False Dawn for the Green Man!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

A Slow Start to the Season. ⏰⌛

Hello to all of my fellow worker bees of the Hive Garden!
I'm back with an update following my initial 'Spring has Sprung' post.

It's been a difficult start to the UK gardening season this year, as Mr. Jack Frost ❄️ has consistently reared his head to thwart my progress. That being said, it's all part of the yearly gardening experience and a chance to learn what I can or cannot get away with here in the chilly North of England.

Germination has been painfully slow so far but rather than just sit around waiting, I decided to work on improving my space. This part of this process involved a lot of standing around in the garden and looking at things. I'm pretty sure Mrs. Gryllis thought I'd finally lost the plot during this stage! 😂 (Mrs G: Yes, I did)

Secondly, I compiled a mental list of small goals that I could achieve easily while I waited for my seeds to germinate. I find that little tasks are a good way to keep me active and motivated. 🤟

20220424_125924.jpg

20220424_133311.jpg
I fence I fixed, while giving it a natural rustic look. I may build a bug hotel to attach to this in the future.

20220324_160123.jpg
I gave the beds a much needed weeding under the supervision of Alfie the Border Terrier.

20220428_145313.jpg
Some dry leaves I collected to balance my compost, on top of a fridge/freezer that I converted into a planter.

I also began burying kitchen scraps 🥗 in areas of the beds I will not be using first. I chose to bury our scraps as I'm finishing my first large batch of compost in my dalek bin by leaving it to settle for a month and therefore don't want to add anymore organic matter. For those interested in how effective this method is, here is a brilliant video on direct burying your kitchen waste by 'Self Sufficient Me'.

thealliancepagedivider.png

Moving on up!🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿

So, here is how my established plants and seedlings are doing so far.
20220428_125124.jpg

20220428_125153.jpg
Here we have some Broad Bean seeds that I grow in toilet roll tubes to protect their long taproot.

20220415_172155.jpg
A tire planter full of Aubretia, pollinators love it!

20220406_141305.jpg
My Rosemary plant recovering from it's time on a supermarket shelf. I'm going to take some cuttings and grow them on.

20220428_150055.jpg
A survivor from last year, this Swiss Chard has made a great recovery after I cut it right down for the winter.
20220501_143729.jpg
Another tire planter, this time containing Lavender.

20220507_153831.jpg
The Leeks I planted last May are ready to be pulled soon, I have around 20 in total which will be frozen to keep us going for most of the year, as well as traded with my wife's parents for their incredible free range eggs!

20220505_154156.jpg
My ever expanding mint collection is producing lots of fragrant leaves already. I drink a lot of mint tea so I'm happy to say that I should be self sufficient in standard, spearmint & peppermint for the first time this year! The plan is to dehydrate a lot of it for storage over the winter.

thealliancepagedivider.png

Lots More to Come!

There are a whole load of goals left to achieve this year but so far so good. My aim is the same as always, which is to improve on last year. The vision at the moment is to clear all of the weed infested areas in the center of the garden and with any luck get some more growing space built. I'll also be trying to improve my garden eco system as a whole to improve the balance and save myself a lot of future headaches trying to control Aphids and other pests.

MORE FLOWERS = MORE BENEFICIAL BUGS = LESS WORK FOR ME! 😎

20220413_173117.jpg
*It took a while but my initial bug hotel that I placed last year has it's first inhabitants. This one was picked up from Ebay for about £8, my next one I will build myself out of salvaged materials. *

thealliancepagedivider.png

Until Next Time.

That's all I've got for today folks, I hope I could provide a little inspiration or encouragement to the good people of Hive today. I'll be doing more updates as the season goes on and hopefully showing off some bountiful harvests! If you got this far, thank you so much for your time! All support/comments/upvotes & donations are massively appreciated by myself & my canine helpers.

20220410_115528.jpg

** BIG LOVE TO MY FRIENDS IN 'THE FAMILY TREE' SPLINTERLANDS GUILD & OUR PRESTIGIOUS OVERLORDS... 'THE ALLIANCE'!** 🤟😎🤟
the_alliance_360.png

pimp1800.jpg

All photos are taken by and owned by me.

#pimp #thealliance #gardening #HiveGarden #greenthumb #flowers #vegetables #growing #food

Sort:  

Congratulations @brucegryllis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is a one-time notice from SCHOOL OF MINNOWS, a free value added service on hive.
Getting started on hive can be super hard on these social platforms 😪 but luckily there is some communities that help support the little guy 😊, you might like school of minnows, we join forces with lots of other small accounts to help each other grow!
Finally a good curation trail that helps its users achieve rapid growth, its fun on a bun! check it out. https://som-landing.glitch.me/

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @brucegryllis.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more