Gardening Season 2022 - First strawberries this season and other fun stuff

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hello and welcome to another garden update! I took a lot of photos of our garden these days so it's definitely time to share some of them and write a little bit about what's going on in the garden...


1.jpg

Garden overview


I am very excited to share that we had our first couple of strawberries! I am always looking forward to these as they are first fruits we have every season.


Continuing with berries, here we have chokeberries and blueberries - new addition to our garden! We have been wanting to get these for some time but since we never had them before, we had no idea if they're gonna make it. Chokeberries are looking really good so far and blueberries are still very small and just started to develop leaves so I guess they will need some time to give us fruits.


On the other hand, raspberries and blackberries are thriving! I cannot wait to eat these on the spot as a healthy snack - my favorite.


Here we have baby pears and apples. So far they are looking good and I am noticing more of them on each tree compared to previous years. Some of the fruit trees we have are still young so they don't give a bunch of fruits, I guess we have to be patient until they grow more.


Fuzzy peaches and cherries... Cherry trees are some of our older trees that we have for many years now and I am happy that they are still giving us a lot of fruits almost every year!


These are our fig trees - on the left is the older and much bigger tree that is actually in front of our house and on the right is a big tree's baby that we planted and it's growing nicely, as you can see it has some figs already.


Plums are also on the younger side but our huge hazelnut tree is one of the oldest trees we have, it's probably about 20 years old and still going strong!


Photo on the left is a small area of our garden where we had green salad surrounded by spinach. Salad is all gone now as we were eating it almost every day, same as spinach and the one that is overgrowing, we are giving it to the chickens - they absolutely love it! Instead of salad, now we have some cabbage planted and we also have more spinach in another area of the garden that you can see on the right side.


I am surprised by how fast arugula is overgrowing and we are trying to eat it every day now. We have been eating radishes as well, it's nice to have a variety of greens and veggies for salad mixtures that are my current favorite thing to eat on daily basis.


Spring onions are also some of my favorites and I am happy there is an abundance of spring onions in our garden. :D Potatoes are also looking good so far.


Peas is doing so well and we probably planted it way to close so harvesting might be a little bit challenging as it grows really big but I hope these wood sticks will help it grow more in height and give it more support.


Moving along we have more salad, there are two different kinds but I have no idea how these are called, I just know I love to eat it, haha.


Moving pre-planted tomatoes to the garden soil was one of the recent garden tasks we completed, we also finished moving pre-planted cherry tomatoes which are my favorite so now we just have to take care of them and hope they will have a successful season. Zucchini is looking great, one of the veggies we don't have to worry about.


Of course, a garden related post would not be complete without my cat companions! Bella had babies so now she's a busy mom of four cute kittens! She always hides her babies until they are big enough and she feels like taking them out of the shelter but this year she gave birth in our chicken area, then moved her babies in another part of our backyard. It was my first time seeing kittens the day they were born and I hope they gonna make it as we have other cats around and I heard sometimes male cats harm kittens. She is very protective so I'm sure she's going to take good care of them! Maybe I'll make another post about Bella and her cat family! :)


Thank you for stopping by, i hope you enjoyed this garden update and a little rant about the cats! Have a great day everyone!


banner.png

Sort:  

A lovely garden post!
You have a really big garden! It looks like everything is growing well.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much! :)

That all looks very cool and green 🤗👌👌 I want try all this garden food 😅👌👌... here in Estonia all just was get green.

 2 years ago  

Thanks! The view of a green garden always makes me happy! :D

Pa ovo je predivno, pravo bogatstvo.
!LUV

 2 years ago  

Hvala puno! :)

Love, love, love your garden @nikolina.
And all the fruit trees.
So beautiful.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much, I wish I could send you some fresh fruits! :D

Yes please😋😉

 2 years ago  



image.png
You've been curated by @gardenhive and @riverflows on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are appreciated, and help YOUR Hive garden grow! Find our community here!

I hope I get some cherries on our trees this year... But I will have peaches! Love seeing how well everything is doing.

 2 years ago  

Amazing, peaches are one of my favorite fruits! :)
Thank you!