Garden Journal Weekly, 21st September 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

It feels like it's been ages since I last did the newsletter! @Riverflows needed to do a swapsies last week, so this is actually my first one in September.

As I go through this week's gardening and homesteading posts there are lots of things being harvested and talk of frosts. It took me a moment to wrap my head around the fact that the majority of people are heading into autumn, not coming out of winter, so I was momentarily wondering if everyone had been growing summer vegetables in greenhouses over winter. 😅 Now my brain is just about working again I'll have to use all these wonderful sights of harvests to plan my own plantings ready for summer.

CC_Express_20211229_2104580.5092218024987338-1.png


I'm linking just the latest instalment from @flemingfarm, but they have been sharing their harvests all week, among many other things, so if you have the time I recommend having a look through more of what's been posted about there. I'm also loving that they are selling some of these amazing harvests through a co-op.

image.png

If you're more of a video watcher than a reader, then another content creator I'd like to recommend is @cahlen. This guy has really stepped back to nature with his approach to homesteading and I loved seeing this incredible bug on his sunchoke this week. Those huge plants around him are also a reminder that I haven't visited his vlog for way too long. They were only knee high last time I saw them!

I always enjoy going in to see what @thebigsweed and his lovely wife @farm-mom are up to, so I was glad to find something in the #homesteading feed. This creation of a Shuffle Zone is actually a real thought provoker, because it occasionally crosses my mind how homesteaders on large plots manage as their bodies start to slow down. This couple are obviously planning ahead for this very contingency and I'd like to think they'll still be shuffling around that property collecting delicious treats when they're 100. 😍

image.png

I love to see new gardens being started, just as @illusivelf has been doing with her partner. They have been really busy and put lots of work into getting seedlings and seeds into the ground. I hope we'll soon see the product of their efforts.

I'll finish up with @leighscotford, whose posts I seem to keep missing. I didn't even realise he was back sharing with us again. 😳 While the talents he showcases are more landscaping than growing, it's still all part of gardening and I love seeing these beautiful creations emerge through his photos. He must have created hundreds of relaxing garden spaces of all types for clients to enjoy over the years.

image.png

As always, I thank you for joining me and this week beneficiaries will be @thebigsweed, @illusivelf and @leighscotford.

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

It's always amazing to see what people are up to with their gardens. I started with a small tomato growing kit a few months ago, and while I have lost a few plants along the way due to either over watering or the current fungus gnat infestation, I have a two small green tomatoes on a plant that are growing nicely. I also have a 4 foot tall fruitless tomato plant that I grew from a seed. What started out as a small hobby is beginning to take over!

 2 years ago  

It's addictive, isn't it! 😁 I'm sure your for fit one will start producing when the weather warms a bit more.

I've had a horrible powdery mildew problem this winter in the garden. These problems come with the addiction hobby, unfortunately. Are you growing indoors? I tried capsicums indoors over winter, but I had the gnats too. I turfed the survivor out a bit early, because we were sick of the gnats, but we had a sudden cold rain with hail and that died too. 😮‍💨

Yes, I am growing indoors. I figured it would prevent a lot of problems. The fungus gnats were in the soil apparently, so I am slowly switching to a soil with no bark in it. I've with beetroot not getting past the seedling stage, peas will sprout and get to a certain height before wilting and falling over. My strawberries are doing OK. I have a whole heap of sticky traps for the gnats and even have neem oil but it's expensive.

It's kinda hard being global, right? If I see one more pumpkin-autumnal post on line I may scream... LOL.... we're in the thick of flooding monsoons and about to head into the cool-cold season.

Hoping to do a nice garden post this weekend. x

Hugs. I miss your blogging, lady. Hoping all is well in your world. Me? Bruised and emotionally a little battered after my trip to Europe, seeing my girl off and trying to find my feet as a now-solo person again. But committed to regaining my Hiving self, and a blogging routine.

