Around the Yard - September 16, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Kousa dogwood - fruit ripening crop Sept. 2022.jpg

In the last week the fruit on the Kousa dogwood has started to ripen. It covers the entire tree this year. Last year it only was on the south side.

Kousa fruit1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The Kousa fruit is edible and I’ve made jam from it.

Kousa fruit2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My general helper is supposed to be back next week, so maybe we will get to the fruit before it goes by.

New Herb - Row 5, swallowtail caterpillers on dill3 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

My helper friend and I were walking the gardens on Friday morning and this single surviving dill plant had 12 swallowtail caterpillars on it.

New Herb - Row 5, swallowtail caterpillers on dill1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

They were very visible in the morning sunlight, but they don’t show up much in the photos.

New Herb - Row 5, swallowtail caterpillers on dill2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Excuse the blurry photo but this shows 5 of them.

Saturday I don’t have much planned. My helper friend grated up 4½ cups of the zucchini so I hope to make 3 loaves of bread for the freezer. I gave away all the paprikas and peppers, as I didn’t need any really for the next year.

I need to finish the transcription of Remedy so I can share it with people. And there’s always plenty of Gilmore Girl episodes to watch if I get too tired.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Oh my those catepilars... just found that some have found their way into my yellow pear tomato plant... grrr... lol...
i guess we were expecting lots of bugs our first big season while we wait for the habitat to establish with pests AND good bugs... so i'll try and just pick off a few of the main offenders by hand and sacrifice some to nature... lol

never heard of that fruit at all. Its amazing the diversity in the world. I need to try more of the produce made from our native Australia bush tuckka plants.

Happy gardening

Sarah

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 150000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!