See the Red Ginger Plants I Successfully Grow

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220315_152639_1.jpg



Hello HiveGarden community lovers, how are you all?
Hope you are always in good health and well.
Introduce I am a housewife whose job is only at home, taking care of the house, children and my husband of course.
This is my first post in this community.


I live in one of the cities in Indonesia, precisely in the city of Bogor. I also have a hobby of cooking, so lately I like to write recipes. Tell me a little, a few months ago around the beginning of January I bought 1 kilogram of red ginger. I bought the red ginger to be used as herbal medicine, because at that time the Covid case had spiked again, so I often consumed herbs from red ginger, turmeric and lemongrass. I cut the three ingredients into pieces and then boiled them, then drank the water. The boiled water has the benefit of increasing the body's resistance. For red ginger itself, it certainly has many benefits for the body and warms.


The ginger that I bought was so much that at that time I thought about trying to grow it in a pot, I have a large old dishwasher sink that happened to be leaking and I replaced it with a new one. Because I was confused about how to dispose of these used items, I took the initiative to plant red ginger. I took a few pieces of red ginger which was almost dry at that time. I started planting it, I hope it will work because this is my first time trying to grow red ginger at home.


The fun thing for me is that the first ginger plant I planted turned out to be thriving, is it really that easy to plant it? Even though I never gave him fertilizer and rarely watered him, yes....because I'm not really the type of person who is painstaking when it comes to plants.


IMG_20220315_152753_1.jpg



I took this photo when it was raining, so the soil in the pot was quite wet.

Why do I really want to grow red ginger at home??

Because the price of red ginger here is quite expensive, the price is almost hundreds of thousands, so I want to try cultivating this plant at home.

I don't remember exactly how much ginger I plant at that time, but it can be seen that after this plant has grown, the number has become a lot, the ginger looks red and refreshing, the smell is also very distinctive and a little spicy. But I haven't been able to harvest this ginger to taste it, because the ginger is still too young so I will wait for it for a while.


IMG_20220315_152925.jpg


IMG_20220315_152737_1.jpg


This red ginger has a lot of children, right?? Hahaha .... sorry if I call him a child, yes ... a red ginger child.


Because there are quite a lot of ginger plants, I tried to pull out a few ginger tree trunks to re-plant them around the empty pots. I hope it will work and won't die.
Actually I want to plant more, but that's not possible because I live in a housing estate so there is no vacant land here.


IMG_20220315_153635.jpg



The benefit of growing red ginger at home is that we don't need to buy it if we need it at any time. I am the type of person who likes to drink red ginger stew, usually I will mix a little sugar and sweetened condensed milk.
Red ginger is often used as a mixture of drinks, such as coffee, tea, milk and maybe others. Around my house a lot of people sell red ginger drink with a mixture of milk, usually they will go around by pushing a cart, if you like they also provide free-range chicken eggs as a mixture. Do you want to try it? The drink has the benefit of increasing stamina in the body, so it is in demand by many people.



IMG_20220315_152719.jpg



Thank you for reading my block, sorry if my writing is messy, this is my first post and I am not an expert on the meaning of plants. See you again with my other plant posts.



Thank You




InShot_20210930_014807203.jpg

Who is Dwi Purwandari?


Dwi Purwandari is an ordinary housewife, has a hobby of cooking, traveling and culinary, not many activities are done at home other than taking care of children and the household. Recently, he started to learn to write, because according to him, writing is one way for him to relieve stress, add insight, can improve mood and can express what feelings he wants by writing. He has a dream that one day he can become a successful person by writing. Be proud of you because you can write, because not everyone can be a writer. Love whatever profession you have, because all the work looks noble and your life is what you live. Spirit... never give up under any circumstances, because no matter what the circumstances are, life goes on. Thank you

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I live in Australia and i too am growing ginger in a pot in the garden. It is VERY expensive here as well. $50/kg at my local shops which is very expensive. Bananas are $2 for comparison.

Great job and i hope you get some ginger to eat.

sarah

hello, thank you for stopping by my block, now I know that red ginger is just as expensive in many countries. But it's better if we try to grow it ourselves at home, this is very useful. May your ginger thrive.

 2 years ago  

I hope the same for your ginger.

Yes indeed it is very expensive here.. and i use such a lot of it. i love coffee and ginger with spices to drink, we also make a lot of Thai and Indian curries so we use a lot of ginger.

Keep us informed on your ginger.

Sarah

I often make ginger boiled water with brown sugar, it's very refreshing. But there are also those who mix it into red ginger milk, they sell it, usually red ginger is mixed with sweetened condensed milk and sugar, you can also add eggs.

Hello mba, have your ginger's leaf ever got eated by some kind of worms? Maybe you will share the tips

hello , thank you for commenting, my ginger leaves are very fertile, there are no pests and worms, for some reason. I never sprayed medicine or anything, every day all I did was water it and clean the grass.

 2 years ago  

Wow, this is the second time that I heard about red ginger, I hope I can find some to plant in my garden. Good evening!

Thank you for stopping by, I suggest you start growing red ginger now, besides the many benefits of red ginger, it is also very profitable if it can be sold in large quantities. If you have a large area of ​​land you can easily cultivate this plant.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the suggestion, I will look into that.