What's New in my Newbie Garden

in HiveGarden3 years ago

header.png

Today I'm struggling emotionally after taking a test that I'm certain I've failed. After years of being an unemployed stay at home parent and struggling to re-enter the workforce after my extended leave of absence whilst being older than cheap, fresh-out-of-school kids, I decided to start my own business.

That's still in the works, and I'm still looking for paid employment while in the process of getting everything ready for my own business. And for the first time in years, last week someone actually expressed interest in me, as a worker.

I was jubilant, joyous, excited. I was short-listed. I completed their English test and Computer Skills test with the greatest of ease. I was quickly scheduled for an audio transcription test.

That test was taken about an hour ago. My typing speed plummeted from a decent 90wpm to a mere 40wpm. I couldn't hear a few of the words in the audio and had to insert a few question marks. I had to keep rewinding 8 seconds at a time to catch up on missed sentences. There wasn't time allowed to go back and correct punctuation and possible errors. It's an ugly mess!!

Joy has transformed into sadness, and so, I went outside and toyed with my plants for a bit.

182027064_361141775347742_1692659815658639352_n.jpg

My carrots have been in the ground for nearly 20 days longer than recommended for a fully grown carrot. This was because when I checked them, they still looked tiny, so I gave them a little longer.

Turns out this was completely my fault. Because this is my first time growing carrots I did what I always do - put a few seeds in each hole, expecting only one seed to sprout. Except, they all sprouted. There wasn't enough room for all of them. And not one of them reached full size because of that.

At least I know for next time. But it still disappoints me. My partner is having a good laugh at it though, having shared the following photo to Facebook with the quote, "Carrot harvest has been a total success!"

200738363_10160352725981062_1200756829416739213_n.jpg

That one was the smallest of the lot; the others are at least 3inches, haha. Sigh.

206713992_404902344111864_857149563971520840_n.jpg

201772028_867518617446786_877691787715820990_n.jpg

Other than my poor carrots though, the planters are both looking good. Everything is looking healthy, thankfully, after their run-in with pests and things during the last couple of months.

The basil in particular is starting to look much healthier, compared to what it looked like last month.

208759365_1151958071949751_9027754187944531882_n.jpg

I was getting worried there for a while, fearful that there was something wrong with my basil. But it suddenly had a growth spurt and I ended up taking a few leaves today.

A couple of weeks ago, whilst worried about my Large-Leaf Basil, I decided to buy some Sweet Basil seeds and I planted them in their own pot by themselves.

201156050_956202605219278_2467710868177075893_n.jpg

They've just sprouted. Now I'm probably going to have waaaaay too much basil, but I just think of all the pasta sauces I'll be able to make once my tomatoes start popping up.

Speaking of tomatoes, more flowers have been spotted!

199430414_2301196800013062_9097010807241455466_n.jpg

So that makes me happy. Hopefully some pollination occurs and I'll have some baby tomatoes forming soon. 😊🍅 And hopefully the tomatoes are healthy and not diseased or something. I've heard a few stories about tomatoes... so hopefully all is well.

200830932_830891421184772_6935438609095659540_n.jpg

And the baby silverbeets have sprouted up now, beside their older silverbeet sibling. Hopefully these ones fare better than the last ones!

The pests seem to be under control for now... so, fingers crossed.

The brocolli seems to be flourishing as well! Those leaves really shot up in the past couple of weeks.

It all seems to be going well. I'll be growing some new carrots where the old ones were living before... this time only one seed per hole. May they fare better than the tiny things I liberated today.

It's all a learning experience. I will get better.

I guess the same can be said for life itself. It's all a learning experience. We will get better. I really hope that I didn't fail too badly though. This job would've been a lifesaver whilst getting my own business idea sorted. I guess I will find out in a couple of days.

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by! 🌿

 


 

All photos in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and my noob garden.

