A Hello and an Update!

in HiveGarden โ€ข 3 years ago

Hello HiveGarden!

I've been looking for a gardening community for a while and I'm so glad I saw this pop up in my feed last night โ€” subscribed instantly. ๐Ÿ™‚๐ŸŒฟ

header.jpg

I'm a new gardener, having only started my garden in early March this year. I live in a region where I can grow most things all year 'round, so that's very welcome. It gives me plenty of time to learn, make mistakes, and try again. ๐Ÿ˜…

My partner is a woodworker who built me a couple of planters once I expressed my interest in trying to start my own little veggie garden, but I'm looking forward to when we one day own property and I can have proper garden beds! Probably a long time in the future at this rate, haha.

basiltomato.jpg

In this planter I have roma tomatoes growing at the back and basil growing at the front. Over the past month I've had pest problems and I think things are finally getting better.

The basil leaves were so sad and holey, but they seem to be perking back up now!

basil.jpg

I've always been told that when basil leaves "canoe" they're not getting enough water... I can assure you that mine are getting enough water! And I have no idea why the leaves are canoeing upward. But I do know that a mere fortnight ago they were pest-holey, and now they are much better! ๐Ÿ˜

Maybe they're just getting too much sun.

otherplanter.jpg

In this planter I have silverbeet, brocolli, one lonely onion, and some carrots. ๐Ÿ™‚

The silverbeet, like the basil, had been badly attacked by pests.

silverbeet.jpg

I had these three there originally, but I've literally just taken out the other two and have re-sown some seeds, hoping that the new ones will fare better than the old ones.

silverbeetmore.jpg

Thankfully that one remaining silverbeet is perking back up after my pest issues. ๐Ÿ˜… Here's hoping I can keep the pests away.

I'm also growing some spring onion and garlic chives. I've tried growing garlic chives several times before as just a kitchen windowsill herb but I've always failed. They've always withered and died by the time they grew to about 2-3inches in height.

At the moment my chives are that height and not getting any taller... but they haven't withered and died yet, so that's a positive. ๐Ÿ˜Š

chivesonion.jpg

And that's my little garden so far!

Those carrots should be ready to harvest in a couple of weeks and I'm looking forward to seeing how they turned out! And if they're even edible. ๐Ÿ˜… Hopefully I've done okay.

This is all a new experience for me and I'm learning as everything happens. I'm very muchly looking forward to hanging around this community and witnessing everyone's gardens and deducing tips and tricks! ๐Ÿ˜

Nice to meet you all! ๐Ÿ‘‹

ย 


ย 

All photos in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and my newb-garden.

Sort: ย 

I am glad you found the hivegarden community. I am wondering if basil is much like cannabis and too much water may make the leaves "taco". Maybe give them a few days to dry out?

Cheers! I've been looking for a garden community for a while, but found all the other ones instead. ๐Ÿ˜… While they're nice and all, they weren't about just flowers/vegetables, so this is great!

The basil isn't getting too much water either, I'm really not sure what's going on with them. Basil is the one thing I've managed to grow successfully before, in a pot a couple of years ago, and it was beautiful, big and bushy and delicious in my pasta sauces. That one was sweet-basil; this one is large-leaf basil. The other one, when the leaves acted like this I'd give it some extra water and they were big and floppy again within a few minutes -- these ones never change no matter what.

I guess we'll just have to see how it goes!

ย 3 years agoย ย 

I've never grown basil, so I have no words of wisdom for you...
Perhaps you could get a soil testing kit and test the PH level of the soil in your container. Some plants are picky about PH and nutrient balance.

Thanks for the idea! ๐Ÿ˜Š I didn't think of testing the ph levels.

ย 3 years agoย ย 

I like your planter boxes, they look like they're big enough to plant most things into.

They are pretty big! My partner did a good job building them... I wouldn't mind some more soon, to grow a few more things. ๐Ÿ˜

Its pleasure for me to see you here with your update and hope to see you continue posting here so that we can learn something from you and your gardening

Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I'll be posting fairly regularly... I'm not sure anyone can learn anything from me though -- I'm still learning myself!! ๐Ÿ˜