After Mania, I know there is hope for Sonic. | (as long as the fans have control)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

image.png

If there is something that has defined Sonic since its beginnings is the speed, what at first was seen as a strategy to demonstrate that the Sega consoles of those years were superior to the Nintendon't with all the curves and the frenetism that were in their games had become the hallmark of the company, consoles like the Megadrive had better specifications but it was useless if you did not have a mascot and a series of games like Sonic, his levels designed to pass them as fast as we could put sand in the middle to differentiate from the slow and easy levels of Super Mario. Then what had to happen happened, Sega entered into several crises that ultimately ended with the company on all sides and now recently Sonic Mania comes to recover the essence of the old, the beauty of the graphics of that console seen from the eyes of the fans, perhaps the most ignored by Sega all these years.

imagen.png

Sonic Mania comes to be a tribute from the fans to the fans of all the classic Sonic adventures, from the story mode in which we go through most of the iconic locations of the saga to other experiments that I liked as the competition mode or the BIS mode that already represents a novelty with new characters and new ways to see the levels of the hedgehog. The goal I think you can notice from the start screen and is to replicate as much as possible to the games that today we consider retro, is an introspection of the character and all its golden age, something like a soft reboot and make peace with all those who once had the misfortune to see some of the worst games of the character.

imagen.png

The initial game was released more than five years ago but for me it is my introduction to all these games and my first Sonic game, before I had already tried the character and all his attitude in the super smash bros but I feel that I have never been able to buy a game of the character because of all the criticism that SEGA has had regarding the use of the character and the games they release, all that bad publicity has resulted in me passing by a large number of games until a few days ago I decided to try Mania, which also served me as a fair start to everything that the character represents, yes I have seen that they have added a huge amount of new features to the animations in addition to the modes that I already mentioned but according to what I have read Sonic Mania is the closest thing you have to a compilation of all Sonic's adventures in a format and with features that make it very enjoyable.

image.png

I'm not on board with most of Sega's decisions but I think you have to applaud when they pull their face out of the mud once in a while and give creative control to people who deserve it, I'm hopeful that this is not the exception but the rule for the last few games they want to release, Sonic Frontiers looks like it's going to revamp the character in the 3D environment or maybe it's going to make him relapse again, I'm not a Sonic fan but I understand that we are facing one of the most important mascots of entertainment and after a couple of decades it's likely that they will find the formula to finally make a good game, I can't wait until the release of Frontiers and see if there are still competent people in Sega willing to make these games.

image.png

Thank you for attending another one of my chat rooms, I try to make some more posts in a row even though I'm already feeling burnout with every post I publish, any tips to stay positive and constantly having creative ideas for posts? I would love to read some tips from the more experienced users.


All yours, @slashint - Gamer, Video Game Analyst

imagen.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Don't feel pressured to create content every day: It's okay to do it methodically and focus on building relationships in the community. I personally think it's more important to comment on others' posts and then focus on creating content.

After all, Hive is a social network. If you're not a blogger with years of experience, it's best to take it slow. Perseverance and a job well done are always rewarded.

maybe it's because I'm just starting to write this kind of articles, video game reviews take me a little more time because I have to put together all the notes I have and give a sense in a writing, that including everything related to gameplay, graphics, sound, innovation etc etc, with time I'm sure I'll get better at managing my time, thanks for the comment

 2 years ago  

Don't feel pressured to create content every day: It's okay to do it methodically and focus on building relationships in the community. I personally think it's more important to comment on others' posts and then focus on creating content.

After all, Hive is a social network. If you're not a blogger with years of experience, it's best to take it slow. Perseverance and a job well done are always rewarded.

Another classic game along with Super Mario and Contra. Sonic is one of the games that I love to play when I was young.

This is an improved version and a compilation of all those classics, something like a reboot for those who want to play all the retro sonic games without having to resort to an emulator.

 2 years ago (edited) 

If you liked mania I recommend you to play Sonic: Origins, it's the 4 main Classic Sonic games but with animations, choice of characters, minigames, art books and more. It is a renewed experience for those who want to get to know the character.

Congratulations @slashint! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice! Never even knew this game existed, it looks great.