The sweetest rewards

in HiveGardenlast year

Strawbs-2.jpg


"Earth is… so kind… just tickle her... and she laughs with a harvest."

~ Douglas William Jerrold


I absolutely love this quote, it's beautiful and I've seen it with my eyes before me as I've walked through spring meadows alive with wild flowers as if in celebration to be alive.

It's no different in my tiny little "garden" which consists of about 4 plants, one of which is a strawberry plant that I stole borrowed a runner of from a little guest house I stayed at a few months back. To be honest I thought that the plant wasn't going to make it at one point because it really didn't like being transplanted but after some tender care, it perked up and started to slowly put out some new shoots.

I was absolutely overjoyed but I was also not going to count my chickens strawbs before they had even flowered so I kept a watch on it and checked it every now and again.

The first few flowers I saw open made me almost giddy with joy like a small child who has just won and egg 'n spoon race against their long legged parent. But I was a bit saddened when a huge storm hit and bashed all the little petals off the flowers. I thought that they stood little chance of pollination without their beautiful little white blazers shining for all the world bees to see.

Oh me of little faith! Taught me a lesson as they clearly still got pollinated and I patiently impatiently watched as the tiniest little strawberries started to form. It seemed to take forever but eventually they started fattening up so I gave it more water and Bam! The first little strawberry harvest!


Strawbs-1-2.jpg


I sent the photos to my niece as I was sure that she'd love to see them and she even asked if she could pick some the next time she's round here. Of course, I happily encourage her to pick them and eat them straight off the plant - you don't get fresher than that.

And the taste? Oh my gosh, the strawberries is shops are absolutely horrific compared to these beauties. I could not believe how deep and delicious the flavour was and how organically sweet they were too. You don't dare touch these babies with castor sugar, that would be sacrilegious.


Strawbs-2-2.jpg


We've been having some great sunny days here so I'm watching a couple more that are in the process of ripening up. I lost a big juicy one to snails though, I suppose they can't resist them either lol. It gave me such pleasure to hand pick a few of these and pop them in my mouth right there and then and I know many people that have fields of these that must get the same amount of enjoyment as I do but like times by 100...I have very limited space though so being able to care for this one baby right up until harvest, it was such an absolute pleasure and I look forward to many more scrumptious beauties from this plant.

Considering that I don't use any pesticides on it, I was pleasantly surprised to have got these few untouched by the critters, but I'm sure in time this may change and we'll be fighting over who gets to them first.


The images are mine

Sort:  
 last year  

You're a lucky woman and the strawberries are lucky to have you. We've never had strawberries in the garden but my dad's neighbor has some. Yours are so cute! 🍓 Home grown is the best!

Thanks so much, they were little gems. It's such an exciting feeling lifting up the leaves to see what they're up to. Home grown for the win!

How beautiful your strawberries @emma-h 🤗

Congratulations on your harvest 👏🏻 It feels great when we plant something and it has good results. I usually what I have planted withers 😟 Maybe I'm not good at it. The big ants do their job of eating it 😄

Thank you so much @purpleglitter

It was so much fun to see them go from bloom to strawberry and then pop them in my mouth. Do you live in quite a harsh climate?

What fun! 🤗 And tasty 😋 The climate is tropical. But it changes a lot. Right now it's raining quite a bit. I plan to plant scallions 😃

What a well nurtured strawberries.
Is it hard to care?
I haven't experienced growing even once.

They don't seem to be too hard to look after, they are growing like mad there and putting out so many runners. I feel bad that I'm going to be moving them soon, but I just hope they'll be happy in their new home. Thanks for stopping by and having a read.

You're always welcome.☺️

 last year  

Omg I'm terrible at growing strawberries... They end up a big weedy patch and then the magpies steal them. I love that quote too!

Really? I just love them, they are quite a lot hardier than I would have thought. Oh gosh the magpies, what a nightmare. That would totally spoil it for me lol.

Congratulations @emma-h! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 11
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022

Wow! I so love anything with strawberries, ice cream, cakes, cookies, even milk... Haha
Seeing how huge and red your own strawberries came out is such a happy sight.
Strawberries don't grow on our area because it's hot. They only grow on the highland part of our country.
I'm from the Philippines and seeing strawberries just growing in the wild like what I see in the movies where they just pick them in the forests like the black and blue berries just fascinates me.
I tried growing one's but it did not thrive.

I hope you can propagate more of these kinds because they are sweet. Lucky you, you probably stole borrowed their best tasting variety.
Haha.
Now, I am craving for these delightful strawberry of yours dear!