Here's my Garden in May 🍓🍒

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I thought to share some photos with you, showing what exactly I have in my garden at the moment. I took the pictures a few days ago but I feel that some things already changed. Taking a look today, the spring onion is way bigger and the fennel greens as well.

My garden is a mix up of everything, everywhere. It's not really a garden because ever since we moved we didn't have enough time and energy to set things up.

The weather here is more than warm. It's hot...for May! We have around 27°C.


Starting with these beautiful spring onions. My husband is a fan of onions. Actually he loves to have scrambled eggs with onion. A few days/week. It's his breakfast thing.
Last fall & winter we had onions from our garden and it lasted until February. What a big harvest of onions we had!

Garlic is next and it's just near the spring onions.


20220503_141044.jpg

20220503_141038.jpg


We don't use any pesticide or insecticide. We love our garden foods! They almost grow wildly because we often forget to take care of them and maybe watering too. I cannot wait to be more organized in the garden in the future. My mom used to treat her blackberry bush with neem oil. And it worked. So maybe you myght take a look at that.


Here is my little BASIL ! Which I love! It's my favorite herb, next to PARSLEY! I have them both in the garden, can't be a garden (MY garden!!) without 'em.
Btw, the green parsley you see in the picture, is from last year. It went through winter, without being covered or something! 💚
I planted some more parsley this year, in a pot. To have it right in front of the house.

20220503_140120.jpg

20220503_140917.jpg

20220424_172904.jpg



I have mint! My husband is again, a BIG BIG fan! We drink a lot of mint lemonade hahahhaaa. A LOT!

20220503_140141.jpg

20220503_140214.jpg

Here's my fennel greens! I love to put in my green smoothies and sometimes I put it in different food recipes.

20220503_141000.jpg


I have green lovage.

We have it very very often in soups.


We also have strabberies. Not much, just two rows but we'll have more in the upcoming years. I think my son can eat them all in one day! He adores all kind of berries, which is why we have also blueberries, raspberries (this is still small) and lots of red currants. 🍓

The strawberries are already blooming. Some plants have already little strawberries.


20220503_134653.jpg


These are the blueberries. Last year we got maybe 20 blueberries from 4-6 small bushes. This year we have dozens on every bush! Can't waaaaaaait!


Sticking to fruits, we have also cherries! They are so many! We have a very fruitful cherry tree, every year! We all love cherries and these are big! ❤️🍒

20220503_135212.jpg

20220503_135203.jpg

20220503_135148.jpg


We have also salad , two types.

20220503_140632.jpg


20220503_140712.jpg


This is something I have again, from last year. It's Mangold. Withouth being covered, it faced winter! And now is so big! I dont know what to do with it, maybe I should cut it? The green leaves are good, I use them in the smoothies, they are not bitter.

20220503_140924.jpg

20220503_140920.jpg


This BIG bushy greens are......Guess what? Horseradish greens! We have them from 2 years maybe....and they are still there. I wonder how is possible to still have them?....I dont really use them, because I dont know how. Any ideas?

20220503_140202.jpg


I also have a few plants of Yellow Beans. We use them in soups and stews and as side dish.

20220503_140744.jpg

And my mother in law helped with some tomatoes planting.
We have a few plants growing beatifully! 🍅

20220503_140502.jpg


Besides everything we have at the moment, last week we planted some more veggies (and fruits). I know its a bit late but I hope its not too late. Here's what I hope we'll harvest later, this year!

That would be:

  • Kale
  • Cucumbers
  • Spinach
  • Arrugula
  • Parsnip
  • Carrots
  • Dill
  • Melon and Watermelon
  • Zucchini
  • Bell Pepper
  • Tomatoes (more)
  • Pees

280141243_298209052526865_4919999474204414876_n.jpg

280439631_366947531912764_3214409663849703911_n.jpg

I think this is it...! Promise I'll keep you updated! I can't wait to share some photos of the fruits we'll have soon! ->

Cherries and strawberries! Yummy!

Have a lovely day, everyone!

love, missdeli

Sort:  

Very awesome! You have a vast variety of greens in your garden. And they are growing beautifully. It's amazing that those other plants you had survived winter. ❤

Thank you so kindly for you comment! I am quite amazed myself by the fact these plants survived over the winter and believe me, we had a cold long winter!

