Cultivating The Land Plus Planting Equals Harvesting.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_20220925_190313.JPG

It's raining hard in our place now due to the typhoon Karding. What a gloomy weather we're experiencing, and I hope no one will lose his or her life in this crisis. It's not good to talk about the storm now since it's making me sad again.

To skip it, let's talk about how my days went before the storm. As usual, I've been active again in our small garden beside our farm. Most of the time I'm just with my cousin, but this time grandma accompanied me to do something that made us really happy. Aside from that, I was jumping in joy to see her in a better state after her trials for the past week.

So what did we do before the storm hit our place? Well, the three of us went to our garden again to harvest our peanuts. When I went to see it the other day, I noticed that the leaves were already turning brown, which means it's very matured already and it's only a matter of time before it will turn to waste. I asked my cousin to take photos for me while we did our thing.

Screenshot_20220925_171822.png

I'm the one who's digging the soil since I can't let my grandma do it. As you can see from the photo above, the soil was not dry because it rained last Friday night. With that condition of the soil, the process of digging is so easy. I only exerted a little effort when I did it.

Screenshot_20220925_172131.png

Screenshot_20220925_172232.png

You may notice that I don't wear gloves when performing that process. Well, here in the province, there's no need for it because all of the people here are used to it. It can be washed afterwards anyway. This process may take a while since you need to be careful not to damage the crops. Some of the peanuts are easily extracted, but I decided to dig around it to get all of the nuts.

IMG_20220925_191156.JPG

Oh, I forgot to mention that we're not only three, by the way, we're five who went there. Together with us, two of my dogs accompanied us and stayed with us till the end. One of my dogs just sat there beside me and my grandmother. While the other was already dozing in the peanuts,He got bored afterwards, so he slept in the grass beside our garden.

As I was saying earlier, their leaves were already brown or close to it. With that state, I assumed that the nuts were already mature enough and maybe some of them had already sprouted. When we dug out the rest of the nuts, what I assumed turned out to be true. Look at the photo below. Some of them have already developed their roots and some of them already have leaves.

Screenshot_20220925_172428.png

Screenshot_20220925_172335.png

After we finished harvesting all the peanuts, I decided to cultivate the area again, preparing for another set of peanuts to be grown. I dig the soil using my large knife again or a bolo. After it, I began to dig not too deep where I would plant the next batch. I only put four to five pieces in it, then I covered it with the rest of the soil. In just a week or so, for sure, I will see them breaking out in that dark spot of the soil.

Screenshot_20220925_171508.png

This is all of the peanuts we harvested, and actually I forgot to take a picture of it first before boiling some of it as a snack.. haha.

Screenshot_20220925_192210.png

Aside from harvesting and planting the next batch of peanuts, we also harvested cassava. What I thought again was that we couldn't harvest big ones since their stems were not that tall and thick, but I was wrong again.

Screenshot_20220925_171637.png

When checking on them, I was really surprised to see how big they were already. I harvested mostly three pieces of this size from one stem of its tree. I'm sure it will grow even bigger, but the quality will be lessened, of course. We don't want that, so I decided to harvest it anyway. The only problem with harvesting like this one is that it can be found deeper than you thought. But I can say that my effort in digging those holes in the deep part was worth it.

Screenshot_20220925_171555.png

When we got home, we boiled some of it as well as our snack, and here it is. The weather that day was a little bit cold in the afternoon, so it was perfect with a coffee. just like what I did.

All in all, we had fun cultivating, planting, and harvesting once more. What I can say is that when you plant good seeds, you can harvest good products in the end.

Thank you for reading this, friends.

Sort:  

!discovery 30


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jhero22 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Uwuuu, Jherome the best farmer in the house. Woah you did a very good job to gathered all of them, and its seems like others sprouted already and because of the moisture content of the soil. I was amazed how you handle it quickly if you were late maybe all of the pods already been germinated hehe.

Nice one Jher, keep still some seeds, for the next season again.

 2 years ago  

I'm very far and not yet near to that best farmer po hehe. I'm on the process to become one, a certified farmer.
Yes they are sir and if we didn't yet harvest it any longer, I'm sure we didn't have anything to gather at all. They were just so easy to sprout really.

I already kept a lot sir and I'm planning to plant also the remaining portion of our garden when the storm will pass.

Dear @jhero22,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

 2 years ago  

Hello there @arcange . I already casted my support for that just now and just read some of it. Will watch the video later on because my net just came back.. thanks.😊
Goodluck to your campaign and wishing you success all through out.

Thank you for your support @jhero22, really appreciate it! 👍


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Daming peanuts Jhe!😍 I'm curios duon sa color red. is it also a peanut?

