September Garden Journal - How are the Plants doing with an Unfaithful Gardener like me ?

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Gardeners !

It's been almost a month since I've been away and I've hardly participated here, at least in relation to my own garden. So the opportunity of this new episode of the #gardenjournal organised by @riverflows is really timely !

My previous update can be found right here.

The first part will be dedicated to our garden and the second to a friend's garden and you will see how well it is maintained !

This summer, as I was away for a month at the most, I was a bad gardener and I ask forgiveness to my plants and a bit to the gardening gods.

The first plant you can see is my purslane which has grown beautifully. I ate it last night in pasta and it was delicious! It's really this "oyas" (clay watering jar) system that got it through the summer without drying out! If you look at the previous article, you can see that it is growing and apparently producing seeds which are expelled when the capsule opens. You can see this more closely in the second picture.

IMG_0743.jpg

IMG_0745.JPG

Here is a view of our garden as I found it... It was a bit of a disaster, but the rains have come back to irrigate the soil and the roots and we'll see what we can do.

At some point, I imagine getting rid of all the pots and maybe making one big permaculture mound like the one below... After that, we'll have to see how to find the materials in town...


IMG_0749.JPG



Sketch_of_Hugelkulture_bed_in_cross_section.jpg
source


Then follow our few - very modest vegetables... A soon-to-be-ripe pumpkin and a Hungarian Blue squash.

IMG_0750.JPG

IMG_0752.JPG

A single tomato, you may remember the ones with black ass disease that I 'saved' with crushed eggshells (root calcium deficiency...)

But the others on the second picture look promising !

IMG_0755.JPG

IMG_0760.JPG

A rather strange and pale cucumber... I don't know where it got this almost diaphanous and rather unappetizing color !

IMG_0758.JPG

The last of the beans I save to harvest its seeds :)

IMG_0767.JPG

In the continuation of the beautiful finds of the summer, I was able to collect seeds of this red amaranth (of the same family as chénopodes and quinoa) which I would hasten to sow at the good period and not late like this year ^^

IMG_0775.JPG

IMG_0773.JPG

I also discovered these small wild apples not far from our plot but I haven't tasted them yet... To be continued so !


IMG_0771.JPG

Let's finish with this rather filling corn on the cob and this fancy looking squash that I can't wait to try in a velouté !

IMG_0777.JPG

IMG_0778.JPG

Let's move on to my friend's garden, which is located more in the centre of Paris, in a courtyard of a building to which he alone has access... which allows him to maintain it without any 'collective' problems or problems linked to the group effect !

You'll see, it's much more orderly than in mine ^^

We start with these tomato vines well arranged, against an ideally exposed wall. And the harvest will be accordingly :)

IMG_1104.JPG

IMG_1116.JPG

Here you will recognize a well-kept compost :)

At the back of the yard, raspberries are still sprouting everywhere !

IMG_1103.JPG

IMG_1109.JPG

On the windows, two rather vigorous kiwifruit trees that have developed well during the summer ! We'll have to wait a little longer for the fruit, though :D

What would a #gardenjournal be without passionflower? As you can see, it's almost my favorite plant !

IMG_1108.JPG

IMG_1112.JPG

I missed the first harvest of his Sichuan pepper tree, but he has saved some seeds to germinate and we may go to the countryside with a young plant ?

IMG_1110.JPG

IMG_1121.JPG

Let's finish with her lemon tree, which is also doing wonderfully, the harvest is also looking good on this side. In a nutshell, we can see the results of dedicating oneself to a project and not letting it go! This applies to everything in life, gardens, human relationships, Hive and work...!

IMG_1119.JPG

IMG_1101.JPG

I hope that this article has pleased and interested you and I hope to have a little more time to really start gardening again... Nothing is less sure, because between the search for cars and houses, not to mention the work at home or outside, the time may be quickly counted...! But we'll see :)

I wish you an excellent evening, take good care of you <3

@anttn






Bonjour chers Jardiniers ! J'espère que tout va bien chez vous :)

Cela faisait presque un mois que j'étais parti et que je n'avais presque pas participé ici, en tous cas par rapport à mon propre jardin. L'occasion de ce nouvel épisode du #gardenjournal organisé par @riverflows tombe donc réellement à pic !

Ma précédente mise à jour est à trouver juste ici.

La première partie sera consacrée à notre jardin et la seconde à celui d'un ami et vous verrez comme celui-ci est bien entretenu !

Cet été, comme je suis parti durant un mois au maximum, j'ai été un mauvais jardinier et je demande pardon à mes plantes et un peu aux dieux des jardiniers.

