Garden Pictures, Picking Beans

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

Over the past week or so, the green bean plants in the container garden have started producing beans that are big enough to pick. The bean plants in the raised bed are about a week behind the plants in the container garden, so I've only gotten 1 picking from them so far. I've picked beans from the container garden plants 4 times now, although the first picking was just 10-15 beans.

These are the container garden plants.

DSCN5259.JPG

This was the second picking of the beans from the container garden. I don't have a picture of the first picking.

DSCN5249.JPG

This was the third picking. I got a few more than from the second picking.

DSCN5253.JPG

I got quit a few beans from the fourth picking.

DSCN5258.JPG

Picking all these beans prompted me to clean up my canning area in the greenhouse. I'll be canning beans soon, so I had to clean up the mess to get ready for that. I tend to just put stuff wherever it's convenient at the moment, so the table had accumulated a fair amount of stuff that needed to be moved.

DSCN5255.JPG

After cleaning up the space. Now I can get to the canner and I have a place to work.

DSCN5256.JPG

One more picture for you, I picked the first yellow squash from my garden yesterday to use in my crockpot stew. It was quite tasty!
It's the big one on the left side. There's lots of little ones in there also.
DSCN5257.JPG

That's all I have for this post, thanks for checking it out!

hive garden banner.png

amber_yooper.png

Sort:  

Oh yum!! That's the best right there...straight from the garden. Your beans are doing great in those containers.

 3 years ago  

Such robust bush beans! I love growing beans in containers! What variety are you growing?

These beans are the Blue Lake bush variety. I grow these every year because they do well for me and they don't get stringy.

Nice healthy beans, mine are growing a few weeks late.
I just don't have enough hours in the day. Or days in a week.

Lack of time for everything does seem to be a pretty common problem...

I am picking beans for the (real) first time this morning. I'm waiting for my 3rd zucchini to get big enough...

I still don't have any zucchinis big enough to pick, but I do have a couple more yellow squash that I should pick soon.

That reminds me, I should check that one....

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation