Epic Games Store launches its first ever Web3 game, Blankos Block Party

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Hey Gamers!

Untitled design (24).jpg

As of Friday, September 16th, Blankos Block Party is now available on the Epic Games Store.

Blankos Block Party is an open-world multiplayer blockchain-based video game. Think of Roblox, but with NFTs.

  • Players can create, share and play their own levels, as well as explore other players' created games.
  • The custom avatars and accessories within the game are all NFTs.
  • Players can resell their NFTs through the marketplace, or combine them to create new NFTs.
  • Blankos Block Party was developed and published by Mythical Games.
  • The game runs on the Mythical Platform, which is reportedly built on a private EOS.io blockchain using Proof of Authority
  • This official blog is extremely helpful for newcomers to Blankos Block Party: https://news.mythicalgames.com/all-about-your-blanko

Screenshot 2022-09-16 211002.jpg

Epic Games Store will welcome games that make use of blockchain tech provided they follow the relevant laws, disclose their terms, and are age-rated by an appropriate group. Though Epic's not using crypto in our games, we welcome innovation in the areas of technology and finance. - Tim Sweeney, Epic Games Founder and CEO

Screenshot 2022-09-16 231714.jpg

What do you guys think of my picture?

After hearing this news, I am excited to jump back into Blankos Block Party and see what has changed.

I remember downloading this game maybe a year or two ago, but I have only played it a handful of times.

It was fun, but it didn't hold my attention for long, as I am an avid gamer and I basically am obsessed with a new game every week; it takes a really special game for me to stick with it.

See ya!

Resources:

  1. https://decrypt.co/109742/fortnite-epic-games-store-nft-game-blankos-block-party

Originally Posted on Publish0x

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Great to see a company as big as Epic taking a small step for web3 adoption :)

I completely agree! Epic Games will expose so many gamers to Web3 :)

Your photo looks cool. I didn't expect Epic Games to do something like this. Are there any games like this on Steam? Maybe they'll show one soon. Because these things usually turn into a competition between platforms.

That's a good question. To be honest, I do not believe I have heard or seen a web3 game on Steam yet...I think they are resistant to NFTs and crypto for the moment. I expect they will follow suit if this project works well for Epic!