Garden Journal, The Home Garden, June-22-2021

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Hello, Hivers! Welcome to my garden!

This is just a quick picture update on the progress of my garden. We were having a hot dry spell, but it rained a lot over the previous couple of days and the garden perked right up.

This is my housemate's corn garden. She likes to grow hard corn, and she's trying a different variety this year. This is a variety of white corn that is descendant from Native American corn strains. In the big container on the far side of the corn plot is a tomato plant that she's growing for, as she calls it, lunch tomatoes.

DSCN5047.JPG

This is an overview of the main garden.

DSCN5049.JPG

These are my yellow squash plants in the fence in the middle of the picture, with borage plants on the left side, as well as a volunteer squash plant of unknown type. I use the fence to keep my cat from digging near the plants.

DSCN5050.JPG

This is a row of volunteer potato plants that I added a few seed potatoes to, to make a full row.
DSCN5051.JPG

My 3 rows of tomato plants in the garden.

DSCN5052.JPG

I have a few zucchini plants together in the end of the low raised bed.

DSCN5053.JPG

I also have 4 tomato plants occupying the rest of the low raised bed. I planted some of my marigold plants around the tomato plants, but mostly on the sunward side of the bed, as well as both ends.

DSCN5054.JPG

This is the green bean plants in the high raised bed. They're not doing so well, they had a bug infestation that I'm not sure if I got rid of yet. They seem to be doing better now, but I'll probably have to spray them again. I've had problems with the same tiny bugs for the past 3 years, so they must over-winter in the soil.

DSCN5055.JPG

These are my carrots in the end of the high raised bed. I really need to thin them out a bit more. You may notice a couple of dill plants in with the carrots. Dill is self seeding, so if you let them go to seed, you might have them growing anywhere in your garden the following year.

DSCN5056.JPG

The green bean plants in the container garden seem to be doing quite well right now. You can also see the strawberries getting ripe in what's left of my strawberry bed. Once the strawberries have all ripened, I'm thinking about working up the entire bed so that I can plant some new plants for next year. I want to get rid of all the grass in the bed before I replant.

DSCN5057.JPG

I have 2 cherry tomato plants in pots at the end of the container garden row. They're not growing very fast, but they're growing.

DSCN5060.JPG

The raised bed behind the container garden is mostly marigolds from the seeds of last year's plants. I've dug up a bunch of these plants to put between the tomato plants in the garden, and there's still a lot of marigolds here. I planted my extra tomato plants in this raised bed because I didn't want to just throw them out.

DSCN5061.JPG

Here's a look into my greenhouse from the west side door at the paste type tomato plants.

DSCN5062.JPG

You can see the difference between the Amish Paste plants and the Roma plants, the Roma plants are shorter and have thicker foliage.

DSCN5063.JPG

These are my succulents in the greenhouse. The one in the middle is a yucca that we grew from seeds we got in New Mexico on a trip through there.

DSCN5064.JPG

My wild grape vine is really full of baby grapes this year, it's going to be quite the harvest.

DSCN5065.JPG

The vine looks thin down on the snow fence because the deer eat everything that grows outside the fence, up to about 5 feet high. Above that height, the plant is thick with new growth.

DSCN5066.JPG

One more picture. We planted a wildflower garden in the side yard last year, and the poppies seem to have seeded themselves prolifically. They're blooming really nicely right now.

DSCN5071.JPG

That's all I have for this garden update. Thanks for stopping by my page to check it out!

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Is that a little train track by the beans? - @minismallholding

Looking really good.

So jealous of your poppies. We had some spontaneous ones last year, and I harvested the seeds so I could put them elsewhere this year, but forgot to sow them this year 😣

Love seeing how your garden has come along! Those poppies!

You got a lot going on there and everything looks amazing! What was the orange 5 gallon lids being used for i think underneath your beans... Was it to prevent flies?

Those things are under some of the tomato plants. They're called "tomato craters". They help prevent weeds from growing under the tomato plant, they're supposed to detur cutworms, and the red color reflects up into the tomato plant, which, according to research, is supposed to help the plant.