April Garden Journal: Weeding Out my Eggplant Crops

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

Greetings!

Welcome to the second weeding of my vegetable garden for the year 2022. I first started weeding out my garden a couple of days ago which I am also able to blog with a title Weeding Out Season: Weeding Out my Tomato Crops.

On the first weeding that I did (which I did four days ago) I was not sure of what my weeding cycle schedule would be for this year because I only officially started gardening last July of 2021.

But in this second weeding that I did, I now have the idea of how my weeding cycle schedule would be, it would start one week before I harvest our rice crops or right after I harvest our rice crops. Rice cropping season always ends after harvest.

I also figured out that during the rice cropping season I am not going to be able to weed out my vegetable garden (which is what actually happened the past three months).

In that span of three months, almost every day (if not every day), I would visit our rice crops in the morning and then I would weed out the pathways, pick some golden snails, pull some weeds inside the rice field, or replant some rice seedlings (which consumes about 2 to 3 hours of my time and is quite very tiring too). After every visit to our rice farm, I will not have adequate strength to work on my vegetable garden.

And now that our rice cropping season has just ended I am now into the second weeding of my vegetable garden.

On this second weeding that I did, I weeded out my eggplant crops.

I started with the eggplant that is located near my lemongrass.

Weeding out eggplant is not as hard as tomatoes. I am actually just playing while I am removing the weeds. I am also just playing when I weeded out my tomato crops but weeding out tomatoes is harder compared to eggplants.

The second eggplant that I weeded out is just one foot away from the first eggplant that I weeded out.

The next eggplant (photo below) that I weeded is the nearest to my lemongrass.

And then I next weeded out the eggplant that is located at the center-north of my vegetable garden near my young banana tree.

The next eggplant that I weeded out is located at the center of my vegetable near the canal that I dug.

Also, the next eggplant that I weeded out is located near the near-center of my vegetable garden near the canal that I dug.

And here's the last eggplant that I weed out, it is also located near the near-center of my vegetable garden near the canal that I dug at the center.

By the way, I am also inviting @simaroy (I am curious if you have a garden) and also @discoveringarni.


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It's like you're revealing treasures! It's so satisfying when you clear all those competitors out and give them some breathing space.

I hope you had a good harvest with your rice.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Yes, that's right, it is so satisfying seeing them without those weeds.

I hope you had a good harvest with your rice.

Thank you, I actually harvested my rice crops today (which yielded very good).

Maybe use some mulching on the top. Just make sure you put wet cardboard before, preferably two layers and then some mulch (wood chips, grass...)

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the suggestion, I will keep that in mind.

This was so satisfying to see the photos 🤩

 2 years ago  

Indeed (^_^)

Başarılar dilerim..

 2 years ago  

Thank you (^_^)

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @plantpoweronhive

 2 years ago (edited) 

Weeding is such hard work. I wonder if there's an easier way for you, maybe mulching?? Glad your rice harvest went well.

 2 years ago  

Yes, mulching. But I am still doing the weeding manually.

Your eggplants are doing well! The weather here in Thailand has gone crazy - 12 hours intense rain last night and my "hot dry" season garden is a chilly swamp tonight and it's only 20C. My weekend garden plans have had to change... 😞

 2 years ago  

Same here, the weather has gone crazy, and while I am typing this reply it is chilly outside tonight with a gentle breeze (it should not be chilly tonight because it is already summer).

It had been weird weather lately, it drizzles, it rains, and then suddenly sunny in an instant. I noticed weeds popping out faster than usual. Is it the same over there? Nice to see the eggplants growing steadily.

@discoveringarni Ah!!! We have those type of weather here in Thailand tooo! How come hahaha 😅
Yesterday it was extremely hot and sweaty but today is chill and slightly windy, which I'll not surprise if it'll be raining tomorrow. 😀

@afterglow I really enjoy gardening plant buy sometimes I really annoyed with various type off weed too. 😅

Hello @shinecrystalline, ooh, the weather is similar there too. We're enjoying the breeze, it helps a lot bear the summer heat. Have a lovely weekend

You too! ❤️ Have a happy day ahead! 😀

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hahaha! Same here, just wondering why the weather is now too unpretictable as compared to the 80s and 90s.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I am annoyed with weeds too! They rob the plants with water and nutrients. Happy weekend.

The most annoying is the weed is look healthy and grow beautifully than our plants hehe😄 happy weekend too! 💚

 2 years ago  

That's right, weeds are always healthier than our plants, lol.

Oops, I will create a post soon about the garden and what's going on, thank you for the tag.

 2 years ago (edited) 

You're welcome. And, yes, it is the same, seems like not summer. As of now (11:05 PM) it is very windy outside which is not normal during summer. By the way, I am at the countryside (Nueva Ecija). Looking forward to your enrty (^_^)

Windy's nice because when it's sunny, it gets really burning hot. Glad the plants get a bit of shade from the neighbor's tree, the trellis, and the orientation. Happy weekend!

 2 years ago  

Yes, windy's nice, I am now actually using my blanket because the wind is quite strong and chilly. Happy weekend too!

Still wondering if I should try eggplants this year or keep the seeds for next one. Too much work organizing the space since I have to first make a little trip...long distance farming sucks in some regards.

Weeding season just starting. It will be some hard six months...Trying to start earlier and make it easier but that's probably until the first heavy-rain weeks come.

Cheers!

 2 years ago  

long distance farming sucks in some regards.

Indeed and same here it will be months of weeding out.

I envy you!;)) it's still not very warm here but I wanna to plant too already:))

 2 years ago  

Be patient, you will have your time (^_^)

 2 years ago  

I am not going to lie: weeding is probably my least favorite garden activity!

 2 years ago  

Same here, but I have no choice but to remove the weeds.

Hi @afterglow, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @bdcommunity @rem-steem