If it doesn't make you happy - change it!

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Streptocarpus harlequin 1.jpg

Yesterday I got rid of the very last Streptocarpus I had.

I have been growing few of them for about 5 years or so. I started with two different colours. Both were gifted to me either as a young plant or a leaf cutting.

Later, when they both bloomed I managed to crosspollinate them and got a bunch of tiny little dust-like seeds. I sowed some of them and a new generation of plants started. It was like a mass production! I had so many little plants I could never fit them in my place.

Streptocarpus blue flower 1.jpg

As they grew I picked the biggest and strongest ones and decided to keep only those. It was about 20 plants. When they were big enough I gave away some of them - 20 was still too many.

Streptocarpus blue flowers .jpg

And then they started to bloom!
And even single one of them was different. It was quite amazing to see the colours and different shapes of petals. Some of them were completely different than the two parents. I knew they wont be the same - it is a normal thing when you cross some plants. I just didn't know what to expect.

During all that time I was struggling to keep them healthy. They were looking better during the winter time, but in summer the leaves were getting weird spots, didn't want to bloom and they were looking just miserable.
On top of that it was a constant battle with mealybugs and nothing seemed to be working for a longer time.

On the photo below and the first one is one of the parent plants.

Streptocarpus harlequin 2.jpg

So it was a time to make a decision to simply get rid of them. Growing plants should be a pleasure and it should be a joy taking care of them.
They weren't giving me any of that (except the occasional few flowers that I did like).
I still felt a bit bad just throwing them away to the bin. I got rind of the worst looking ones first. The ones that were almost dead anyway.
Few days later the rest followed. There was just no point keeping any.
The last one, that I somehow skipped before went to the garbage yesterday.

Sure, the flowers were lovely! I went to look for some photos I still have from the time they did bloom.

Streptocarpus cherry flower 1.jpg

Streptocarpus cherry flower 2.jpg

Streptocarpus yellow flower.jpg

Now that I look at the empty space after the plants I feel relieved. And I have space for something that will give me joy :)

Streptocarpus purple bud.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

aw! Streptos are forest plants although they are tough, they aren't happy unless they are somewhere cool and out of the sun. I bought a bad buggy one from the guys at the garbage dump and it's doing well now but they really hate the sun and heat

they really hate the sun and heat

You're right, that's why they are dying for me ...

I kept them out of the sun with tiles on one side. They just hate Portugal. Now I know why I could never find any in the shops. Wrong climate.
Are they not native to SA? Maybe for you it will do better.🤞

 3 years ago  

They are native but they need a summer rainfall climate, they are from the Eastern side that's why they hate Portugal, it's too dry when it is hot

A decision had to be made and I don't think that void will be left unfilled for long. They were real stunners when in full bloom and you've got all the proof of that.

Nice when in bloom. Otherwise it was a struggle.
Neeeeext :D

That's so beautiful!!!

They were :))

Hopefully the new thing brings more joy.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'm sure it will :) Thank you!

My pleasure

The photo is very nice. Beautiful plants, purple-colored.
This plant reminds me of when I was a kid in my grandfather garden.
Thankyou :)

Happy to bring some nice memories :)

Maybe it's time to start with Tillandsias?

But really sorry for those plants that had to go. Their flowers are absolutely out of this world!

Hahah teaser!! :P Maybe one day. Somehow I was never attracted to them.
Yep, I will miss the flowers. Oh well...

I know just how you feel about missing the flowers. I posted before about my wife's Bleeding Hearts Vine. Somehow the plant just dried out and died. I miss the flowers too.
IMG20210402144259.jpg

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
14

Wow, so amazing

Thanks!

In my opinion, flowers are excellent models for photos, beautiful and always available to the photographer. Beautiful flowers and beautiful photos, congratulations.

Thanks a lot :)

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 33000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 33500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Attachment is a tricky thing, but at least now you have some memories + additional empty space! 😂

The empty space is precious :D