My Garden Plants #1: Blue Ternate Flower Health Benefits and Tea Making

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG20211207093521.jpg

Hi to all hiveans todays post is about my flowers, herbs and other plants. Its my hobby to plant different kinds of plants, especially the ones that is useful in our daily lives.

I always take good care of them as one of my hobby. Seeing my flowers bloom and alive always made me happy and makes my worries go away. As I grew up in a province, I have always depended on herbs as a form of natural remedy.

As we all know that during ancient times people have used different kinds of plants and herbs as medicines. Unlike nowadays where people depend on pharmaceutical medicine which is fine, but here in the province we rarely use that as we have a lot of natural medicine here.

IMG20211207093552.jpg

One of my favorite flower is Blue Ternate also known as Butterfly Pea that I always use as a tea. This flower has many benefits to our bodies such as:

  • Is a natural anti-oxidant
  • Increases blood circulation and cleanses the blood
  • Improves vision
  • Enhances memory
  • Revitalizes the skin and hair to help you look younger
  • Improves metabolism which helps burn excess fat in our bodies
These are not the only benefits we get out from this flower. The list above are just the things I know of. Some people use it as an ornamental flower because of its unique and amazing colors. Just looking at these beautiful flower everyday makes me happy and relieves some of my stress.

I don't pluck all of the flowers because I love seeing them everyday. I only use a very few flowers every now and then. I also air dry these flower which takes around 3 to 5 days, but I prefer making a tea out of fresh Ternate and drink it fresh. Although I also make tea out of air dried Ternate as well but I only do so very rarely.

IMG20211208141932.jpg

I picked 5 flowers today which I used to make a tea.

IMG20211208143215.jpg

My tea making process is quite simple. You just get a glass, put the freshly picked flowers inside the glass and pour in some hot water. I leave it for 5 to 10 minutes and it's done. I now enjoy a little bit of bliss drinking my tea.

IMG20211207100507.jpg

These are the seed of Blue Ternate Flower. The pods are still green right now. I only harvest the pods it is already brown in color and dry. I always replant the seeds after harvesting them to have more Blue Ternate Flowers in my garden.

IMG20211207123607.jpg

Above is the picture of air dried Blue Ternate Flowers. These flowers are very popular among my friends and they always buy it from me. As they know that I do not use insecticides on my plants. So I air dry them out before I send it to them.

Air drying is very important if you do not want to drink it right away because if you don't it will smell and taste bad. That is why when you buy these from online stores they will always send air dried flowers instead of fresh ones.

But like what I said above already, I like it fresh as it has this very distinct taste and smell when you make tea out of freshly plucked Blue Ternate Flowers.


Hello guys I am Bhelatnasudepan, a province/country girl. Living a simple but meaningful life. I consider myself a newbie in gardening although I have been gardening for almost 7 years now, any tips in gardening is very much welcome. I also love to travel and taking pictures of my travels and adventures. I also love cooking, that is why I also have my own vegetable garden because I love to cook fresh vegetables. I am also a newbie gamer and I only play games from time to time to have fun.

Thank you for reading and see you guys in the next blog.
Sort:  

I have seen some Blue Ternate Flower in our place but I don't know that this has a lot of benefits.
Thanks for sharing this.