Gardening Season 2022 - End of April update

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hello everyone! As April is already coming to an end, it's time for another garden update. There's a few things I want to share today so let's start right away...


Here's a few garden details to begin with - little purple flowers on rosemary bush look really cute and I spotted a hard working bee on one of the dandelions.


Closer view of the plums and you can also see them in the back on the right photo. They kind of mark the end of our property. Of course, I had company of the cats and they usually don't like to pose but this guy was in the model mood as you can tell.


We have a lot of daisies around and they look so pretty, I try not to step on them, haha.


Even though we cut down one of our quince trees because it completely dried up, we still have another smaller one. Quince tree flowers are some of my favorite as they are light pink and big and I love to take photos of them as well as apple three flowers that are now almost gone...


I don't think I shared photos of potatoes this season because it took them a while to grow out and as you can see they take a lot of space in our garden, pretty much one entire side. On the right you can see a close up photo.


Peas and onions progress... We are still experiencing rainy weather and I was a little bit worried that the storm will come - light rain is always good for the garden but heavier storms can make a lot of damage. I am really hoping sunny days will come quickly and we will have an abundant gardening season.


Another update is that the zucchini is growing nicely and spinach is getting really big! You can also see there are some empty spots in the green salad section, we have been eating fresh salad mixed with spinach almost every day now. There's nothing better than fresh, home grown veggies and fruits on the table!


As I was trying to take a photo of the raspberries, Bella decided to photobomb and come for cuddles. If the weather gets a little bit better, I guess we will have strawberries in the first half of May, I just hope all the rain won't kill their sweetness, lol.


Attention seeking Bella! She's getting so round and it's very obvious that she's going to have babies soon! She always hides them as there's a lot of cats around and then when the kittens are big enough, she takes them out of the shelter.


As soon as the garden soil dries up a little bit after last night's rain, we will start moving pre-planted veggies as they are already big enough to be properly planted. To end this post, I want to share another small egg I found the other day, it happens sometimes that we find small or weird looking eggs which is normal, I guess, when you have chickens that lay eggs every day. :)


Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed this garden update and see you next time! Happy gardening!


banner.png

Sort:  

Hopefully the sun does come out and get warmer. We are having the same kind of weather here in Canada too. It's not as warm as it should be this time of the year.
Love your garden and always look forward seeing your garden posts.

I can't believe Bella hasn't popped yet, she's so big! I am always amazed at how far ahead of us you are there. I've not even planted most of the stuff you've got coming up.

 2 years ago  

Your month of April is looking good. As for me, my crops are in their middle age, and my squash and string beans are still 2-3 inches. Good afternoon!

Our dear friend @nikolina!!!! It's spring time, and as always, she's busy with all the garden work. Her photos make you want to become a farmer...
Much love dear! <3

    You have been manually curated by Brotherhood Community for sharing this awesome work.
    Brotherhood community will support 5 bloggers on daily basis.
    For more information about how to get curated by Brotherhood Community, check this Hive Blog.
    Delegate your Hive Power to @brotherhood for supporting more such blogs and also receive curation rewards.

It looks like your garden is doing well so far this year.
Potatoes do take up a lot of space in the garden, but you get a lot of good food in return. 😊
Kitty photobombs are always welcome!