Ready to Grow Chayote!

in HiveGardenlast year
I've been busy these past few days and weeks so I'm going to shorten what I'm going to show, mostly just pictures. I hope you like and understand the sequence of pictures.

This is about my growing CHAYOTE this winter. I started it two weeks ago and didn't expect it to take root quickly.

This is how it started. Just like last year how I started, I started in the little old plastic container and waited for it to sprout.

This arbor was from last year and is still strong enough for me to use.

This is what I will use in my ARBOR instead of fiber nylon. Fishing line nylon is stronger and can last longer.

I haven't been fishing in over 2 years. First because of the Pandemic. Second, there were additional obligations and problems. However, everything will be fine, it just requires adjustment and time management.

This is what I did with the fishing line so that the CHAYOTE's grip would be strong when it crawled. I hope the branches don't break when the wind gets stronger because the fishing line is thin.

Now that everything is ready, I can start to till the ground and prepare the CHAYOTE to move to the bigger place.

This is how I started moving the CHAYOTE which had to be done slowly because its branch is soft and can be broken. I prepared the tillage before I took the CHAYOTE.

After I dug it I had to put crushed eggshells that I mixed with the soil to make fertilizer. This is what I often do whenever I plant.

This is how to transfer a CHAYOTE. Take care of the branch and its roots. Use scissors to cut the plastic vase if the soil is still wet. Otherwise, it can be removed slowly from the container.

Make sure that the entire CHAYOTE is not submerged in the ground as you can see in the picture. Because of the remaining CHAYOTE, that's where they'll get water if you don't water it and you'll notice that it will slowly dry up.

Last year I planted three CHAYOTE. Now there are only two because of the three they are competing for nutrients on the ground and I noticed it. So I preferred only two CHAYOTEs and I made sure the soil before I moved the 2 CHAYOTEs was healthy.

Now I just have to wait a month to see the results of my hard work. The tomatoes and peppers are also ready, I'm just waiting for them to grow before I move them. ^_^

Sort:  

We've just planted ours here in Gawler too. It's an amazingly tough plant!

 last year  

Nice! Nice! ^_^
Share it!

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative. Your post will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote!

Stay creative & hive on!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

 last year  


My Post Copy-2.png
Your post has been chosen by @ligayagardener for the next addition of 'The Garden Shed', a collection of archived posts by @gardenhive that feature useful gardening advice, DIY tips, homesteading tips and inspiring gardens.