Learn how to harvest and dry roselle or jamaican sorrel for making tea!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

image.png

Hello friends of Hive! I hope you are feeling great and that you have had a happy holiday season. In this opportunity I will explain how to harvest and process the Roselle or Jamaican sorrel for the preparation of hot or cold infusions.

First of all, the most important thing is to harvest the calyxes when they have matured sufficiently. This will be 1 to 2 weeks after the flower opens, it should be a deep red color and be firm, if it is too soft you have to wait a little longer.

image.png

To collect them you will only need a strong gardening scissors, because the stems of the calyxes are hard. When you have all, or the desired amount, proceed to separate the red part of the seed capsule, which is inside.

image.png
When calyxes look like this, they are ready to harvest

image.png
Cut them with scissors

image.png
They must be this intense colour

We will remove as much as we can and the rest we will discard. Although if you want to save some seeds just choose the capsules with the best size and the ones with a less green tone and let them dry completely.

image.png

image.png
Calyxes and seed pods

image.png
Dry seed pod with seeds ready to sow!

When you have removed all the seed capsules from the calyxes, place them in a tray well spread out and leave them in a cool, ventilated place for a few days, until they are completely dry. After that you can store them in a glass jar in your pantry or cupboard.

image.png

image.png

Preparation of infusions

When you want to prepare Roselle drinks, you have 2 methods. The first one is to heat a cup or the amount of water you want, when it is boiling, add the flowers and turn off the stove. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

image.png

image.png

The second method is simply to soak the flowers a few hours before (it can be the night before) with cold water, it would be the same process of hot water but slower. The amount of flowers to use will depend on how concentrated you want your drink, but try not to use too much, remember that even if it is something natural, a very high concentration could be counterproductive.

And with this you can prepare whenever you want a warm or refreshing infusion of hibiscus flower! You can combine it with other things like lemon, and it will give it a delicious touch. It should be noted that in either of the 2 ways you prepare it you can take it hot or cold, it all depends on how you want to take it.

image.png

I hope you liked this post and that you dare to prepare this delicious drink, and if you grow it yourself, even better!


Gracias por leerme. | Thanks for reading.
Todas las fotos son de mi autoría. | All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Oh I love hibiscus! I often make drinks with passion fruit and a scoop of lemon/ or passion ice cream. Yummy for summer!

That sounds cool! I wouldn't have thought of mixing this with other fruits besides lemon!! very interesting!

yesss, I fall in love with all drinks mixing with hibiscus, great for summer time

Congratulations @fanyokami! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 25

Hi @fanyokami, excellent post. For sure the flavor of these flowers is very intense and the nutritional properties are even more accentuated. Very good crop. Thanks for sharing it on the platform. Greetings.

Thanks to you for reading and supporting my post! It took me some time to finish because I wanted to be keen on the details about this amazing plant!! I'm glad you enjoyed it!!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!
Find our community here

DiscordIICuration Trail

thanks for the support!!!

 2 years ago  

Nice! I have no idea that it can be made into tea. ^_^

yeah! You can even make mermelade with it!!

 2 years ago  

It looks amazing, I think I am going to love this, my problem is how am I going to get some dry roselle here in my country. Greetings from the Philippines!

I'm sure somewhere somebody plants roselle or maybe you can look for the seeds on a plant nursery! Good luck with it!! I hope you can get it and thanks for reading and commenting!!

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

We love roselle hibiscus. Here in Cambodia harvest season is almost over. Only few flowers on our plants left but we got a few jars of dried roselle for tea for the coming months. Have a beautiful day and enjoy your roselle tea.

wow that's great!! here I wasn't able to pick up too many because leafcutter ants took away everything when the plants were starting to bloom. they are recovered now and hopefully this time they won't eat everything! thanks for reading

 2 years ago  

I find it so sweet to drink - but I love the flower. It's amazing the bright colour it turns the water!

yes!!! I love its lightly acid taste and it is really nice to the view 🤩

You inspired me to check in your jar where the dried hibiscus flowers lie and look for seeds there.

hahaha I heard of a neighbor who found a roselle with seeds in a bag of dried calyxes he bought, so you migth find it too!!

I have found seeds in dried cups many times, I just did not attach any importance to this. Now you really need to try