 2 years ago  

I was just wondering whether you were still in Holland. Leaving your girl behind would certainly leave you feeling that way. Take things easy on yourself, it will be a tough transition. Some gardening therapy sounds just the thing. 🙂

Thank you for the acknowledgement and support. I haven’t been active for a while, but should be back hive-ing on a regular bases again. My expertise are mainly on the construction side of gardening, although we do planting from time to time. I’ve still got a few past projects that I will be posting about soon, including a huge bank where we installed 16 pallets of wild flower turf.

 2 years ago  

I love the construction stuff - hard landscaping is just as essential and inspiring!

It can be extremely creative. It’s also varies a lot. It’s surprising how styles go in and out of fashion imo. When I started labouring back in 1997, we used to build a lot of Japanese gardens which we don’t do so often now. After that there was a phase of modern gardens, commonly with stainless steel water features, and sawn stone was a common choice back then. Again, very few of these are being built lately.

 2 years ago  

I wonder if it's because people can't afford it?

Funny how there's fashion in gardens too. Everyone's garden seems the same here.

I used to stay in a horse lorry on an estate down in Dorset, and they had all this cool Victorian stone landscaping by the river. There was the most incredible structure there designed to echo the water that passed through the mill wheel. Otherworldly. They sure don't make stuff like they used to.

 2 years ago  

Oooh, the wild flower one sounds interesting. I must try to remember to check in on you more often.

It's always a thrill to be recognized by #hivegarden. Your continued support is awesome. thank you @minismallholding for including my latest post. When we do reach 100 the shuffle zone may have to have some train tracks laid throughout the paths, very similar to what
@amberyooper has around his beautiful garden. the only difference would be that we may need a motorized cart to get us around.😁

Thanks again and have a great day!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Oh, you'll definitely have to share on here when you get those train tracks in! One that will carry you both too and I want lots of photos of you guys on it. 😁 In fact, maybe you should start work on it now, so you can show us trial pics. 😉

You've got me laughing again.

Oh how I miss the whole feeling of sinking my hands in the soil but I have to restructure the financing aspect of farming for it to be possible again. I intend to plant some herbs and succulents on my balcony as I attempt to realign my love and my wallet.

Food production is so expensive. It is like they don't want us growing our own!

 2 years ago  

I hope you can manage to get back to farming one day. Meanwhile I look forward to seeing your succulents when you get them. 🙂

I hope so too for the sake of my sanity. Thank you for the warm wishes 😊

It's nice to do gardening because you're not just enjoying yourself but can also earn money from it just like what @flemingfarm did. I was doing that some time ago but I was occupied with other things. I suddenly miss gardening now.

 2 years ago  

And of course you can feed yourself from it!! Sorry, I'm just excited because I've been adding carrots and broccoli from the garden to our meals today. 😁

 2 years ago  

You shared the three who never seem to post in The Hive Garden, so I always miss them which is a bummer!

 2 years ago  

I rather like taking the time on Wednesdays to venture into the tags and explore outside of communities. You can get stuck in a loop in them sometimes, can't you?

 2 years ago  

Totally!!!! As I try to vote everyday sometimes I barely have time to pick up the community ones, and when I'm busy I barely have time to read at all! So I do miss important posts, like from these three legends.

Being a global gardening community, its hard to keep up with who is cold and who is warm. I've gotta keep checking myself, with our crazy weather here in SOz.

Off to read the posts!

 2 years ago  

I never thought I'd get used to having the opposite seasons here, but now I find myself forgetting which way around it is in England!

The newslatter is great, especially highlighting gardening and producing stuff ourselves. It seems many people recently started to plant veg and fruits themselves. We started only with plants and flowers, just getting to know and learning while doing.

 2 years ago  

I hope you'll share your learning experiences with us. 🙂

Hi @minismallholding,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you so much for including me @minismallholding!
I appreciate the support, have a great day.😀

 2 years ago  

You're welcome. I always love seeing new gardens started. It reminds me of when I started myself and the excitement of it.

Excactly we are super excited about our garden! Arugula has already started to germinate just 4 days after we planted them and I can't believe it!
I am so curious to observe all the phases of growing.😀

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 14000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 15000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Dear @minismallholding,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!