The Flicker Haven Farm Files-And So It Begins, Lavender Harvest Time!

in HiveGarden2 years ago


IMG_6334.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


It's that time again!


Time for one of my favorite homestead harvest jobs, cutting lavender!

IMG_6333.jpg

The lavender harvest takes place in two stages on the farm. The first phase is bud harvesting. If you want lavender for tea, baked goods, cooking, crafts, etc., then harvesting in bud stage is the thing to do.

What do I mean by bud stage? Well, right when the very first flower opens on a plant, right before the whole plant begins to bloom out, is the optimal time to harvest lavender for hanging. That way the buds stay on the stems and dry nicely.

Also, if you harvest before about 10AM in the morning, more of that lovely lavender fragrance sticks around (evaporation of volatile oils is a thing).

So, what that all means is for the past few mornings I have been out at dawn hacking lavender off of the plants.

Like I said though, there are far worse jobs.

IMG_6339.jpg

Plus, I adore the farm early in the morning. Strolling out to the North Pasture with whatever random pets who choose to accompany me is pretty great. Living in the country has perks.

One of those perks is that you can be clad in clothing that would probably come close to getting you institutionalized, or at the very least raise and eyebrow.

paw divider transparent.png

It was super humid yesterday so I had on the coolest (literally) trapeze dress, my trusty (and sadly falling apart) John Deere hat, and my rose gold headphones, because listening to self-development podcasts while cutting lavender is the greatest thing ever.

And since the hubs mowed the North Pasture with the brush hog recently, I had the best setting ever! Look at this view:

IMG_6338.jpg

This view was not as enticing, but cats gonna cat (I spared you all the cat butt flashing-leg raised like she was flipping you the bird pose):

IMG_6337.jpg

At least Cora posed nicely for the camera:

IMG_6336.jpg

After many years of being an absolute noob idiot and trying to rubber band the lavender after cutting big trays of it (tangle city!), I got learnt and started rubber-banding my bundles as I go. With all the rain we have had this year, the lavender bushes are packed with flowers! Like, I was averaging 3-4 bundles per plant rather than the standard two. A smile was definitely pasted to my face.

Cutting and bundling lavender is a bit of a time-consuming job though, it takes me about an hour to cut and bundle a respectable sized tray, but honestly, I don't mind. I am pretty sure it is the serenity-inducing fragrance of the lavender that has something to do with my chill vibe.

IMG_6341.jpg

This year most of the bud harvest is going to my daughter for her FFA SAE project. SAE stands for Supervised Agricultura Experience, and my child decided to go all entrepreneurial and do a project with the lavender. I might be proud.

She plans on making added-value products with the buds and selling them at local farmers markets. I hope it goes well for her, and I am pretty excited to see how she does with the project.

paw divider transparent.png

Which leads me to part two of lavender harvesting, the hydrosol and essential oil extraction part. To make those two products lavender needs to be fully bloomed out. I love that because for years I just harvested the buds and it felt sorta deflating to not see the plants in full bloom, now I get to leave over half of the three hundred plus plants to do what Nature intended for them to do, bloom out in a display of glory.

Plus, my little pollinator friends really dig the whole blooming of an entire field of lavender thing and I love content pollinators!

IMG_6375.jpg

After cutting and bundling lavender for a bit each morning, I come back to the house and hang the stuff. This year I am having my kiddo hang the bundles, and she did a pretty good job streaming them out across the school room on baling twine. I love baling twine.

IMG_6376 (1).jpg

After a couple of weeks in their well-vented and out of direct sunlight drying location, the lavender will be nice and dry and ready to be stripped and sifted. Which if I am honest is my least favorite part of harvest because it is dusty and super tedious work, lots of sneezing involved.

But, this time I have lots of help in the form of a very ambitious, business-minded teen.

It's looking to be a glorious harvest indeed!!

paw divider transparent.png

And on that note I better get off my flintlocks and into the out, there's chorin to do! Also, in the next couple days I have a lavender drink recipe post that I will share with you all, it's top notch!

paw divider transparent.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's rather fragrant and never truly insolent iPhone. The text divider image was made in Canva.


Sort:  

So much Lavender!

It truly is a fair bit and sometimes it feels overwhelming to get it all harvested in the short time I have to get it done.

But it smells so nice so it's worth it lol!

!CTP

!PIZZA

As much as I love Lavender, too much gives me a migraine!

I gotta say something, so...

Wow.

That is a first for me.

Cool.

You never seize to amaze me and give me an education.

Was that a poker table?

!BBH

!ALIVE

!CTP

Aww, my friend, you always make me smile!

That is a game table my hubs made for game nights. Its got built in LED lighting, dice trays, drink holders, the list goes on. I did a post about it awhile back as it's a work in progress, but it's super awesome! I'll find it and link it at some point! I promise!

!CTP

!PIZZA

Sound great 😀

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (9/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Well, this explains your zen-like state during bowling. You were using performance-enhancing herbs!

