African Violet Dividing and Repotting

in HiveGarden2 years ago

A few days ago I got quite excited to see River's post about the October HiveGarden Journal and even though I don't have a garden, I still love the couple of plants that I do have.


IMG_20220904_122311~2.jpg


I've been wanting to repot my African Violet plant for a few weeks and today I got a gap to do it. African Violets are wonderful house plants that belong to the family Gesneriaceae and come in a variety of forms and colours from single to double flowers, flat or frilly, pink, purple and variegated with white flowers.

The propagate easily by vegetative reproduction and can be multiplied by rooting leaves in water creating a clone plant of the mother plant.


African Violet-1.jpg


I bought this plant about 6 months or so ago and I thought that it was a single plant, but as it grew larger, it developed into two distinctive plants growing back to back as can be seen in the photo below.


African Violet-1-2.jpg


I took my plants outside and found a rectangular planter that was large enough to house both of these plants in order for them to not be cramping each other's style.

Carefully I removed the plant from the original pot and then divided the plants along the center. Unfortunately I haven't been able to source African Violet potting soil, so I used conventional potting soil for the time being, I hope it won't damage my plants.


African Violet-1-4.jpg


I placed the two plants with their orientation facing forwards (towards the window where they will be living) and gently filled in the areas around the roots with soil. I may have to top this up a little bit once it's settled down as I know this potting soil compresses quite a lot after being watered.

There is a nursery close by that I should really visit and find another friend for these two. I only have a few houseplants here but would love to have more. They come in such a wide variety that I would really like to see if I can get some in each of the pinks and purples, but the frilly flowered ones are by far my favourites.


African Violet-1-5.jpg


I'd like to get them some African Violet fertilizer as they have a whole range of products just for these plants but I'll wait for them to settle down from the shock of repotting before I do it.

They are now happily back on their shelf in the living room and I'm hoping that they will enjoy having a bit more space instead of being conjoined twins.

Don't you just love the shade of green these leaves are? It's that colour that reminds me of the undergrowth in a forest. It's so soothing. What's your favourite houseplant? Feel free to tell me in the comments.

Sort:  

The Mother Thing has cultivated African Violets for ages. Between dividing her existing plants and acquiring new ones from time to time, quite a few have filled her indoor plant shelves. Do you carefully water the soil beneath them, or use a pot designed for outside watering? Is that why they are in deep bowls?

Hi Jacob

I had a chuckle at "The Mother Thing" 😁 You can build up quite a collection that way for sure. I don't do anything special with my plants, I normally water them from the bottom but now in their new container might have to water them the conventional way. I'll see if I have a container large enough for that one to fit into.

I just love how easy they are to keep, they really are low maintenance plants.

Have you read, "Have Space Suit, Will Travel" by Robert Heinlein?

No, I haven't. Is it good?

I need some new reading material, I'll look it up.

It's a fun sci-fi story and the origin of the "Mother Thing" term.

I love sci fi so will definitely find it and read it. Thanks for the recommendation 😁

Pretty much all of Heinlein's "Juveniles" are fun old-school hard sci-fi, but that particular book was my first. The Mother Thing owned a copy, and encouraged me to read it fairly early on.

 2 years ago  

I have just got a grip on houseplants over last couple of years. Neglect works for me 🤪 so I need plants that don't mind that. The African violets are lovely!

Oh for sure, these ones don't seem to really mind, they aren't like orchids who are finicky and need special attention. I like that these propagate easily as well, you can just take leaf cuttings and start a new plant in water. I thought they were related to Begonias because they seem quite similar but they are totally different families.

Hi Emma, what a beautiful plant of African violets. I love violets. But these days, I don't have any at home, the only flowering plant I have at the moment is one that we call here Amazon Lily or Eucharis.

Hi CoquiCoin

Thanks for coming by. I just looked up Eucharis and they are beautiful! I haven't seen them here before in the nurseries but I'll look for them next time I'm out. The violets are such easy plants to keep, they are low maintenance but they really put on such a beautiful show of flowers, they're easy to fall in love with.

I hope you are keeping well 🦋

It's pretty, I don't really like ang particular plants coz I'm okay with anything. I mean, they are all good to my eyes and it helps too if you are thinking of somthings. Just looking at the green and beautiful plant is enough to make my day. Hehe.

Hi Parot

I agree with you there, they all have a positive impact on us, I really like orchids but I'm terrible at keeping them, they are quite finicky plants but this violet seems to like me so I'm happy having just two green friends for now 😁

Despite me having the urge to keep a plant, I am not good at managing it. Kudos to people like you for successfully raising a plant. Not an easy job, to be honest, hahaha.

!PIZZA

Hi Clifford

These African Violets are really easy low maintenance plants and I'd love to have a huge garden one day. For now, a houseplant is all I have space for lol. How are your studies going?

I guess I'll consider African Violets if I will plan to take care of a plant soon. My studies is great so far. I've met several friends already and we help each other in our assignments hahaha. Thank you for asking :))

That green of the leaves is splendorous, bright of that beautiful African violet and vigorous, it makes that plant look very strong Emma.

My favorite plant is the jade, it is resistant, here in my country we call it the money plant, it is very beautiful, it adapts easily to our warm climate and represents prosperity, abundance, I learned that with Feng Shui.

I have it near the window so that it gets natural light. Its watering is easy, I do it with a spray as it was recommended where I bought it. 🍀☮️

I like the sound of Jade, I definitely need a money and prosperity plant in my life lol.

Will definitely see if they have them available here at the local nursery. I really like the idea of having more indoor plants, they always make it feel more homely.

Hello Emma buscala Emma and place it near a place where you get plenty of natural light and if that's what we want for all much money hahaha to at least solve outstanding things ...that if you never lack the will to get it ....

Ask at the nursery is very nice small leaves and has very good energy. ☮️

Whaoo.. With what I read, I can tell you put a lot of effort to make all this plants look beautiful. Great work. Also I wish to have some at my house.

Hi @fashtioluwa

These plants actually don't demand much from me, I water them and speak to them occasionally and that's about it, they do the rest on their own :)

Whaoo.. That's still much tho😇

Congratulations @emma-h! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List