Got Small Space? Check out my Container Garden.......Hive Garden Challenge - May 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

1.jpg

I never had problems with small spaces. In my former house with a garden , I only planted my veggies on the top terrace and I even used the roof to place my lettuce since there was more light and sun. My problem in the former garden was the slugs, so they never reached my top terrace. In the new flat, I only have a balcony,and it does not stop me from planting my veggies. Small space? Not a problem! I have a container garden and it's where I plant my tomatoes and others.

6.JPG

For this season, I had a wooden trellis installed so that the honeysuckle "Lonicera" could grow upwards as well as the cuke vine below, and could have something to hold onto.

2.png
This cuke is the short type. I used to harvest many in the past,,,they are lovely to see when the fruits are growing in clusters.

3.png
This sweet potato will soon have leaves and I am anxious to see how tall they can grow. We used its leaves for soups.

4.png
The flower of this blackberry (Black Satin) variety is very pretty, there are now more buds coming out. The one thing I love in this bush plant is they do not have the thorns and so it is easy to care. I planted this end of Summer last year. I am eager to see the first berry.

4a.png
This one here is the flower of the raspberry and this shrub had been a plant newbie from my old shrub

8.JPG

I am used to planting lettuce in containers. The only thing I am so concerned about is the weather because we are already entering the 2nd week of May and it is still cold at night. My other herbs like the Basil and oregano suffered from almost freezing temps. I hope they will recover.

3a.png

This Fennel here is experimental. I just soak it in water and see whether it will grow roots. On its lower side, some new leaves are now coming out. When roots develop, I need to transfer it to a pot. The lettuce also suffered from the cold weather, but I think they will make it.

9.JPG

10.JPG

The herbs have also recovered, on top is the oregano which has doubled in size and with huge leaves, this used to be so tiny when I got its pot 8 weeks ago.

The celery below is in its 2nd season and I never thought that it would grow again. It survived the winter and I was excited to see when some new leaves came out. I also have the rosemary and sometimes I pick some sprigs to spice the grilled meat.

7.JPG

Lastly, I have the young onions below...I only cut the leaves to garnish the salad, they would still grow but not as healthy as in this pic... the bulbs also become smaller, so I just discard them.

12.png

ENJOY GARDENING AND BE HAPPY!

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

All images are owned by me, @mers
Sort:  

How Inwish to have a garden like yours . hopefully when I come back from my vacation, I will plant again.

Yeah, looking forward to that. I know you have those great green thumbs.. So anything will grow whatever you plant.

Yes, I will do it soon.

 2 years ago  

A great variety for the kitchen! Good luck with it. My weather is too hot for successful container gardening

LOL, Maybe you do not need to do container gardening because you have the real garden with plants that could sustain the heat? Thanks for visiting!

 2 years ago  

Yes, I have a small real garden at this point in my life but in general, balcony and rooftop gardens don't thrive here, everything is constantly attacked by aphids because the plants are water-stressed

Aw, I can understand that! :-((

I do not understand what was wrong with Hive, I have been following so many users , one of them had been you. All of the ones on my list vanished...And now I have to start following the people once more including my real friends. bugs, bugs, bugs!

 2 years ago  

I've had that happen too 🤷‍♀

Container gardening is the answer to small spaces. You are such a resourceful person to find ways to do your gardening passion.

If our flat would be near the roof, I would have planted there too... we have a green roof as insulation, but the problem is how to get the water to water the plants. I would have to come a floor above us to reach the plants.

Yes, I love seeing container gardens. When I was nomadic, I used to grow my food in containers in my bus/truck and take them out when ever I parked up somewhere. So many people think you need a big space to grow food, but really what you need is the desire and enthusiasm to do so and then you can grow food everywhere. You have such abundance here, well done xxxx

Thank you dear... it is more of a passion to see the plants growing everyday and for me it is seeing the miracles of life. People say "Why grow tomatoes when you can buy them cheap at supermarkets?" They do not understand the feeling because they have never grown any.

Wow! Even with small space your hobby of veggie gardening is not a hinder. I envy your container gardening. Mine not successful because of the cats and dogs. When I plant tomorrow morning oh my they play with it, the plant no where to be found.

Look at my example the cats did it...
inbound8036335699090864190.jpg

 2 years ago  

Hi. I too like to grow in containers and pots. Your garden is beautiful.

Thank you. Would like to see yours too!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @lipe100dedos!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@weed-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.

Thank you so muvh for the support.

 2 years ago  

Except for plot gardening I also love container gardening, with containers I can move my crops at will, and with containers, it is easier to tidy up the surroundings.

Indeed, it is more handier to have them in pots if you want to move the veggies around to clear the mess.

Nice post.
Thanks for sharing.
!1UP
cartel_curator_final.gif