The New Herb Garden - September 16, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden2 years ago

New Herb crop Sept. 2022.jpg

With the 7.5” of rain we’ve gotten in the last couple weeks, the New Herb garden has really come into its own. The colors are lovely, and my camera isn’t very good at capturing them (but maybe it’s the operator…).

I’m going to work down it row by row with highlights as I find them.

New Herb - Row 1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 1

Joe Pye weed
Roman wormwood
Parsley (died)
Butterflyweed
Elecampane
Austragalus
Woad
Pyrethrum
Wormwood

New Herb - Row 1, Joe Pye weed crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The Joe Pye weed had done very well here. It’s also planted in the South Herb garden and we uncovered it from the weeds on Thursday. That one is pretty sad.

New Herb - Row 1, Roman wormwood crop Sept. 2022.jpg

This Roman wormwood really loves this place and is doing so well. I am so pleased as it’s a very hard to find herb.

New Herb - Row 2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 2

Anise hyssop
My fairy my husband gave me many years ago
Chicory (all died)
Sweet Annie (all died)
Boneset
Portulaca
Soapwort
Tulsi basil
Blue flax
Santolina (all died)
Marigolds
Tansy

New Herb - Row 2, boneset, Tulsi basil, soapwort crop Sept. 2022.jpg

This is my first year growing boneset, but the 3rd I think for Tulsi basil. The Tulsi loves any place I’ve put it in this garden. There’s also portulaca and soapwort between the Tulsi and boneset.

New Herb - Row 2, blue flax, Tulsi basil crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On the other side of the Tulsi is the blue flax. It has the loveliest blue color in the morning, but I’ve not yet caught it well.

New Herb - Row 3 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 3

Root Beer or Sunset hyssop
French tarragon
Chamomile
Heliotrope
Root Beer or Sunset hyssop
Sorrel
Balsam
Borage
Spearmint
Honesty (died)
Yellow Toothache plant
Red bee balm
Lavender bee balm
Birdbath
Salad burnet

New Herb - Row 3, yellow toothache, hoary allyssum, borage, spearmint, sorrel, balsam crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The yellow toothache has stayed in its borders mostly since the last haircut. The borage has not but I’ll leave it alone as it’s not that big. The sorrel came back excellently once we got rain. But the balsams were hard hit by the drought and the 40F temps the other night.

New Herb - Row 4 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 4

Arnica chamissonis (front left)
Arnica longifolia (supposed to be chamissonis) (front right, back of bed)
Lovage
Balsam
Tulsi basil
Baptista
Catnip
Pennyroyal
Peppermint
Pyrethrum
Balloonflower
Sweet Annie (died)
Echinacea paradoxa (gone by)
Winter savory

New Herb - Row 5 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 5

Dill
Golden purslane
Rosemary
Hyssop
Calendula
Ashwagandha
Sage
Snapdragons
Stocks
Torenia
Pineapple mint

New Herb - Row 5, stocks, snapdragons, torenia crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On the left the pineapple mint, then stocks, snapdragons, torenia. A volunteer black-eyed susan and the sage.

New Herb - Row 6, ginger crop Sept. 2022.jpg

In Row 6, in the hoophouse, it looks like only 1 ginger survived. You can see the tiny leaf near the label.

New Herb - Row 6, looking east crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 6 (shot from the other end)

Thyme
Hyssop
Chives
Parsley (died)
Lemon verbena
Rosemary
Fenugreek (died)
Lady’s mantle
Ginger

New Herb - Row 7 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Row 7

Echinacea purpurea
Lupine
Oregano
Garlic chives
Bunching onions
Marjoram
Yarrow

New Herb - looking NW crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Looking northwest

New Herb wall - birdsfoot trefoil crop Sept. 2022.jpg

Along the wall the bird’s foot trefoil I planted in the wildflower area is growing in the walkway along the wall. I hope I get a lot of seeds from it, as I’d love to have it in the wildflowers. None that I seeded there this spring came up, only in the New Herb garden.

It’s a good feeling to know this garden is in such good shape, thoroughly mulched and weeded. It will need cleaned out after frosts in November, but that should be easy.

I need to harvest the ashwagandha and Tulsi for the coming year. There are lots more I need to harvest but I don’t know if I will get to it.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

oh my!!!

now THAT is a herb garden. I thought my ginger died last season however it still came up and i got kilos of ginger out of it.

What do you use the WOAD for? My sister likes to dye yarn with woad is this the same type of woad plant. Such a lovely variety you have. Its good to see the older herbs still finding a place to be useful. They are amazing plants.

I spent the weekend repotting the herbs the oregano and thyme overshot their pots AGAIN and invaded the other areas. only takes a week or two of inattention for those to invade and root in another area. the mint i check more often as its a bugger if it gets through a bed. lol

thanks for sharing

I haven't personally used the woad, but I knew it was a dye plant and when i found it at a plant sale I got one. It does wonderfully well here.

I plan to look to see if the ginger roots are still there. I will bring them inside and put them back under lights and on a heating pad, just as they were when they went outside.

 2 years ago  

So many herbs you have in your garden Oh my goodness it is the one kind of wonderland. greetings😊