I didn't inhale....

😁

!PIZZA

Thanks for showing us a few steps in the process of harvesting. It will be interesting to see what all you do with the Lavender.
!PIZZA

Thank you for such an awesome comment! I can't wait to craft a bunch of stuff to share with ya'll!

!CTP

!PIZZA

Wow, I can smell it while watching the photos, lavender is such a great plant and happy that some of them can stay for our little flying friends. I had one lavender dying this year in the garden, have no clue why :-( two are still alive. It's just hard to get those normal lavender plants, at the moment everywhere they only sell the lavender with the big fat bloom, you know what I mean? They never have the same smell.

Oh! I hate it when plants die. I mean, I know that everything does at some point, but I'm always wondering whether it was the plant's time or if it needed an intervention to thrive.

And yes, I do know what you mean, I think. It sounds like you have tons of Lavendula Stoechas around, AKA Spanish Lavender. All of mine are Lavendula Augustifolia which are the super fragrant English cultivars and there are also the Lavandins (French lavender) which are super fragrant too.

Hope that plant of yours perks back up! Thank you so much for stopping by!

!PIZZA

!CTP

Oh, I so much love Lavender ... its smell is so calming! Can´t wait to see your blog about Lavender drinks!

Morning:) As soon as I finish answering all these lovely replies I will get to work on the drink post! Yesterday I took the day off and spent all day in the garden harvesting garlic, planting potatoes, and even sent my son to pick up pizza. I love mental health days lol! Hope you are having fantastic day yourself😊

!PIZZA

!CTP

I never knew how lavender was harvested before. My knowledge was based on see huge lavender fields in France as the Tour de France rode by. Thanks for sharing.

Oh that sounds like a fun place to get lavender knowledge though! I've long dreamed of traveling to the lavender fields of Provence. They have gigantic machines that harvest the blooms. Would love to see that!

Thanks for stopping by!!

!CTP

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

you can be clad in clothing that would probably come close to getting you institutionalized, or at the very least raise and eyebrow.

Haha why don't we have a selfie of said outfit? I love wearing what I want in garden.

I can just SMELL that lavender... how divine. I dry it to smoke my bees as well as for myself. Looking forward to this drink recipe!!💚

Okay, I will throw out a farm attire selfie at some point, lol, I promise!

And I absolutely adore that you use it to smoke your bees! That's beyond amazing and such a marvelous idea!! Talk about super chill buzzers lol lol! I use the stems for fire starter in my wood stove and throw them on the bbq when I am grilling things, so I totally love hearing of other great lavender ideas! AWESOME!

Drink recipe incoming! I've really been enjoying the concoction I whipped up during our hot summer weather!

Thanks for stopping by!

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

I have learned something today about lavender, I never thought that lavender can be used on a tea.

It makes the absolute best tea! Especially if you are feeling a bit stressed, super calming!

Thanks for stopping by:)

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

Wow! You've been busy. Glad you have an ambitious harvesting partner to help you. The photos are great.
!ALIVE
!CTP

Yes, super ambitious lol! And incredibly busy, but I like that too lol! Hope you are having a super lovely summer😊

!CTP

!PIZZA

Yes, it's been a very nice summer so far, thank you, @generikat! 😀 Happy Sunday!

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

Great bundle work!

Thank you so much @mypathtofire!

!CTP

!PIZZA

it makes me want to go and bundle my neighbors lavender! !LOL

Thanks for sharing the process, @generikat. I learned a lot from your post.
I always thought lavender just came in a bottle, lol

Well, a lot of really cool things come in a bottle lol lol!

This next week we will be distilling essential oil from the lavender so bottled it shall be!

Thanks for stopping by @beststart!

!CTP

!PIZZA

WOW WOW WOW

Loving those Lavender shots and always blown away by your content.

@generikat
!WINE

Thanks a bunch @jimmy.adames! I love it when you drop by with one of your most awesome comments! And vino too! Thank ya!

!CTP

!PIZZA


Congratulations, @jimmy.adames You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @generikat.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.167


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Dear @generikat, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveSQL proposal?
It lost its funding recently and your help would be much appreciated to keep the HiveSQL service free for the Hive community.
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you for your support!

All done @arcange! Happy to support your awesome work for us all here, take care😊

Thank you for your support @generikat, really appreciate it! 😻


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aschatria ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
generikat tipped jimmy.adames (x1)
generikat tipped jacobtothe (x1)
generikat tipped ligayagardener (x1)
generikat tipped riverflows (x1)
generikat tipped beeber (x1)
generikat tipped ijat (x1)
generikat tipped bradleyarrow (x1)
ijat tipped generikat (x1)
generikat tipped beststart (x1)
generikat tipped afterglow (x1)
generikat tipped lisamgentile1961 (x1)
@generikat(13/15) tipped @mypathtofire (x1)
generikat tipped hetty-rowan (x1)
generikat tipped rcaine (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I did wonder what you did with all the lavender each year...