Garden Journal Weekly. 17th August 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

While it feels a little quieter in the gardening and homesteading communities this week, it's still been a fun stroll through the gardening posts. Probably more fun than the stroll through my own garden with the intermittent drizzle on the day I decided to have the rabbits out because there was supposed to be a low chance of rain. I ended up having to add temporary shelters...

My_project_3.jpg

@isdarmady has a wealth of experience and knowledge in hydroponics, so it was exciting to see that he's put together posts for beginners on starting hydroponics with some tips and recommendations on starter vegetables.

@ligayagardener has been expanding on uses for eggshell and different preparations for them both in the garden and for our own nutrition and comfort. Now I know what I can recommend for hubby if he runs out of antacids.

I got to enjoy some eye candy from @denmarkguy's garden as he chronicled what's been growing and shared future plans.

image.png

I had to smile at @senorcoconut's recount of an impromptu arrival of chickens. It's a familiar feeling how opportunities arrive when you least expect them and are the least prepared for them, but you can't turn them down or you may never get that chance again.

When it comes to homesteading @goldenoakfarm and @flemingfarm are good bloggers to read to get an idea of what homesteading daily life is like. The latest from Fleming Farm has hose repairs and harvests in the mix while on Golden Oak Farm there's straw and hay talk with mulching and baking.


I hope you enjoy this week's highlights. Beneficiaries will go to @senorcoconut @goldenoakfarm and @flemingfarm.

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

Hey thanks for the shout out!! The chooks are great... not laying eggs at the moment but I think it's because they're in a new place, and they've just started molting. So it'll be a while yet before we see eggs again.

We only had 3 eggs from them so far... I don't want any more squatters in this house 😁!

 2 years ago  

Are you heading into autumn/fall where you are? If so, it really could be a while. Ours have recently started laying again after their winter break. I find it funny that many of the first eggs after their break are long and skinny, like they need to stretch the laying channel out again. 😁

Oh wow yeah that is funny! I hope we see the long eggs too. And yes we're heading towards automn.... though technically still summer for a month right?

Dear admin Haloo, I really want to join this community, I am still new to the hive and I would like to ask if there are any special requirements to join this beloved community, sorry in advance🙏

 2 years ago  

At the top of the community there should be an "about" button and this will tell you what is expected from those posting here. To join in the community, just post in the community. Posts will only get muted if they don't fit the community or go against community guidelines. Very low quality, low effort ones may also get muted.

Other than that, welcome to the community. 🙂

Thank you very much for the direction

Another good set of posts to read. I'm glad that you liked my eggshells post. We have plenty here because I'm always walking on them when my wife is around!🤣🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Oooohh... I'm telling Jelina you said that! 🤣

As usual I go the lazy route and just throw them back in the chicken run for them to deal with.

She knows! I'm always in trouble, even without eggshells!

Thanks for the mention!

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome. I don't get to go through your blog posts as much as I'd like.

 2 years ago  

Good summarised report of garden journal @minismallholding. greetings😊

Excellent