Finished Cleanout and Planted - September 20, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden2 years ago

South - finished cleanout and planted crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Spurred on by @generikat’s post a couple days back, I got going and was out in the gardens by 7:45AM on Tuesday morning. I’d also got laundry started before I went out.

My helper had gotten most of the weeds out, but like many of my helpers, did not grasp the fact that if you leave the roots to most of these, they just come back up. And many had already. So I went over this South garden again and got a half a sled of roots out.

Then I got more plants from the cold frame and planted them here. A begonia, some Canterbury Bells, an English wallflower, and an unknown plant I had bought.

South Herb - finished cleanout and planted2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Then I moved onto the South Herb garden. I’d forgotten to tell her to clean out a “moat” 6” from the edging so I got that done, plus pulled another sled’s worth of roots and prunings from this garden.

South Herb - finished cleanout and planted1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Then I planted it. I had saved several herbs over a month ago to go in here, but they had all died. So flowers it was. I selected annuals for in here as I hope to plant more herbs next year. There were portulacas, begonias, English wallflowers, and Canterbury bells. The Canterbury bells are biennials and probably won’t make it through the winter.

We’d had a lot more rain on Monday night and got even more on Tuesday afternoon. In the last 3 weeks we’ve gotten nearly 9” of rain according to the rain gauge. There’s more due on Thursday.

New West - planted more crop Sept. 2022.jpg

In the New West garden, in an effort to empty the cold frame, I planted lobelia, an English wallflower, and another unknown plant I had bought.

West Herb - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I have 6 gardens around the house left to do. This is the next one, the West Herb garden.

West - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Next to it is the West garden, a flowerbed.

New North - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Around the corner from that is the New North garden.

North Corner - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On the other side of the back steps is the North Corner garden. You’d never know my backup helper had this half weeded a month or more ago.

Old North - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Around the corner is the Old North garden.

East Shed - weedy mess crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Across from that is the East Shed garden. This one’s not quite so bad because my helper friend went after some of the weeds last Friday.

So I have my work cut out for me this autumn, and this is just the house gardens. There’s (7) 14’ fence gardens in dire need, plus the 3 under the remaining trees, and the rose beds and lilacs. But the forecast is for cool days for the next week or so, so hopefully by the end of next week, I can get the house gardens done.

There’s still a half tray of plants, snapdragons and Sweet Williams, left in the cold frame. They can go into the gardens as I clean them out. Just emptying the cold frame is a big deal as most years I never get it all planted.

So I had finished about 11:30 and got a shower and was on the couch napping and watching Gilmore Girls. My husband’s cousin and husband were over from Vienna and they called and wanted to stop by. They arrived mid afternoon and got the grand tour. It was a lovely visit.

Supper and back on the couch but I was falling asleep by 7:45PM so I went to bed.

On Wednesday Tom will be here and he’s taking the truck in for a tranny inspection at noon. I hope to be back out early and tackling the West Herb.

My contractor for the wood shed is back and will be out on Friday to see what he needs for materials. He says lumber prices have dropped to nearly pre-covid levels. So work should resume on the shed shortly.

Sort:  

Great work, spend a lot of time in the garden, keep planting for the empowerment of nature. 👍

I love all those beds, everything looks so splendid. And I too, had to take my own advice here a bit ago, as I also went back to the gym to start lifting this week along with all the busyness of fall harvest and homestead winter readiness, and well, I wanted to take a nap instead of writing, but I got 'er done!

And you did too, I am so glad that you did, I always love seeing what you are too back yonder😊

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @goldenoakfarm (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!