Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

1.png

Intimidation was the first thought in my head as I saw the Hive Gaming Community contest. That came from the idea that the other Hivers would put in epic games that only epic gamers would know. But as I read through the entries by fellow challengers, I laughed and felt nostalgic when @glecerioberto mentioned coin arcade games. I could relate! I listed all the video games that I played in my life and man, it was a considerable list. Allow me to post my entry to this contest initiated by Hive Gaming Community.

Video games became a way for my siblings and I to bond even up to now. We get together on a Sunday and order food as we take turns in becoming Impostor in the game 'Among Us.' I will be grouping the games we played in categories: classics, girly and group games. I have a bonus category too, keep an eye out for that! If anyone recognizes/plays a game mentioned here, feel free to drop a comment down below. Drop your entry to this challenge too, I will be giving you some love!

2.png


The first video game I played was the Brick Game. I'm not sure if it counts as a video game but if we were to stroll down memory lane here, it would definitely make the cut. I remembered my mom shouting at us for not doing our chores as we were busy playing Tetris Brick Games. I remember I was around seven years old when my godfather gifted me my very first Brick Game. It was orange and it had 4 diskettes that I could switch up for game variations. Brick games were the rage back then.

3.png

Another classic was the Super Mario Bros. It was already great pride and glory when you reach stage 4, where Princess Peach supposedly was. However, Bowser hid her in another castle and after the stage of the flying turtles, I never saw the princess again. I never got to finish the flying turtle stage!

Who would ever forget about Circus Charlie? Even as we tried to use emulators on our phones, Circus Charlie was the first up on our list of games to play when we wanted to feel nostalgia. Something about the soundtrack just stays with you. Not to mention the splat you hear when Charlie fails from the trick!


4.png

As most of us are girls, we loved playing girly games. We played the iconic Magic Jewelry that was like Tetris on full sparkle! The Little Mermaid was also one of our favorites in the Gameboy Advance 100+ free games.

What we really spent precious time into, until our thumbs got sore from playing, were Lizzie Mcguire and Bratz.

Lizzie McGuire follows the storyline of the Disney Channel show of the same title. We have Lizzie who undergoes the troubles of high school and teenage life. Come to think of it, we were also growing with the games we played. As the eldest, I had the privilege to go do the game first and pass the Gameboy advance on to the second eldest if I lost my turn. Ahhh, to be the eldest... such privilege.

We also loved playing Bratz as it was more of a mission-type game that involved detective skills. If there's something that my siblings and I love it's good old fashioned detective work. We love solving mysteries. We also love the guess work that comes with piecing all the clues to figure out who the culprit is. Bratz also let us express our love for fashion and anything fabulous. We would dress our characters up as we like. Ahhhh, this challenge is really bringing out so much of my childhood!


6.png

When the Nintendo DS came out, my cousin (who owned almost all the games that we've ever played) bought Super Mario DS and Nintendo Pets. Playing Super Mario DS brought back all the desire I had when I was 7 to finish the Super Mario Bros. Super Mario DS had better graphics, more mystery and mini games to it that we spent an entire summer finishing it. Our grandmother would scold us because we weren't attending to anything besides the game anymore. Every world in the game was uniquely crafted and every challenge was something you'd like to look froward to. Mario, Luigi, Wario and Yoshi were all there. Their unique worlds and mini games make me look forward to waking up everyday. Gosh, I miss those times.

Nintendo pets were my siblings' favorite. In contrast to the adventure offered by Super Mario, this offered a more laid back and realistic vibe as we took care of our virtual pets. It was like Tamagotchi but with way better graphics and realistic characters. We would wake up everyday to feed and bathe our pets. We'd teach them tricks too! If you neglect your pet, it goes weak and it will grow fleas. My siblings liked caring for their virtual pets.


5.png

Next came the era of group games. This is where the fun went full blast for us. Unlike the gameboy SP and Nintendo DS that limited us to one player per turn, group games let us play in partners or groups. My favorite has to be the Dance Dance Revolution.

I was chubby in my teenage years. I made it a point to sweat out what I could and the Dance Dance Revolution was of great help. Our favorite songs to dance to were Dream a Dream by Captain Jack and Break Down by Be For U. So much nostalgia from those two songs!

My siblings and cousin also got hooked on Mario Kart Wii. I took a picture of them when they were so focused on it. Their weapon of choice? Flying turtle shell. Our cousin would always take the top spot! My siblings made it a mission to defeat her.

Screen Shot 20200901 at 5.25.47 PM.png

Now that we're all grown up, connecting with them has become harder. Amazingly though, the game Among Us came out and because of its simple mechanics, I got hooked! We play it together every Sunday. We live in different houses now but when my sisters come visit, it's always Among Us time! They said they can't trust me anymore 😂 I'm a good impostor. Hahaha!

Among Us.jpg

Among Us 1.jpg

I really enjoyed making this post as it took me back to the good old times. Thank you Hive Gaming Community for this initiative.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegaillery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Circus Charlie! The nostalgia! Hahaha. I'm so happy I got you engaged to do the contest Abe. Let's do more of these engaging and insipring posts!

Admit it, you remembered the distinct game soundtrack too hahaha! It was hard to forget

Among Us is very popular these days. I wonder how it's played. Haha.

Pretty simple Jay! Let's play some time, I'll teach you.

I am glad you participated! This was an excellently written post too. I remember my sister always picking out all the games that had any aspect of girl-power to it. Seeing the Little Mermaid in there made think of her. I am glad that the Dance Dance Revolution game got you proactive in your health. Probably the most fun way to get in shape! Thank you for taking the initiative and sharing your gaming memories. It makes me happy to know this helped reinforce that you did in fact have a good childhood!

Never thought I'd see you here @castleberry. Thank you for your kind words! It was thanks to you that I joined this challenge. I got inspired by @glecerioberto and he got inspiration from you. The turnout of this challenge was something I'd only seen once before. Glad to see it happen again. Congratulations! Your post was the most engaged and rewarded. Well-deserved.

What was the first time you saw something like this? That is super uplifting to hear that by the power of community that good content has inspired others to engage and create their own good content in participation. Thanks for your kind words! I knew my post was going to be epic.... but i didn't think so many would actually take the time to read and respond! I am most grateful! I have never been on trending before... and that's not my goal but hopefully this won't be the last time either!

It was when my friends and I launched Confidence Project: you can read here. We got a lot of support from the community and people were sending in their entries :)

The Gaming Memories Challenge is far bigger in reach and prize pool! I know I'd see more of you in the challenges to come. For now, let's celebrate your success!

I can also remember as a kid with a brick game with variations of Tetris games. Very nostalgic. 😌