Sort:  

Hey @kaelci, I enjoyed reading your post…I admit I did laugh at the mini carrot photo. Honestly I am one to laugh because I too have started a garden this year and I have so much to learn. Seeing your photos reminded me of my newbie garden.

I take it as a learn as we go process. We eventually learn what works and what doesn’t and the next time around things should work out better.

My tomato plants are about the size of yours and have also sprouted some flowers…it’s so exciting.

I’m glad your garden was able to put you in a better mood. I have been a stay at home mom for 11 years and I use the skills I have acquired to help contribute to our bills.

I hope you’re able to land the job that is meant just for you ~ 😉

Take care!

Cheers! 😅

It really is a learn-as-we-go process, and the tiny carrots really were hilarious. What was funnier was after bringing the tiny carrots inside and showing my son, he ran to the computer, opened youtube and found "how to grow perfect carrot" videos 😂 "Mum! You need to watch this! You grew them wrong, this shows you how to grow them! You need to watch and learn!"

Was fantastic! He was being helpful but just the way he was exclaiming all of this... had a good laugh, haha!

I'm not really in an ideal growing season at the moment. Where I live I'm capable of growing things all year 'round, but it is Winter at the moment and things are happening a lot slower. I was surprised to see flowers on the tomatoes due to recent unexpected cold snaps, but I'm happy they're there. I need to train them up the trellis a bit better though.

Thank you so much for your comment, and I hope your newbie garden grows well too. May your tomato-flowers bloom with deliciousness!!! 🍅

Haha oh wow that is hilarious! He was trying to help his mum…so priceless!

I’m sure by next growing season you’ll be more equipped and educated to grow your plants as you desire ;)

You’re welcome, I really enjoyed reading. Thanks so much, I hope so too!

Very nice garden! I dont know much about carrots, so I would probably do the same lol

Thanks!

Yeah I had no idea xD told my partner what I had done and he just laughed. The only thing he knew about vegetables, one seed per hole, and he didn't bother telling me, lol! 😆

 3 years ago  

You should share this with the #gardenjournal tag and chuck the link under my challeng - usually at the start of the month (well, always) I run the #gardenjournal challenge which is fun!

That tiny carrot is very cute! I've never been successful at growing carrots - and they're so cheap here I can't be bothered (plus I don't really like them).

It might be a beginners garden, but you have to start somewhere, right? And you'll learn TONS as you go, and in a few years you'll be an expert! That's what's fun about it - anyone can do it, right?

Cheers! I keep seeing the #gardenjournal tag pop up, but I'm always either too early or too late whenever I do my garden posts, haha! But it's gotten to the point now where I only really need to update once a month instead of every other week like I have been -- must remember to wait for the challenge to pop up next time.

Start of the month -- I will remember! (next month!)

I love carrots and buy a $2 bag every week. Will just chomp on them raw. Nom nom. 🥕 I only have these little planters at the moment but have dreams of having a giant garden in coming years whenever we finally become home-owners rather than renters, and I will grow each and every one of those carrots rather than grabbing the bags from Woolies.

By that time I might very well be that garden expert!! 😅

I do hate those audio tests myself. I’ve taken a few and just don’t do well on them. 40 WMP in this job market is more than great to be showing.

I had some carrots that where about that size myself. I think I still got some out past there recommended date by over a month.

I’ve learned herbs will be herbs. When they die it really was just there time. Thankfully many of them are so quick to replant you can have a few “replacements” in a given season.

Great to see you are keeping up with the garden. Have a great week.

This was my first time -- I had all the requirements except for the actual experience in transcribing, but they had written in the ad that training would be provided, so I tried anyway and was chuffed when they short-listed me. But wow. I was not expecting it to be that difficult.

I was practicing for a couple of days solid using various tv programmes and was doing better than I did on the test, haha. 😅

With carrots, from what I was reading they shouldn't be left for too long or they end up tasting weird. "Woody" tasting, or something. I'm really not sure what they meant by that description, lol. Mine tasted fine at least! Small, but fine. 😁

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 10000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!