Saving an Arum Lily for a old Nursery

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Miss Hugo

Devide.PNG

Ever since I was a little girl I loved Arum Lilies, known in my native language as "varkore". We had a few of them in the garden all the years, but with time they stopped coming back during springtime. All the different colours of the same type of plant are fascinating to me. I know some of them by scientific names and had plant science at university, so I'm aware of the reasons and species and all that.

I started gathering a few bulbs during covid, got a few giant "varkore" from an old lady, bought a yellow one (that has sadly not survived this past winter) and got a purple one for my birthday last year (this one I took care of during winter, but it has not sprouted yet). This year I ended up saving a few from the mix and match plants from nurseries. It seems that with covid most of the small nurseries in my area closed down, or didn't have enough hands to take care of all the plants. I have gathered a few succulents, fruit trees, all kinds of flowers, roses and of course a few arum lilies

This was one of the particular ones I "saved" last week. The nursery is closing down and most of the plants are in bad condition. I spotted 5 "varkore" all sad and depressed. So I took them home (yes, I did pay full price for them), gave 2 away to a friend, planted one at work, and kept 2 for myself. unfortunately one of the bulbs was rotten and I was unable to save it.

Devide.PNG

However, little Fred can still be saved!

Side note: all my plants are named Fred or Frederik

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.26.jpeg

As you can see the plant barely had any soil, none of the stems was able to stand upright, and the leaves started to wilt.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.25 (1).jpeg

First thing first, I had to cut down the dead leaves. It's draining the plant of energy. I was left with one new leave that is trying its best to survive in this world.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.25.jpeg

I already had a pot with soil, since I recently replanted one of my other "varkore". I know it looks small, but placing a plant in a giant pot is also not a great idea.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.24 (1).jpeg

I removed the plant from its prison, washed off the soil and allowed it to dry for a while. These bulbs can rot if they are too wet, but they still loveeee water.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.24.jpeg

I filled the pot with a bit of soil to form a bed for the bulb. These plants need to be planted deep. I topped the soil and watered little Fred.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-25 at 15.20.23.jpeg

I moved him next to all his new friends, and he received a few rocks. I have a rock obsession so I need to do something with all the rocks I bring home.

c.png

Thanks for reading my short blog about Fred. I'm hoping that he will grow tall and strong. I'm excited to see what colour the flowers will be since I was not informed. But by the looks of it, he will probably be a white giant (Zantedeschia). If that is the case I'll have to replant him in a few months. Here's to hoping that he will bloom this year! I'll update you guys on Fred in a few months once he has had time to adjust to his new environment. If anyone has tips on how I can keep him happy, please feel welcome to share them.

Gardening (more like pots and pots and pots) is one of the things I enjoy during my alone time. Nature can teach us so much about ourselves.

Devide.PNG

image.png

Devide.PNG

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @technicalside ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Every time I see an arum lily I check for the rare and tiny arum lily frog... I've never found one... Yet! Haha

Ooo I've seen them before! They are so tiny. I don't understand how some people find them gross 🤔. Yet again, I'm affraid of snakes, so to each his own.

Congratulations @misshugo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@misshugo, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @tibfox & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Dear @misshugo,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Thanks @arcange I'll check it out this weekend!

Thank you, looking forward to getting your support for the proposal ⏳🙂