A predictable journey

in HiveGardenlast year

I love nature and the peace I find there; beauty, solace and comfort, but also the excitement it brings me when I'm within it. It could be a botanical garden in the city, a far-away wilderness place, or even within my own garden, I find what I'm looking for be it peace and solace, the excitement and toil of planting and nurturing my own plants, and the harvest I reap.


I don't have a whole lot of room to plant out at my home, but what room I have is used and whether it's flowers, a small potted fruit tree or two, vegetables, or hanging and standing pots, I find immense value in surrounding myself with green things.

This weekend I've spent a little time with nature, at home in my garden, and it left me feeling satisfied, happy and a little excited for the future because everything is looking so lovely and healthy.

b1 (1).JPG

I took this image

Humankind used to rely upon themselves for the production of food and products they used in general and those that didn't have the ability to grow or make things had to trade other goods or services for it. As time went by that's mostly changed though, the predictable journey of progress, however I think it's ingrained in humans to toil, it's what has helped us rise to the top of the food-chain, and part of that is the ability to grow our own food.

I don't know if my desire to grow things stems from that age-old process humans have gone through, but I do know that growing things and consuming what I grow brings me deep satisfaction.

My lack of room prevents me growing enough to sustain myself however growing sustains me in other ways, my well-being, and provides me so much more than the nutritional benefits alone. Point in case, my lovely little strawberries.

b3 (1).JPG

I took this image also

I'm not sure exactly what I did right, but I have so many strawberries growing that I think I'll be able to share them around. Hmm, maybe only with my partner I guess, but I think we're going to have a strawberry-fest in the not-too-distant future and neither of us will mind one little bit.

I'm always amazed at the process of growth in nature, the way things begin in such a small and fragile way and transition through various stages of growth to the end product and beyond; I say beyond because these strawberries are going to have an onward journey into bowls of vanilla ice cream or yoghurt.

The lovely part of nature is that my strawberry plants will recover, journey forward again and, in time, will produce once more.

I gain so much value from my garden, and nature in general, and would be lost without it. Sometimes I become sad when something reaches its natural end but it's just that predictable journey running its course, the circle of life, I guess. I can't help but draw a parallel to human life and the journey we all take; one that needs certain elements to flourish, nurturing and care, tenderness and love. It's those things I find, partly, from nature itself and within my thoughts and attitudes. Like my garden.

I'm on a predictable journey and I seek to make it the best I possibly can and so I grow things, spend time with nature, reflect within myself and apply passion...the same passion I'll apply to eating my own strawberries with vanilla ice cream.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Lovely Strawberries! Lack of room isn't a restriction that can be overcome with a little creativity and understanding of your plant's needs. As you say, you cant supply your whole dietary needs but can add to your daily nutrition in small ways that are all your won.

Thank you, I'm quite proud of them.

One of the challenges I have in the garden is choosing the right plants to fit into the space and conditions available but it's a challenge I enjoy; planning thigs out is all part of the enjoyment.

Becca 🌱

This is a very nice way you do it.

Gardening is one of my great passions and despite having limited room for it, I do my best.

Thanks for your comment.

Becca 🌱

I relate to the feeling of finding peace whilst in nature. It somehow soothes the irritation that comes with being a part of the unsustainable way of life.

Love your strawberries. I have been thinking about trying to grow some just for my personal consumption and see if I can hack growing them as I see my neighbouring farms growing them.

Wishing you the very best with your future plans 🌻

Nature can be quite brutal, storms and earthquakes and the like, but I find it mostly beautiful, and it brings me a lot of enjoyment to be out amongst the plants in my garden. I hope you manage to get some strawberries growing, the process and end result is worth the effort.

Becca 🌱

I really admire your handiwork of this photography. Lovely fruits from the strawberry. Actually this is my first time of seeing strawberry on it plants. Over here in Ghana it's not common since we even input the fruits from other countries. We have the same issue with apple 🍏 which we don't have real apple cultivated in Ghana. Thanks for sharing, my pleasure!

Thanks for looking at my post and taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it.

Becca 🌼

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Strawberry fest! Ah yes, you've reminded me of my childhood a tiny little bit. The town I grew up in actually had a strawberry festival each year, it was called The Strawberry Fête

Fond memories...

You say your journey's predictable, but I might disagree. If it's anything like your writing, then it's wholly unpredictable and enjoyable. Thank you!