An Update On The Community Garden Plots

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

Apparently it's been 3 weeks since my last post about my community garden plots. This seems like a good time to post an update.

I went up to the garden to do a bit of watering and weeding today, and I took a few pictures of the plots while I was there. I'll start with the new plot, planted with potatoes.

The plants were looking a bit dry today when I took the picture, but they seem to be doing really well other than that. These are the Kennebec Red potatoes and the Yukon Gold potatoes. These are the first things I planted at the community garden this year.

DSCN5242 (2).JPG

Next is the other plot with potatoes. This is one of the plots that I've had for several years at the community garden. I planted this plot with Russet white and Adirondack Blue potatoes. I planted this plot about a week after I planted the first plot.

DSCN5237.JPG

Some of the blue potatoes didn't come up this year, which left a few gaps in the rows.

DSCN5238.JPG

My third plot is being used by my friend again this year. She planted corn, beans of some kind, and various types of squash. They all seem to be doing pretty well right now.

DSCN5244.JPG

DSCN5241 (2).JPG

Here's a look at my straw bale garden experiment. I had some extra seed potatoes, so that's what I planted in the straw bales. They seem to be doing about as well as the potatoes in the ground. Also, the borage plant seems to like where it is, it's getting bigger, and flowering.

DSCN5239 (2).JPG

I had to move the fence surrounding my pumpkin plants today, the plants were trying to grow through it. The vines seem to be growing fairly quickly now.

DSCN5243.JPG

If you would like to compare the pictures from today with the pictures from 3 weeks ago, here's the link to that post.
https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@amberyooper/garden-journal-end-of-june-community-garden-plot-report

That's all I have for this post, thanks for checking it out!

Check out the #hivegarden community if you're interested in more garden related posts.
hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Looking really good!

I'm very attached to the straw bale experiment, glad they're doing well.

These straw bales are doing well enough that I'm thinking about getting more straw bales for next year's garden. I'd like to try more different crops in them to see what happens.

Do you think that concept would work in the city in a small terrace garden (which is all I have)

I'm not too sure that straw bales would be very good on a terrace. I would recommend large pots or containers filled with good garden soil for a terrace.

Beautiful job with everthing! You got some real fertile soil there!

You got yourself a forest of corn right there. lol How hard is corn to grow? It has always intrigued me how it grows. I've seen all sorts of crops be grown but honestly I've never seen videos on Corn or have any clue if there are major differences between that and other plants.

I don't think corn is any harder to grow than any other common crop. It needs a bit more nitrogen than some other crops, and regular watering helps it grow, but that's about it. There are some recommended guidelines for seed spacing and row spacing, but that's usually on the seed package.