La première plante que vous pouvez voir est mon pourpier qui s'est admirablement développé. J'en ai mangé hier soir dans des pâtes et c'était délicieux ! C'est vraiment ce système d'"oyas" (jarre d'arrosage en terre cuite) qui lui a permis de traverser l'été sans se dessécher..! En regardant l'article précédent, vous pourrez apprécié sa croissance et il est apparement en train de produire des graines qui s'expulsent lorsque la capsule s'ouvre. Vous pourrez voir cela de plus près sur la seconde image.

IMG_0743.jpg

IMG_0745.JPG

Voilà ci-dessous une vue de notre jardin dans l'état dans lequel je l'ai retrouvé... C'était un peu la catastrophe, mais les pluie sont revenues irriguer la terre et les racines et nous verrons bien ce que nous pourrons faire.

À un moment, j'imagine virer tous les pots et peut-être faire une seule grosse butte de permaculture un peu comme le schéma ci-dessous... Après, à voir comment trouver les matériaux en ville...




Sketch_of_Hugelkulture_bed_in_cross_section.jpg
source


IMG_0749.JPG

Suivent ensuite nos quelques - très - modestes légumes... Un potimarron bientôt à point et une courge Bleue de Hongrie.

IMG_0750.JPG

IMG_0752.JPG

Une unique tomate, vous vous souvenez peut-être de celles qui avaient la maladie du cul noir et que j'avais 'sauvées' avec des coquilles d'oeufs pilées (déficit en calcium des racines...)

Mais les autres sur la seconde image semblent prometteuses !

IMG_0755.JPG

IMG_0760.JPG

Un concombre assez étrange et tout pâlot... Je ne sais d'où lui vient cette couleur quasiment diaphane et assez peu appétissante !

IMG_0758.JPG

Le dernier des haricots que je garde pour récolter ses graines :)

IMG_0767.JPG

Dans la suite des belles trouvailles de l'été, j'ai pu récolter des graines de cette amarante rouge (de la même famille que chénopodes et quinoa) que je m'empresserait de semer à la bonne période et pas en retard comme cette année ^^

IMG_0775.JPG

IMG_0773.JPG

J'ai aussi découvert ces petites pommes sauvages non loin de notre parcelle mais je ne les ai pas encore goûté... Affaire à suivre donc !


IMG_0771.JPG

Terminons par cet épi de maïs assez garni et cette courge à l'allure fantaisiste que j'ai hâte de goûter en velouté !

IMG_0777.JPG

IMG_0778.JPG

Passons au jardin de mon ami qui se situe plus au centre de Paris, dans une cours d'immeuble auquel il est seul à avoir accès... ce qui lui permet de l'entretenir sans problèmes 'collectifs' ou liés à l'effet de groupe !

Vous allez voir, c'est bien plus ordonné que chez moi ^^

On commence avec ces pieds de tomates bien ordonnancés, contre un mur idéalement exposé. Et la récolte sera donc en conséquence :)

IMG_1104.JPG

IMG_1116.JPG

Ici, vous aurez reconnu un compost bien entretenu :)

Tout au fond de la cours, les framboises continuent de jaillir de toutes parts !

IMG_1103.JPG

IMG_1109.JPG

Sur les fenêtres, deux arbres à kiwis plutôt vigoureux et qui se sont bien développés durant l'été ! Pour les fruits, il faudra tout de même encore attendre un peu :D

Que serait un #gardenjournal sans passiflore ? Vous l'aurez compris, c'est quasiment ma plante fétiche !!

IMG_1108.JPG

IMG_1112.JPG

J'ai manqué la première récolte de son poivrier du Sichuan, mais il a garder quelques graines pour les faire germer et nous partirons peut-être à la campagne avec un jeune plan ?

IMG_1110.JPG

IMG_1121.JPG

Terminons avec son citronnier qui se porte aussi à merveille, la récolte s'annonce aussi bonne de ce côté-ci. En un mot comme en cent, on voit bien les résultats qu'apporte le fait de se dédier à un projet et à ne pas le lâcher ! Ça vaut pour tout dans la vie, les jardins, les relations humaines, Hive et le travail..!

