Plague Inc - Vampires? Let's give it a gooooo

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

image.png


I gave myself a few hours of game time recently and decided to load up some Plague Inc. It's one of my favorite "jump right in" strategy games to play when I don't have much time. At the time of post, I have around 50 hours of quick gameplay and have collected a mere 61 of 229 achievements. It has been a while since I've played and it looks like some things have changed.

image.pngimage.png


Right away I noticed there were some new options on the loading screen. It looks like we now have the option to load Official AND Custom scenarios that are player/community made! Clicking into the custom scenario options, we can right away that there are a ton of new ways to play. The first one I clicked on was appropriately named, "Alien Hive Mind".


While these look pretty neat, including whatever that "Pokemon Go" mode is (oh my), I think we'll stick to the main game while we get back into the swing of things.

The last virus I remember playing was the Simian Flu, which I would love to do a write-up on at some point as I think that was one of the most fun modes they've introduced as core gameplay thus far. Maybe we'll do something for that sometime in the future! Today, we're going to check out the newest member of the viral family, the Shadow Plague. Shadow Plague is essentially a vampiric plague with some new gameplay dynamics where you not only play a vampire who is infecting/converting/killing the world population, but also creating more vampires that you can play in order to fight the human forces that pop up around the world in resistance to your dark order.

Traits are:

  • Sentient
  • Mutagenic Pathogen
  • Triggers a powerful thirst for blood!


image.png

image.png


I have a few perks already unlocked from previous play-through runs with the other pathogens, so fortunately I can go ahead and add a few boosts to what I can only imagine is going to be a brutal attempt at learning this mode. These are the boosts I went with out of the choices I did have available:

Teracyte

  • Increases chance of plague spreading by land

Extremophile

  • Grants a minor boost to all environmental conditions

I'm not very confident in my ability to play this mode, so I'm going to go ahead and keep the mode on Normal for now.

image.pngimage.png


The name of our plague shall be: Hivus Exterminus. I decided to go with New Zealand alllll the way down in the bottom-right of the map. My likely terrible terrible is to spread from this corner as in the past I've had trouble reaching this corner before the fortifications were in place, such as what happened in my Ape playthrough. I'm really not sure if this is going to wise or not, but we're going to find out.

For glory and for darkness!

Or .... something like that.


image.pngimage.png
image.pngimage.png


It looks like the traits for this run are pretty straight forward.

  • Upgrade your ability to infect.
  • Upgrade your ability to cover distances.
  • Upgrade your ability to heal/fight.
  • Upgrade your resistance levels.


The initial transmutations are pretty standard and allow for some basic infection improvements, but they all come with a cost of discoverability. I'm going to focus on trying to stay under the radar while we creep out and infect the world! I'm going to dump all of my point into infection rates and the ability to cover ground. It looks like these infections cause carriers to form bruises all over their bodies while the vampiric plague takes hold.

Let's how this works out!

image.pngimage.png

While it did boost my Infectivity, I took on a bit of Severity too. This seemed to be forced as the first unlock raises it immediately, but is also required to begin the infection process.

No worries, let's get this party started!

Here is a quick 1 minute sped up version of the game and the outcome! Go easy on me!



daflex.png


Follow my posts on hive.vote



Follow me on Twitter

✅🍕 Vote for Hive.Pizza as HIVE WITNESS 🍕✅

🎮🎲Buy Steam Video Games on HIVE🎲🎮

Sort:  

They've got vampires now? I remember playing this game way back when. We also picked it up when Covid hit to play at out school for science lessons. It's cool to see them branch out to "less common" diseases as vampirism though.

Yes!

This dev team has done sooooo much in the last few years. I'm really happy that they've continued to build and offer additional content, and now even community content. The Simian Flu was a really fun play-through and I've been itching to try out that latest game Rebel Inc: Escalation. It's a bit more down the line of the end-game of the Ape and Vampire modes from what it looks like!

is this a blockchain game..

Unfortunately not! I would probably lose my life playing this game if it was on-chain haha!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

Plague inc was one of the first games I downloaded on my cell phone that I loved, I spent hours and hours playing it, as it is satisfying to see how the whole map is turning red thanks to the virus or bacteria that you created, I always liked to upload all the improvements of contagions so that everyone had the virus and then improve everything that killed, it was funny to think that I did not know that I had killed them, the virus that I liked the most was the parasite that could control minds, I also played the vampire but I did not understand much : (, good post bro <3