 2 years ago  

The one with the roots po ate? Yes po they are peanut also but they already sprouted. Ready to plant na mga iyan .😊

Jhe, you are such an expert in gardening stuff. I also do not use gloves when gardening, well just for small plants. Those 4-legged creatures are so cutie!
Ahh~ stay safe, Jhe! take care always!

 2 years ago  

As they said Ilokano's are not that maarte when it comes to things like this diba po Ji😁..
I can't agree more on that one. They're loyal also that's why I really loved them.

To you also @jijisaurart. Keep safe.

Cassava lang akin.hehe. sarap iluto sa gata with sugar 😊

 2 years ago  

Ay why not po miss @jane1289. hehe Lola wants it that way kaso kamahal ng asukal ay kinape nalang namin 😅. Mabigat pa sa tiyan.

Wow! you're so good in gardening and farming @jhero22. Im happy to see your grandma being active in gardening too. It is her simple yet good exercise.

Oh the peanuts are so mature that some of them are growing. Its good too kasi when you plant it,madali na ding mabuhay.

Sarap naman you have a lot of harvest and have a free fresh merienda.

 2 years ago  

It's in my blood na ate hihi plus I really enjoy doing these things. Yes po , she's active in gardening also and have a lot of plants here especially those bougies.

It really does ate. Those were the ones we planted already and it's just a matter of time, maybe days lang not week, they will grown and get out from their holes na. The perks of living here in the province po 😊

Bougies? what is that?

 2 years ago  

Bougainvilleas po ate. Gradma's a plantita afterall.hehe.
Just like today, she brought inside her plants incase it will flood. Last time, a lot of her plants were washed away.huhu.

Aw okay hahaha.. Im not a plantita when it comes to flower kasi hahaha kasi mas prefer ko magtanim ng gulay hehehe... concern din sya sa mga flowers nya..

Bougies? what is that?

Woahh! Anlaki ng mga cassava, noon nagtanim kami super anliliit ng naharvest namin HAHA, those peanuts are perfect as a snack to the point na di ka titigil na kakain, char. I hope you will also have a lot to harvest next time !

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

They cab grow bigger than that but it will taste like a wood na. Kaya naharvest na din. Sometimes we can't avoid to have small and thin crops when it comes to cassavas kasi based on my years of planting it, the soil has to do with the product talaga.
Totoong totoo yan about sa peanut haha. I eat a lot when I do a review before when I'm still studying..

Thanks for the pizza.😊

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jpatrick28(1/5) tipped @jhero22 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Yung cassava nakakamiss. By the way, kahoy (hindi yung galing sa puno) ang tawag nito sa'min.

 2 years ago  

Kahoy din tawag namin dito.😊. In other areas they called it kamoteng kahoy. Cravings yarn...

Cassava's one of the staple food that we have here each time that I am hungry and there's an available. Boil it in coconut cream and then with some sugar as a dip katalo na yan for peanuts naman not a fan.

I have witnessed harvesting them multiple times since I moved here in the province and I can say that it is hard because I tried it too! Especially those who have took roots to the sand I needed to exert much effort and I am not used to that. HAHAHHAHA sariling bangko lang ang kaya kong buhatin

Glad that lola is okay hopefully she will be in good shape in the future.

Stay safe there brotha!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Ohh I'm glad to know that you're into cassava po also. It's heavy in our stomach so it's just so perfect. Boil Boil lang may kakainin kana.

Hahaha, it's really fun to harvest this crop especially that one you said po. Sometimes when you dig it and it's deep, you will not know how long it is and you thought it can be pulled already but it's not haha, ayaw ba naman pabunot.

Hoping for that also po. She's energetic again and she wants to do all sort of things again but I said no for now..Ako muna kako po. Mahirap na.

You there din po.😊

Congratulations @jhero22! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Wow. We reap what we sow. It pays to be hard working.

Wow! This is life! Gusto jud ko mag farming...where are you in Philippines?

Whoa! It looks fun to be digging those peanuts! It reminded me of a time when we visited my cousins in the lowlands and we experienced harvesting some peanuts. It was fun!

I've never personally seen cassava being harvested. I wonder how they bear produce. I always thought they are so deep but looking at your photo, they seem not.

 2 years ago  

I really enjoyed digging those nuts in the soil po . Especially if there's a bunch of them in those 3 to four stems. It makes me jump in joy.

Oh what we dig last time were not that very deep because the soil is just perfect to the cassava plus there's a technique in planting for their crops later on will not be that deep.

Always nice to harvest the fruits of our own labor. And it's cool that you know a lot about cassava :)

 2 years ago  

We've been planting since I was a kid po and it became my snack whenever I went to school before. Plus we always have cassava because it's already a tradition every November, all souls day to make something especially from cassava.

No wonder you are very familiar about them :) Naimagine ko tuloy cassava cake :)