IMG_1119.JPG

IMG_1101.JPG

J'espère que cet article vous aura plût et intéressé et j'espère pouvoir avoir un peu plus de temps pour me remettre à vraiment jardiner... Rien n'est moins sûr, car entre les recherches de voitures puis de maisons, sans compter le travail à la maison ou en dehors, le temps risque d'être vite compté..! Mais nous verrons bien :)

Je vous souhaite une excellente soirée, prenez bien soin de vous <3

@anttn

Sort:  

Look at the beauty in those plants, well I haven't really fancied planting but I always admire those who do. And I love the quality of your photos some plants really caught my attention
Especially This one
2VZXybTSZJq1EFEMqZ2iEs7VKxvmFVY6eLE22jxtvUD9ojf1SpbeBSeVUX79Ce2g7ep1codf7CSorhcQp67rL8Cwca4N46xET8KbhbSDBgCJn6PUziVJnnJoq1cCzA7AY4PZdn5XKKTjs26nHbhmPd8iST8.jpeg

Keep up the good work, you are the third plant lover I've met on HIVE I guess (don't know if I've met you though 😁)

 2 years ago (edited) 

Glad you liked the tour !! But you should try a bit, maybe with some succulents (?)

(don't know if I've met you though 😁)

Everything needs a starting point, here it is ^^

Enjoy your weekend :)

I am always amazed by people who do container gardening. It makes one sustainable and eat healthy food.

 2 years ago  

So thanks for your amazement :D
I'll transmit to my friend !

Have a sweet weekend dear 🍀

Same to you darl! Thanks.

 2 years ago  

😊 🌿

 2 years ago  

Wow, awesome - looks like things are doing okay! I'm a bit the same - my garden is chaos whereas everyone else seems organised! I had tolaugh at the purslane in a pot as traditionally you find it on a roadside or something! Super high in magnesium from memory. Love your friend's bean climbing up the window. Well done on the post rewards too - see, gardening is lucrative :P

 2 years ago  

Hey dear River !

Yeah I've a bit the same with pursulane than with calendula earlier this summer... Can't stop seeing some everywhere now ^^

my garden is chaos

I prefer it that way too... my younger brother tells me all the time about the lazy gardener's practice and now... I'm convinced haha

Well done on the post rewards too - see, gardening is lucrative :P

Hahaha, you got me with this one ! Indeed, but I've to pay attention to keep practicing or will have to exchange some HIVE for veggies ^^

I hope you are enjoying you're weekend and that everything is fine for both of you !
Take care 😘

 2 years ago  

Oh you know it's Spring now so I'm seeing three cornered garlic, broad leafed plantain and cleavers everywhere! The three corned garlic is brilliant. I use the leaves and put the flowers on EVERYTHING! Even cheese and baked bean toast...

IMG20220910134818.jpg

 2 years ago (edited) 

I know :) and I'm even more happy to follow the seasons out of sync with you !

My god, those flowers just look amazingly delicious ! I never tried and have the occasion to do so, but I guess that if you're using them everywhere, it must be super tasty !

Mmmmh, just answering you after finishing dinner, but relooking at you picture made me hungry again... your meal seems so appetizing :p

Here, it was ratatouille in the oven and 'panisse', a recipe from the south of France, a kind of chickpea flour pastry that is grilled in a pan.

 2 years ago  

OH wow - I had to google panisse! Kinda like polenta that's fried? Delicious.

I just got a new Indian cookbook and wanted to make their paneer kofta which looks amazing too. Every culture has delicous fried food - us humans do like it!

Oh now that you know about tri cornered garlic flowers you'll look for them everywhere!

 2 years ago  

Pretty like the same indeed, but even more dense !

Mmmmh, paneer kofta, I miss some friends from India whom lived in Paris for a while..!

Oh now that you know about tri cornered garlic flowers you'll look for them everywhere!

Haha, exactly ! All my eyes are in action :D but I guess I’ll have to wait for Spring too ..(?)

Great looking garden with so much diversity! Smart move with the egg shells :)

 2 years ago  

Thanks you ! I can't wait to start one in the countryside, but urban condition is interesting for the beginning ^^ Yeah, that worked pretty well, I was very impressed !

Wow! you really have an amazing garden @anttn. Those tomatoes in pot really catches my attention and yes they can grow even in small spaces. This one is really good too.

Thank you for sharing it with us.

Yeah tomatoes and peppers are one of the easiest plants to nocturne Even beans... Did a bit of those when I was little but I'm not in that line any longer

 2 years ago  

Hello there @jenthoughts :)

This one was the one of my friend, very much organized... more than mine haha ^^
You can go to see the balcony of @akipp0nn, small space too and a great gardening experiment !

Enjoy your weekend dear 🌼

Really? I will check your friend garden too after this. Thanks for that @anttn

 2 years ago  

😉🍀 enjoy the tour and have a nice week ahead ! Take care :)

 2 years ago  

Nice post anttn with nice photos thank you for sharing. greetings and have a nice weekend take care 🌞😊

 2 years ago  

Thanks you dear Hindavi :) Always a pleasure ..!

I hope you're having a great weekend too 💫 How are you those days ?