Growing Stages of my First Chayote Crop

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Greetings!

A few days ago I shared with the community the growing stages of my first Jicama crops which were germinated in different setups, on a pot with soil and on a pot with only water (hydroponic style).

Today, I am again excited to share with the community the growing stages of my other crop, which is the Chayote.

I actually did not plan to plant this Chayote, I just saw it germinating on our vegetable basket so I decided to try my luck in planting it and placing it in a cool section of our house (outside section to be exact).

The photo of the Chayote below is when I saw that it is already germinating in our vegetable basket. Instead of cooking it or throwing it away, I decided to try my luck at planting it. Also, the photo below is from the blog that I published a couple of days ago, I re-used it to show the growing stages of my Chayote.

Below is the photo of my Chayote when I planted it on a pot.

March 20, 2022

Here's how it looks after a planted it on a pot with specialized soil that I made.

March 20, 2022

Three days after planting here's now how it looks, the stem grows more than double after it was planted.

March 23, 2022
20220323_110952.jpg

One week after planting here's now how it looks (below). Its first stem has grown more than one foot. After I saw that it now needs a support or stake I decided to put it in its permanent location.

March 27, 2022

20220327_124956.jpg

But before I relocate my Chayote to its permanent I have to create a stand for it so that it will not be disturbed by anyone especially our cat that loves to lie down and sleep on our plants.

Below is the stand that I made out of bamboo.

20220327_155213.jpg

Nine days after planting here's now how it looks. I also finally put it into its final location. Its location will have about 2-3 hours of sunlight every day.

I also tied a straw rope for it to climb (as can be seen in the photo below).

March 29, 2022

20220329_144337.jpg

Eleven days after planting here's now how it looks. Chayote is indeed a prolific climber.

March 31, 2022

20220331_154649.jpg

Fourteen days after planting here it is now.

April 4, 2022

20220404_090346.jpg


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2020 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 7750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
 2 years ago  

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @afterglow, that's a pleasure 😊🌹 Have a nice weekend!


Thank you for sharing this great content, You have been manually Upvoted by @skylinebuds

Did you know you can now delegate WEED, SPT, ONEUP or THGaming token to @skuration and receive Curation Rewards and Plus Tribe Tokens for helping build this curation project?


If you are inclined, Come Hang In Discord, This is still very much a work in progress discord with many changes comes

Formally Ran On skylinebuds-weed Account, Follow @skuration For new Curation and giveaway Posts

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @skuration @skylinebuds

It looks really good, the bamboo stand and the Chayote as well. Lucky Chayote. I haven't seen this type of plant before.

 2 years ago  

Thank you (^_^)

Oh wow, well done on the chayote and the stand. Mine died, I made the mistake of perhaps burying it in the soil way too early? The chayote became rotten, should it be exposed like what you did?

 2 years ago  

Yes, it should be exposed.

Wow 🥰
Where do such crops grow?

 2 years ago  

In a cool place, it doesn't survive hot weather. You can try to put them under a shade just like what I did.

Oh
Alright
Thank you very much for the enlightenment @afterglow

 2 years ago  

You got a lot of skills @afterglow

 2 years ago  

Thank you @tuocchu

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!
 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @diyhub @priyanarc