THE SECRET GARDEN

in HiveGarden2 years ago

`
IMG_0149 (1).JPG

Our neighbours have the most magnificent indigenous garden imaginable. It's a well kept local secret. The elusive neighbours are rather shy and prefer their paradise to remain untouched. Our valley borders this indigenous oasis. With special permission and assurances that we would leave behind no trace of our presence; we visited the 48 thousand hectare pristine natural expanse.

IMG_0105 (5).JPG

Spending a day in the protected wildlife reserve is an indescribable experience. It truly is a sanctuary to the magnificent animals who comfortably roam their beautiful African home - which is as much a sacred garden as it is secret one.

IMG_0209.JPG

Sanbona is home to the famous big five - although the lion and elephant evaded us very effectively! We were close on their trail throughout the day. However it is their territory and we failed in tracking the king of beasts and the gentle herd of herbivores.

IMG_0219.JPG

The indigenous landscape is alive with hidden life. We were excited to spot many inquisitive giraffe. Their graceful necks floating among the thorn tree tops as they foraged for the delicacies of young leaves.

IMG_0247 (1).JPG

In the dry but lush river bed a huge family of buffalo grazed with zebra closeby. The variety of plant life from valley to mountaintop to wide open savannah's is something to behold. No human gardener could plant such a wonderful paradise!

IMG_0246 (1).JPG

The evidence throughout the Cape of a long drought, is apparent in the reserve too. However, the lush green that colours the vista also bears testimony of the will to survive! Apart from the special day out in the special wildlife reserve the thriving life - both animal, bird and plant - had us all celebrating!

IMG_0121 (3).JPG

Although we did not see the fast moving elephant, from a gardening point of view, we were delighted with the trail of compost that marked their meander. When left to live the way they were created to, in their Secret Garden, this truly is a self contained and perfect eco-system.

Perhaps next time I should throw out a trail of .... ummm ... dung to get my personal indigenous gardener on the spoor @andrastia?

IMG_0317 (1).JPG

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Beautiful photos there @buckaroobaby you got a real show there. Our own indigeous unicorns, I've always loved them. Thanks for sharing your experience, it must have been exhilirating.

I'm sure that if you left your own dung trail you'd definitely attract attention from something or other.

A colleague of mine was doing some leopard tracking and had some field cameras set up. They tried all sorts of scents to lure them in. Apparently Hoity Toity deoderant worked a charm and brought the males around marking their territory. Maybe give that a whirl?

You are hilarious! I was kind of thinking of ANIMAL dung but whatever blows your hair back. Funny story, a lot of hippie homesteaders actually use their own, um, recycled dung in composting. Don't think I'd want to sample those vegetables.

 2 years ago  

Well ok, sorry I got a bit confused there, animal dung, people dung - it all spells FOODIES to predators noses I supposes 🤣.

Umm I guess if that's the only fertilizer they have, then it would work - I certainly am with you on the same side of the fence on that one though, it wouldn't be my first choice.

Apparently in many countries they insist you wash all greens you buy for that exact reason.

Gag! And now I'm reminded why I grow my own EVERYTHING

 2 years ago  

Self sufficiency for the win! 💚

This is amazing! This is what urban zoos try to emulate, but this is the REAL DEAL.

Oh I am not at all a lover of zoos. I also know and understand what happens to a lot of animals that get them into zoos which is abhorent. Living optimally in Creation the way the Father created them to is definitely the real deal

Hello, Tracey! Do you realize I spell your name differently every time I use it? 🤣
I figure one of these days you might correct me.

I just want to say that this post is indeed something special! This was actually beyond my imagination. It didn't even dawn on me, even as you left me a clue. I thought you were just satisfying my hunger for nature.

What an incredible opportunity to see these amazing creatures. They looked so calm as they meander around the preserve. I am awed by your time there and what a wonderful friend allowing you into her secret garden. Of course, she already knows your heart, which is why she allowed you.

I cannot thank you enough for sharing this rare opportunity with us! We miss you so I am glad you are back! ❤️

Correct you? Oh no! As long as you don't call me the wrong name. When Craig winds me up I call him Keg or Greg because those are usually the names people call him by. Craig is not a common name. Which I like, but people battle with the pronounciation. When I was in school we were FOUR Tracey's and THREE in the same class so they called us by our last name or abbreviation. One of my best friend's had the same name. I think over your side it is also a name given to boys? But the spelling for girl's is without the E while boys is with!

It was truly a wonderful experience. I know you remember that I used to live in a game reserve, but my first husband died over 12 years ago and I have NEVER been back. So this was bittersweet for me. Obviously not the same place but so similar.

Wow amazing my friend that is a pretty awesome secret garden thanks for shring this wonderful area with us.😎 @buckaroobaby

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator


This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.

It truly is one of a kind! Makes me so honoured to call this beautiful part of Africa, home

@buckaroobaby brilliant my friend it is certainly
Have a wonderful day 😎

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator

@buckaroobaby! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (4/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@buckaroobaby! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (4/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

beautyful warriorunicorn

Uniquely beautiful rhino

 2 years ago  

Very special garden 🦏🐃🐘

Such a beautiful secret garden and wonderful photos! This has been on my bucket list for so very long, being able to see and photograph African wildlife...