Weekly Garden Journal Highlights, 20th October 2021

in HiveGarden2 years ago

As spring gets well underway here in the southern hemisphere, things are getting quieter in the north as winter approaches. I'm actually a little sad to see how sparsely populated the #homesteading tag is at the moment. Thankfully there is still some activity, as some harvesting needs to be done along with winter preparations.

If you're in a quiet period yourself and would like some inspiration, perhaps you can pop over to @theherbalhive and join in the conversion on lemon balm. There's even a chance to win some Hive.


image.png



The Autumn colours are creeping in as certain plants die back for winter, a few things still need harvesting and some things even need to be planted ready for spring, at @goldenoakfarm.
image.png

It looks like it's all go with harvesting for @astrizak. I'm getting jealous of all that juicy looking produce coming in!

image.png

There is so much happening at @samstonehill's, I barely know where to start. They've been foraging, harvesting, preserving, making and baking. I'm not surprised he's struggled to find time to update us on all these activities!

image.png

@nikv shares with us some of the plants she grows for fun, as she suggests that gardening is not just for food. There are some pretty special South African natives here.

image.png



HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

oh my goodness - seeing these really make me soooooooooo happy hehehe

I have had such a hard time gardening over the years - and this LAST YEAR... i was SUCCESSFUL and I even made myself a salad !!! hahahahaha

I made a tiny little Mini Salad of Celebration... (and I just put the tag on it for #gfreedreemie hahaha - its the first one in the tag! LOL)

It made me so so happy to harvest from my own garden - even though it was small! i actually could EAT from my own garden! hehehehehe

this next year - I want to try to do even more! but... I have deer and bears and rotten squirrels hehehe so i usually have to put my stuff on my patio.

thinking about doing some otehr things but... i'm really limited... so... hmmm we'll see!

but - what qualifies as homesteading? hehehe I'm not really a HOMESTEADER. more like someone who lives rurally on a mountain that likes to pretend she knows how to garden enough to get one salad. LOL

if that qualifies - then ALL MY GARDENING POSTS will now be put into the homesteading tag so you have a bit more hehehe

and @bluefinstudios is an amazing gardener - he should use that tag too!!! hehehe

 2 years ago  

We love all things gardening, so I go through both the hastening and homesteading tags. I'm trying to remember to use the #GardenJournal tag more as well, to stop @riverflows coming after me for nettle slapping.

It's my turn again today for the update, so I'll drop by bluefin's. Thank you for the tip 😊

Ok! I'm not sure if he has any recent ones..he's in the northern hemisphere and he was at the end of his season...so his last post on his garden might have been 2 weeks ago?

But maybe you'll find something hehehe

i usually try at least one or two gardening post, a week, still.

 2 years ago  

Will be relying on the southern gardeners now. @samstonehill is that an olive tapenade? Going to check out now. Sorry I was going to do a gardening post on wkd but got too busy. I'll get one done in next few days.

 2 years ago  

We're going to have to get our acts together to hold up the south! 😆

 2 years ago  

Actually it's nutella! Had to do something with the abundance of hazelnuts ;)

But olives are up next in the list of things to do. Many unloved trees around here...

 2 years ago  

OH man - nutella! now that's clever!!!!!

 2 years ago  

I have something ready for the spring! ^_^

 2 years ago  

Yay!!

Always the best of the garden, natural food and fruits always take care of health, I am interested in all of this!

Reading this makes me want to post about my plants too :) Visiting the gardens mentioned above :)