An edible plant not to be confused with similar weeds... [Gardening]

in HiveGarden2 years ago

img_20220319_114517890_hdr.jpg

To the untrained eye, this might appear to be a common weed. With a mixture of long-veined leaves fanning out from a center, some of them with serrated edges, it looks similar to many other common lawn weeds. If you guessed this was a dandelion, you would be dead wrong.

img_20210709_095304179_hdr.jpg

Identification

Chicory, also known as Blue Cornflower and many other names, it does in fact grow in the wild as a meadow weed. In my garden, I grow it especially for the tall summer flowers.

This plant can be very difficult to differentiate from other weeds. In February and March, late in Winter, watch for leaves that turn speckled slightly with red. As other leafy plants become thrashed by slugs and rodents, this plant thrives and will often swell with spirals of healthy plump greens.

Most of the leaves grow tall and upright with straight edges. As more leaves fill in from the center, they will push older leaves out into the earth. The leaf shape is the best way to differentiate it from dandelion which has saw-tooth edges. Chicory leaves are slightly spined on the edges, with almost hairs on the edges. The leaf interior is smooth and tender like all salad greens.

img_20220319_114531580_hdr.jpg

Cooking

Chicory is related to other edible plants that produce red leaves in winter, like endive and radicchio. The plump lettuce shaped leaves might be bitter, but very healthy. Leaves are least bitter in the season temperatures are freezing. To further reduce the bitterness from leafy greens you can season it, and cook it in water or oil. The central vein can also be discarded.

Try mixing it with other greens for a fresh salad that offers some interesting colors, and season it with an acidic or sweet dressing.

Historically, the root was dried and powderized, then mixed with water as a coffee substitute. Nobody I know bothers with this anymore since coffee is so cheap and plentiful. Chicory, like coffee, will definitely help get your bowels moving.

img_20220319_114537139_hdr.jpg

Sowing

During the rainy season in late Fall or late Winter is the best time to plant Chicory seeds. Seeds are not viable for long, so it is best to plant them the same year after they are acquired. You'll have to look online for specialty growers (try etsy), since most commercial growers will only sell Bachelor's Buttons as "Blue Cornflower", which is not the same plant.

Chicory will grow back every year so long as you do not cut it down to the root, or break the root. They sprout more easily when sown in a pot if you have pest problems outdoors. Once mature, move the pot anywhere sunny and damp you want more chicory to grow, as the flowers will drop seeds that self-sow. Chicory may not transplant well.

img_20220319_114431583_hdr.jpg

This is a short article today. Did you enjoy these photos of the incredible, edible, flowering chicory?

There are various things sprouting and flowering outside my yard, so please follow and I will be happy to share the results.

img_20220319_114011348_hdr.jpg


Post Beneficiaries:

This is my way of thanking each of you for your friendship and support. By sharing my talents on Hive, I can also share to help with your needs.

Let my success also grant you some happiness too.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Interesting post. I had only heard of chicory as a cheap coffee alternative in the South. Lovely flower. I'm working on starting a garden at my new house this spring. Excited to see your gardening posts :)

I had 4 chicorys in my New Herb garden. Last year I was down to 1. I believe I am starting more this year in case I lost that one over the winter. I also love them for their flowers.