Hydroponic Garden Conditions in Early November and New Water Quality Tester - Hydroponics Weekly Journal (1 to 7 November 2022)

in HiveGardenlast year

1667798678872.jpg



Hello everyone
How are you today ? I hope and pray, always given health and happiness in living this life. Every Monday, I always try to be able to continue to participate in this community by sharing stories about my gardening activities in my hydroponic garden.

1667798678607.jpg
In early November, the condition of my hydroponic garden was very good. About 90% of the hydroponic growing media that I have I have grown with various vegetables such as pakcoy, kangkong and lettuce. I can say, hydroponic garden moments like this are the most beautiful to look at. Moreover, the pakcoy that I will harvest this Monday afternoon, it seems that I am not willing to harvest it.



Water Quality Tester Pen Digital 4 in 1 Meter
This week, I also bought a new measuring device, namely the 4 in 1 Meter digital water quality tester pen PH-3508. This Water Quality Tester can measure pH, ppm, EC, and also the temperature in the solution. In addition, the level of accuracy of this tool is better than my old measuring instrument. The PH-3508 Water Quality Tester is also equipped with a water proof feature so it is safe if it is exposed to water or falls into a tub of water.

1667798678632.jpg
1667798678653.jpg
Some of my ppm measuring instruments (TDS EC Meter) often break because I don't use them carefully. I often misplace the tool after use and make it wet from exposure to water. In addition to the waterproof and 4 in 1 Meter features, I also like the backlight feature which makes it easy to check the water content at night. The price of this Water Quality Tester is indeed much more expensive, because there is a 6 month warranty. The price is around IDR 440K (or 28 USD), but the quality is very accurate and I think the price is right.



Pakcoy's Condition in My Hydroponic Garden
I have about 650 pots of pakcoy which are now around 30 days after sowing. This Pakcoy grows very fertile and optimally. 95% of this pakcoy grows uniformly with a very dense and beautiful green leaf color. I didn't change the ppm concentration much in this pakcoy growing medium. I am using a ppm solution concentration of around 1300 – 1400 ppm for this week period.

1667798678987.jpg
1667798678968.jpg

Actually, if you take a quick look at some of my pakcoy leaves that are ready to harvest, they are slightly curled at the ends. If we don't pay attention, it won't be very visible. From the literature that I read, vegetable leaves that roll up at the ends of the leaves can be a sign that the solution in hydroponic media is acidic or the pH is below 7.

That's the reason I bought a new water quality control and checked the pH of each hydroponic medium that I planted the pakcoy, it turned out that my analysis was correct. The solutions in all the hydroponic media that I grow pakcoy are acidic with a pH of about 5 – 5.5. Therefore, I added a pH UP solution to increase the pH concentration in the media. My plan is, Monday afternoon or Tuesday morning I will harvest all these pakcoys and the next day I will immediately replace them with the pakcoy seeds that I sow.

1667798678721.jpg
1667798678911.jpg

I have prepared about 400 pakcoy seeds to replace the pakcoy that I will harvest. The pakcoy seeds that I sowed did not grow uniformly, this seems to be a factor in the declining quality of the seeds and made many of the seeds that I sowed did not grow. You can see from the photos of the seeds that I sowed. Only about 65% of the seeds can grow well and optimally.



Conditions of Kangkong in My Hydroponic Garden

1667798678289.jpg
In my hydroponic garden, I have kale with two different growing ages. The taller kangkong was 21 days after sowing and I harvested it in two days. Kangkong is a vegetable that grows very fast and is very easy to care for. The most appropriate time to harvest kangkong is at the age of 21-25 days, if we harvest too long the kangkong will taste more bitter when cooked.

1667798678934.jpg
1667798678500.jpg

In addition, I also have kangkong with the age of 8 days after sowing. This kangkong is growing well and uniformly, unfortunately I can only sow and move a few seeds of kangkong because last week I had a lot of activities. However, this week, I have also planted kangkong seeds, which are planned to replace kangkong which I will harvest in a few days. I want to ensure a good growing cycle as well as consistency in hydroponic gardening.



