Sort:  

I wish I had $2k to drop on a new desktop computer, but that ain't happening here yet.

I have a sneaky suspicion that if you have $2,000 to drop on a new computer, it would be better spent on something other than what they are putting into this bucket.

I figure when the specs are announced the novelty is going to be completely based around that chicken warmer. I just don't see this being a big seller.

I don't know, that Intel chip isn't cheap, and the GPU is probably pretty high-end. You always pay a premium for a prebuilt system, but depending on how KFC and CoolerMaster have their money agreement set up, KFC might eat a chunk of that through their advertising budget.

If so, that would be interesting to say the least. I figure price is going to be the biggest concern here. Come in super high and forget it. Hardly anyone outside the YouTube community will own one.

I figure these will end up being contest prizes of some sort for the most part. That is, to me, the best way to make these desirable. Unless they come in at an amazing price, using tricks like you mentioned, then it could be quite a fantastic success story of sorts for them and CoolerMaster.

Me personally, I like seeing things like this. They are more high profile than the Marlboro Atari Lynx which can get more eyes on, and interest in, computers and gaming.

I think the best way to get more widespread interest in computers is along the lines of the Raspberry Pi and other system-on-a-chip microcomputers.