Gardening season 2023 - Our garden in April

in HiveGardenlast year

Hello Hive friends! I am finally starting to make garden related posts again. Even though I am very late this season, I will try to update you more often from now on. Time went by so fast and I was very busy but I hope I will be able to dedicate more time to gardening and sharing all about it.


1.jpg

Garden overview


Here are some pretty blooms that I was able to catch in April. Our fruit trees started blooming in March and it was so pretty to walk around the garden during those few weeks. Now the blooms are gone and fruit buds started to form which is also exciting! I had no idea rosemary has cute little purple flowers until we started growing one in our garden - I guess that's the beauty of gardening, you always learn something new.


4.jpg

Spinach abundance! There were some changes since this photo was taken - we used up a bunch of the spinach and on an empty spot we planted some cherry tomatoes. I recently got a new blender so I guess it's time to start making smoothies again! Luckily, we also have another small area with more recent spinach planting so that should last me a while.


5.jpg

This is our small, improvised greenhouse for all the pre-planted veggie seeds.


6.jpg

Closer looks at the pre-planted seeds. We have some cabbage, tomatoes and peppers. Some of these are already moved and planted in the garden and we also gave away some of the tomatoes since we have plenty.


Strawberries! Seems like there will be a decent amount this season and I am looking forward to pick some, hopefully soon!


9.jpg

Raspberries are also looking good so far! Can't wait to add these to my smoothies as well.


11.jpg

I noticed small raspberries forming so of course, I had to take a photo of that too!


Moving on we have these two photos I took at different times in April and it's one of my favorite things to document everything in our garden so I can follow the progress and compare photos side by side.


These two photos are a little bit random but here we have our huge hazelnut tree and a bunch of tomatoes that I mentioned we had pre-planted in the greenhouse.


16.jpg

To end this garden journal entry, here's some peas that is so satisfying to see planted in straight lines - or is this satisfying only to me? :)


Thank you for checking out this post, I hope you like this kind of random tour of our garden, I be back soon with fresh updates! Have a great day and happy gardening!


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  
 last year  

Congratulations. Your post has been selected as one of four garden posts in this week's Leo Threads/Gardener of the Week poll, Week 7. Let's hope you are a winner, as chosen by the community! You can vote for YOUR favourite gardener of the week by visiting the poll here.

#hivegarden.gif
Click Here to Visit Leo Threads!

 last year  

Your garden always looks so healthy and abundant @nikolina. I'm so inspired whenever I see your Spring garden journal and marvel at your abundance!

Thank you so much! I'm glad to hear that as it inspires me to keep sharing. Much love! :)

Love seeing your garden come to life each year. And I like straight lines too. :))

Thank you so much for sticking around each year! :)

You've got a nice bit of land with which to work, which you seem to be planting well! So much good stuff growing! I wish an excellent growing season! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Thank you! Yes, it's a nice piece of land, enough to provide for my family which is all we need! :)

Absolutely, you're most welcome! Yes, indeed it is! That's really great to hear! Excellent! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

That blooming rosemary looks lovely. And your strawberries seem like they are gonna be ready in a matter of weeks. They just need to ripen and turn red and juicy. What a great garden!

Strawberries are here! :) I will share some photos in the upcoming post. There's nothing better than fresh fruit from the garden, strawberries we bought a couple of times cannot even compare.

What a beautiful view it look so fresh and specially your beautiful plant I really love it ❤️

Thank you so much for your kind words! :)