This is how I made my soil bed for my peppers.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

image.png

Hello, I hope you are very well.

Well, I wanted to show you how I did these days to create a small earthen bench to plant some peppers, and although it is not a very big one, it will honestly help me to continue growing some fruits at home.

All this because the soil at home is not so good, so I decided to bring a better treated soil, and that also can provide better nutrients to the plants, instead of the one at home, and has many plastics and stones.


The first thing that came to my mind was to get boards high enough to be able to fill the space required by the plants, but that would not be possible, as I did not have any, besides, buying them would not be so cheap.

So I decided to use clay blocks as a barrier. These also have a suitable height for paprika plants, so it was almost ideal for this kind of idea that had come to my mind.

image.png


Already at this point, I just decided this place in the little space I have left, as it is almost flat, but above all, the plants will receive enough sun, and it will be easily accessible for watering, in case it does not rain and then I can water manually.

Then, I had to move this ground space a bit.

The truth is that I had to replant the place, because it had a lot of clumps that made it difficult to level, so I moved it with a pickaxe.

image.png


Once removed, I had to have a tarp placed underneath where the soil would go.

What was the reason? Well, now there is a proliferation of bugs that eat the roots of the plants, causing them to die. Here is a picture of one that I found dead due to the heavy rain we have been experiencing.

image.png


The tarpaulin then prevents them from digging under the tarpaulin to some extent, and then eating the plant.

Of course, these animals have the ability to dig, walk, and even fly, so the tarp is not so safe either, but that's the way it is.

image.png


Of course, I had to open some pretty small holes in the tarp so that the water could drain out and not flood the place.

image.png


And that's how it turned out!

Well, it's practically smaller than I had planned, and that's not how I imagined it, but I'm pretty sure it will give good results of its own. Besides, I didn't have so many blocks to make it bigger, so it will be for another occasion.

image.png


Then I began to fill with black soil, with organic substrate, as I mentioned, it was quite difficult to get it, but it was necessary, because I would not do anything using the soil that is here and has had a bad use, besides having liquids that harm the plants.

image.png


Then I replanted the soil and let it be well leveled to then move on to the transplanting part, since we are already in the ideal moon to do it.

This is how it looked.

image.png


How much do I like to plant? Well, a lot really. And it's more than strange to know that I don't like eating paprika so much, and it's not because I don't like it, but I enjoy planting more.

Now I just have to wait a few weeks for them to start to grow and then bear fruit. This will be in approximately

Well, here is the work done, about 10 seedlings planted for now, and well that for now, because in the future I hope to open more and much more seedlings, I feel it is more than necessary in these critical times.

Well friends, I hope you are very well. I send you again my greetings.

image.png

Sort:  

Awesome - I also used bricks like that to create makeshift raised beds. I even made a keyhole bed :-) This is great thank you :-) 💚

 2 years ago  

Love the bed and the soil, good luck with your Paprika. Greetings from the Philippines!

Hi buddy. Thanks, well I hope to. Thanks for you comment, greetings from Venezuela 🇻🇪

 2 years ago  

YOu're welcome (^_^)

Build the garden of information 🌱👩‍🌾👨‍🌾

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ismaelrd04.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

Adobe_Express_20220810_0933420_1.png

You've been curated by @gardenhive on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY, home of the #gardenjournal challenge. We support all kinds of garden and plant related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome!

Me encanto tu proceso para sembrar pimientos, no se me había ocurrido esta idea, esta planta es un poco delicada yo he tratado de sembrar pero se me mueren en el crecimiento, trataré de hacerlo así elevado tal vez sea mejor para este tipo de plantas, gracias por compartir 🤗

I loved your process of planting peppers, I had not come up with this idea, this plant is a little delicate I have tried to plant but they are dying in growth, I will try to make it that high maybe it is better for this type of plant, thank you for sharing 🤗