Conditions of Lettuce in My Hydroponic Garden

1667798678391.jpg
1667798678420.jpg

I grow lettuce on the second floor balcony of my house. I made a special place for hydroponic media, and after several times I did some testing for the various vegetables that I grew, finally the most appropriate lettuce was planted on the 2nd floor balcony. Lettuce is a vegetable that is usually grown at an altitude of 500-2000 meters above sea level. Therefore, we often find lettuce when going to the highlands.

To grow lettuce in the lowlands with a hydroponic system, we must make the media location not too much exposed to sunlight. Optimally in the lowlands, lettuce only needs 4-6 sunlight. Therefore, the position of the balcony of my house is very appropriate for growing hydroponic lettuce. The lettuce that I plant grows very fertile and optimally. We can see it from the color of the leaves and the perfect texture of the lettuce. In addition, there are no burn marks on this lettuce leaf.



Mint Leaf Condition in Hydroponic PVC Installation
I have two hydroponic installations made of PVC pipes. I grow and grow mint leaves in that Hydroponic Installation. Last week, there was a problem with the mint leaves I planted, when mine turned yellow and broke. I immediately took action and added fertilizer to this hydroponic medium.

1667798678829.jpg

In this week, my mint leaves have grown normally again. The color of the yellowed leaves has returned to green and is very beautiful. I added a hydroponic liquid fertilizer solution to the water circulation tub and for one week there was a very significant change in the mint leaves that I planted. I can't wait to harvest and sell these mint leaves. Mint leaves in my hydroponic garden, including plants that are very high commercial value. I always take good care of it and give special treatment if a problem occurs in the mint leaves that I plant.

Bitter Mustard Condition in Wall Hydroponics

1667798678309.jpg

1667798678362.jpg

I also have a hydroponic installation that I mount on my wall. In this Wall Hydroponic Installation, I grow bitter mustard for our own consumption or for our family's vegetable needs. The condition of the vegetables here is very good even though the sun's rays are a little late to enter this installation. I use a water solution with a concentration of about 1300-1400 ppm in this hydroponic bucket. It seems, next week we can consume these vegetables. Okay, here's my hydroponics journal this week. See you with my story next week. Happy Farmers, Happy Gardening.


About Author


Call me Isdarmady, because I have a full name that is very long, namely Isdarmady Syahputra Ritonga. I am a head of the family who work as Farmers Vegetables Hydroponic and Consultant Hydroponics, sometimes I also sell coffee from various regions in Indonesia.
I have expertise dispensing coffee with a variety of techniques and tools brewing, because I have the desire to make a coffee shop with hydroponics as centerpieces. Help me realize that dream.

Thanks for read, vote, re-blog and support me in Hive. Maybe god will reward the kindness, let’s success together.

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1590024355421224960 twitter metadata:OTA1ODY2OTcxMTU3MjE3MjgwfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzkwNTg2Njk3MTE1NzIxNzI4MC9zdGF0dXMvMTU5MDAyNDM1NTQyMTIyNDk2MHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd, @mcoinz79 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

The garden looks so amazing thanks for sharing.

 last year  

thank you for stopping by @olamummy
I am very happy to be able to provide inspirational and informative content for you

Hi there, @isdarmady. 😃 You have come a long way with your hydroponic gardening. I love how green and fresh your lettuce and pakcoy look. Do you sell some of these vegetables when you harvest them? I wish I can learn how to start a hydroponic garden. This is nice work. Thanks for sharing. 😊😊

 last year  

hello @ladytitan thank you for stopping by, I'm so glad you came to my blog.
Of course, I sell the vegetables I harvest. The price is also very good and makes the vacant land in my house productive.

I'm so happy to hear that people can be interested in growing vegetables from my posts. That's my goal, I want to provide information and inspiration to people. If I can do it, my friends can too.

 last year  

You have created an impressive garden @isdarmady making excellent use of every free space! Your plants look healthy and I am glad that you could overcome the problem with the mints especially since they have high value for you. Best of luck with everything!

 last year  

hello @traisto thank you for stopping by, I think you understand my point, I want to take advantage of the free space in my house and make it more productive.
Thanks again, and best of luck to you.

 last year  

And you have definitely done a great work @isdarmady! Wish you all the best!

Congratulations @isdarmady! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!