Gardening Season 2023 - May 10th update

in HiveGarden11 months ago

Hello everyone and welcome to another garden update! I said I was going to do these more often but time just goes by so fast and before I realize, it's been weeks since my last garden update.


1.jpg

Garden overview - May 10th


2.jpg

This small area was taken by spinach but now that spinach is gone this is where we planted cherry tomatoes! It is right at the beginning of our garden which is more convenient to pick some for everyday salads which are my favorite!


3.jpg

Raspberries are doing great and I am noticing a lot of fruit buds on them! I will try to make more smoothies now that I got a new blender just for that purpose.


4.jpg

This entire area is taken over by tomatoes! As I always mention, potatoes and tomatoes are a huge part of our garden. We do make tomato juice each year and we also eat a lot of it so it makes sense to leave a big chunk of the garden for tomatoes.


5.jpg

Snap pea might have less successful growth and we might not harvest as much as last year but I still have hopes that it will provide us with a decent amount of produce.


6.jpg

Green salad and arugula look amazing and I have been really enjoying arugula salads these days! Some people don't like the taste of it but for some reason I love it so much! Mixed with other greens, cucumber, spring onions, radish and with a simple dressing it really makes a perfect and healthy spring salad.


7.jpg

Here we have cucumber - two different kinds. The ones with an improvised ladder are the salad ones and under the black foil are the ones to be used for pickles.


8.jpg

On this photo potato area look kind of sad, lol! In the meantime they grew more and I'll show you an updated photo soon in another post.


10.jpg

This year we planted some corn again and so far it looks like it was a good decision.


11.jpg

Plum trees have so much fruits on them and it looks like this will be a great season for this fruit! I am very picky with plums - I only eat them when they are not fully ripe and too soft, I like them more when they are semi-ripe.


12.jpg

Here is a close up of raspberries!


13.jpg

Our two peach trees are something I always hope to see thrive fully but insects and bugs really love to destroy the fruits and I never get to enjoy one of my favorite fruits! We really try to avoid pesticides in our garden which makes it hard to maintain and protect some of the trees...


14.jpg

I am noticing some small pears already which look so cute!


15.jpg

An here we have plenty of cherries on one of the trees.


16.jpg

Not the best photos but these are our white grapes. We also have purple grapes that I have to photograph and share in one of the upcoming posts.


17.jpg

Figs are also here! With two fig trees, one really big and this small one, we should have plenty to eat and also dry.


18.jpg

Finally, here are some apples! Why does all the small fruits looks so cute?!


Thank you so much for checking out this post, I already have more photos to share and more updates about our garden! See you in the next garden update! :)


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  
 11 months ago  

As always, I am jealous of your garden, but also happy that you have such amazing abundance! I can't imagine gardening on this scale. Looks like everything is going great!

Thank you! Recent long and heavy rains might leave a lot of damage but I hope most fruits and veggies will recover. Now that I have more free time, I will try to do regular garden updates. :)

Congratulations @nikolina! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 160000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 170000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Love this early time of year, such a huge garden. Do you cut your raspberries back every year>?

Yes, each Spring they are being cut back and here is a photo from March this year just to give you an idea how they looked like. They also give a lot of sprouts so if some of them dry out, they are replaced by sprouts. Each of these supporting sticks has two raspberry stems. I hope that was helpful! :)

20230326_124711.jpg

Hi yes very clear thanks!

I didn't get any peaches last year either, though there had been dozens on the branches. I envy you the white grapes. They did well for you last year didn't they?

Same thing here with the peaches!

Yes, both white and purple grapes did well last year, I hope this year will be the same. :)