion because all this lightning ain't free.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.18.20 AM.png
This big boy's fast. And check out that AXE ... did it get BIGGER?lol

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.18.53 AM.png
This was a nice little strategy -- teleporting out of his swings so it hits that tiny podium, stunning him, which gives me time to charge up lightning-spear spells.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.19.12 AM.png
For some reason, that didn't seem to stun him at all -- guess a little stone pillar's stronger than my lightning magic.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.19.26 AM.png
Right in the gut!

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.19.40 AM.png
Sometimes I dodge even if he's not close because it creates space for my next spell ... haven't used sword once in this fight but I've basically almost beat him without receiving any damage.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.19.53 AM.png
None of my spells seem to stun him anymore but at least he's receiving damage -- perhaps I'm not charging them long enough? Odd.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.20.15 AM.png
This was a crazy dodge haha not sure how I successfully pulled it off ... Frenzied Duelist got way too close. I wonder why he's called "FRENZIED" Duelist, I haven't seen him use any Frenzied Flame spells.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.20.29 AM.png
I'm basically throwing spark sticks at his chest but he keeps coming -- thankfully he's still receiving damage.

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.21.05 AM.png
Despite the crackle of electricity coursing through his body, he swings his deadly ball and chain at me --- but I've already started vanishing due to my teleporting Bloodhound Step move so now you see me ...

Screen Shot 2022-09-08 at 11.21.18 AM.png
... And now you DON'T!


Adding some extra distance, I break out a new sniping spell -- Frenzied Burst and laser him from afar. It's a magic incantation with some serious range but the charge time's the drawback.


GIF Source
This is basically my Tarnished girl.


(https://giphy.com/search/sword)
And now to finish this with my blade.


One thrust to the ... genetic inheritance.


And another quick thrust to the neck!


A little squirt of Hollywood-style arterial spray ... and we're done.


I love these undead ghost-summons ... if the enemy's not diligent they slowly come back again and again. Definitely need to hit the Round Table and upgrade my ghost summons.


6700 Runes ... not bad.


And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how you exterminate subterranean gladiators!

~

Here's the video link below of the entire fight below:

Hope you all enjoyed this post!

Feel free to leave comments and see y'all on the next post of my Elden Ring adventure!

Sort:  

Every time I see someone posting about this game I feel guilty for not having tried it (I already have it installed), good luck on your adventure.🤠

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you ands thanks for reblogging my post! Very much appreciated! Good luck on your adventure as well, fellow Tarnished!

Congratulations @shortshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners