What's Growing? Cabbage and More... [Gardening]

in HiveGarden2 years ago

img_20220319_113707939.jpg

Feed me Seymour!

Possibly the closest thing I've grown resembling Audrey 2.

This is a beautiful Danish Cabbage growing in my front yard. It has thick and crispy yellow green leaves, with hints of purples.

img_20220319_113658490.jpg

Cabbage

All winter, I have been picking off the oldest damaged leaves from the undersides, and this seemed to promote new growth from the center. It also strengthens the stem the to cabbage can hold more weight in the head.

The cold rain is doing a good job of detering aphids, although I did find some recently on a sunny day, so I flicked them off and spritzed the leaves with soapy water to be extra safe. To find the aphids, look closely between the folds of the inner leaves. They look for spots best protected from the wind and rain.

This might be as big as the heads get before they bolt. Perhaps I should harvest the biggest one, and leave the rest to form seeds.

img_20220319_113637604_hdr.jpg

Front Yard Patch

On the one side all the cabbage is growing. On the other side was meant to be more root vegetables such as carrot, turnip, and radish. The root crops, although still bearing greens, the bulbs are completely torn up with bite marks and worm holes.

To make the area seem less like a vacant battlefield, I recently transplanted parsley. It tends to transplant well this time of year when the roots are strong and new leaves are constantly pushing out. I'm hoping parsley scent will help deter some pests.

img_20220319_113612362_hdr.jpg

Wall Garden

More ravaged radishes over here. Added a few more parsley plants to this area also, as pictured below.

A couple of raddichio plants have survived and gone purple. Last year I harvested a raddichio to the root stem, and it never grew back. These really take a couple years before they become large enough to harvest, as the root has to become large in order to sustain lots of red leaves in winter.

img_20220319_113722585.jpg

Brussels Sprouts

Below, the Brussels Sprouts plants were also have a small infection from the aphids, especially now that flower buds are beginning to form at the top. So I gave this the soapy water treatment, and the problem is gone.

These plants I have been growing for about four years now. They keep getting taller and more aggressive.

img_20220319_113757422.jpg

This is about as big as my brussels sprouts heads ever get until they pop open.

I know I'm breaking a lot of rules here. You're supposed to uproot and start over with a new crop every season, but I think it is easier to keep the same plant going year after year if it is still strong.

Younger plants often get eaten by everything before I get a turn, however an older plant has fewer dangers.

img_20220319_113803878.jpg

Thyme

When the new green leaves appear on thyme, it is a bit magical. Something about the minty yellow leaves appearing as crowns over the winter blue old leaves has a regenerative energy I really enjoy.

img_20220319_113841510.jpg

Of course I grow mine as a #bonsai tree, less than a foot high. Every few months I prune it back so it isn't such a mess of broom branches, and encourage the twisty twigs to branch outward at various levels.

In spring we can expect small star flowers.

img_20220319_113829393.jpg

Conclusion

Thank you for viewing my short article detailing what's growing in my yard.

I look forward to sharing more as the weather brightens up.

img_20220319_113939358_hdr.jpg


Post Beneficiaries:

This is my way of thanking each of you for your friendship and support. By sharing my talents on Hive, I can also share to help with your needs.

Let my success also grant you some happiness too.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

small infection from the aphids, especially now that flower buds are beginning to form at the top. So I gave this the soapy water treatment

what is this soapy solution? I have tons of aphids on my rose bush which I have tried to remove with garlic water. No luck.

Soapy dishwater is commonly what I use on aphids. I used an orange scented liquid dish soap recently, and it seemed to do the trick. Doesn't matter if it is Dawn, Ultra, or any particular brand, as long as it smells soapy and forms bubbles and suds.

Aphids tend to dislike strong scents. They also are weak and can't climb well on slippery, smooth surfaces.

Other things I have tried that work a little bit are rubbing crushed mint leaves on the stalks. Hot red pepper and garlic tea. Nicotania, I have also used to make a tea that deters aphids. The nicotine in the leaves basically kills them.

Once the aphids take over, there isn't much I have found that works. The ants relentlessly bring them back. Rejoice if you find an antlion causing them some havoc.

Exciting to see your garden. This will be interesting to watch through the growing season because you are several weeks ahead of me (since I moved to Vermont). Brussel sprouts are a definite for my garden plans. We ate soooo many brussel sprouts this winter. Is the soapy water treatment specific to aphids or does it help with other pests also? Love the flowers in last photo. We planted some bulbs last year and they aren't even up yet haha it will be awhile for any blooms.

Dish soap works best for treating aphids. Even a strong stream of water from a hose is often enough to knock aphids off.

Aphids are weak and dumb, but ants help them get into the sheltered crevices where tender buds form. Aphids cannot climb on slippery surfaces and dislike strong scents.

Other pests you will have to learn what works best. Ants cannot walk over a barrier of dry diatomaceous earth; it kills them.

Danish cabbage leaves are edible? Did you eat them?

Ah, I envy your Brussels sprouts. Until now I just eat Brussels sprouts with my eyes. Those veggies aren’t native plants. I hope I can eat them one day :)