Pleasure is mine :) They are most resilient plants, it's nice to have them.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @missdeli and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Very nice garden!

Horseradish can survive a lot of cold, it has big roots that don't seem to get frozen out very easily.

Thank you!:) I can honestly say I noticed that! We have this small 'bush' of horseradish greens around 2-3 years and its still here! And in winter they were still green. Thats why I'm thinking being more creative and have it in the kitchen as well, its about time. 😋

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 5000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 6000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice selection. Do you eat the Mangold root?

No, I didnt even think about it. I only harvest it for the greens, have them in my smoothies, or soups and salads.

Nice! As for the horseradish: Grab the root and blend it with a food processor, give it a little vinegard if you like but thats all, you can use at like mustard, we used to eat it with ham, now with vegan ham... Beware, it is strong! ;)

Thank you kinldy for your comment! We have it exactly as you suggested. I was more in the question about the greens, that is something I didnt have before.

Oh sorry, with the greens, well I have no clue! 🙃 There should be a tastier method than putting it into the mulch / compost, though... Let me know if you've found out!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you for the support, as always!

 2 years ago  

Incredible.. there's so much happening in your garden!! I use horseradish greens in fire tonic and in salad and stirfries. Jealous of your 🫐🫐🫐🫐 blueberries!

Hey there! Thanks so much! It feels so nice having you here, commenting! I always read your garden posts and many more hehe! The last in my mind is the one with your son, celebrating Mothers Day!

Other than that, YES, a lot its happening in here and I didnt even realized it! When I started writting this garden post, I thought I dont have much to write and share but the time I finished I thought that my garden is not that small as I used to think haha.

I'll try using it in the salad and stirfries, thank your for the idea. Maybe I can try it in omelette too....🤔
I cant wait to have the blueberries!! Last night, when I watered the garden I noticed there are so many, I couldnt believe it! 😁💜

 2 years ago  

Yuuuuumm... Yeah when we turn our attention to things we realise how much we have! Vive la abundance!!!

 2 years ago  



image.png
You've been curated by @gardenhive and @riverflows on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are appreciated, and help YOUR Hive garden grow! Find our community here!

Thank you so much, I'm glad if you enjoyed my post! 💛💚

Believe it or not, I now have the wonderful aroma of mint, garlic, onions and basil in my head. I think I am going to start growing some herbs in my yard again. Good luck with your crops.

hehe you're so kind! I think that growing herbs is the easiest and you actually dont need a real garden for that. Just some pots and a good spot for the sun to reach. So yeah, I encourage you starting it as soon as possible. Nothing compares with the joy harvesting your own foods, which nowadays its a bit tricky with this whole food industry! :d:d

thnks for commenting!

I thought my parsley would make it through the winter, but the deep cold in March got it. :(( You'd dig the roots of the horseradish, grate it (outside - it's potent!) and put it in fire cider. Or use it as a condiment for meats. That's all I know about it.

Loved seeing how far along your garden is.

Thank you , glad you enjoyed it! Promise I'll be mosting more once things go forward in here!

Yeah, we use the grated horseradish in fire cider, also I sometimes make a sauce. And sometimes I buy some horseredish spread, my husband like it. I'm not a fan of horseradish but I do have it sometimes, knowing how healthy it is. It's one of the best super foods and natural medicine.

I meant more about the greens. That is soemthing I didnt have/cooked before.

 2 years ago  

I love your spring onions, they look amazing!

Thanks! You should see it how BIG are they now! lol they're growing like crazy.

 2 years ago  

I would love to see how big they are :)

 2 years ago  

Beautiful, diverse garden! ;)
You can try the horse radish greens a bit in salads or soups...
someone who loves mustard and spicy medicine would love it!
or you can try to pickle some (with veggies) just for some cleansing when needed!
The roots are amazingly strong... just by shredding them you start dropping all your mucus...instantly ;)

Thank you so so much for your comment! I use the roots for pickles, also in beet salad, fire cider and I sometimes make a horseredish sauce. I def should take a look into more recipes including horseredish greens, thats something I didnt have/cooked before. Thanks for the ideas though. I'll try have some in my next salad.