Everything Wrapping up in the Garden

in HiveGarden3 years ago

IMG_20211002_111308995_HDR.jpg

Hello, fellow gardeners! It's too bad the growing season here in the northern hemisphere is coming to a close soon. I really hope we have a mild and warm autumn because, as you can see, lots of plants are still at it in my garden.
The small tree is a pigeon pea. I want to protect it from freezing dieing the winter somehow, but I have no experience in doing so. This will require some research.

IMG_20211002_111354373.jpg

IMG_20211002_111403472.jpg

A single turban pumpkin plant has survived and continues to provide me with new specimens. That's great because I've been giving a lot of them away to friends (they love them)!

IMG_20211002_110944623_HDR.jpg

The blue fingerling potatoes are finally starting to die back. Perhaps in a few more weeks I'll be digging for (blue) gold!

IMG_20211002_110917968_HDR.jpg

The foliage on my yellow grape tomatoes is starting to match the fruit. I must have picked about 100 last week.

IMG_20211002_111711586.jpg

The tinguaraque tomatoes of the south have not started to turn yellow yet. They loved the trellis more than I imagined and have scaled the wall of the garage.

IMG_20211002_112055843.jpg

I love the tiny, flavorful fruits.

IMG_20211002_111744266.jpg

IMG_20211002_111832975.jpg

Oh! How cute! One even fell and got caught in a spider's web! Yoink! I'll take that! I don't think the spider really wanted it anyway.

IMG_20211002_111610725.jpg

This last crop of raspberries provided a nice snack in the garden. And right next door we got our first crop ever of goji berries!

IMG_20211002_111455582.jpg

They were a total of 4 only but it was a privilege to try some fresh from the garden. These berries are superfoods and apparently aid in improving longevity.

IMG_20210930_192106729.jpg

Bonsai Tree Special Report

I heavily pruned my guamúchil tree, also removing the sacrificial branch.

IMG_20211002_110732032_HDR.jpg

The it is, surrounded by the tall broad leaves of turmeric like standards in a fortress. It basically has the same form as before.

IMG_20211002_110808064_HDR.jpg

It will take a few years for this scar to heal. The next branch up will become the/a new sacrificial branch.

IMG_20211002_110833326.jpg

I tried my best to prune according to the rule of 2, that is one branch dividing into 2. The one becoming the few, becoming the many, becoming the few, becoming the one.

IMG_20211002_112640203_HDR.jpg

The jacaranda was also pruned and repotted. It seems to be doing well despite extensive damage to its root system. This tree was most recently moved indoors.

IMG_20211002_112801934_HDR.jpg

I moved my tamarind tree indoors once I began to notice yellowing and dropping of some leaves. I guess it's starting to get too cold at night now. I really want to do rootwork on this tree but am afraid of losing it. I haven't been able to make a successful cutting either.

These will be the next bonsai trees to move indoors:

Mystery citrus
IMG_20211002_112251417_HDR.jpg

Huizache (sweet acacia)
IMG_20211002_112200590_HDR.jpg

Neither will need work in a while, just fertilizer and maybe a few more millimeters of topsoil. They will move to a spot inside near a South-facing window, next to my maple tree.

IMG_20211002_112846908.jpg

I can't wait to have all my favorite plants indoors where I can keep better track of them! The only thing is they will have less natural protection from spider mites, which always seem to magically appear in my house. Well, hopefully not this winter.
Anyways...
Thank you for visiting my garden update and special bonsai report!

@creativetruth come show off your bonsai trees!

Sort:  

I'm interested in your pumpkins. I've never seen a variety like them. They do have two layers of color? I don't even believe it. And their shape is also unique

 3 years ago  

Last year was the first time I'd seen them too. And yes they do look cool with the matching color pattern. I've seen other varieties in pictures where they are orange all over but I don't think those types are as striking as the two tone version like mine. The mushroom shape is probably my favorite aspect of it.

It's so beautiful!
Next spring I'm definitely starting a vegetable garden.

 3 years ago  

Yes! Go for it! And you can share with us your progress!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi proto26,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

 3 years ago  



image.png
You've been curated by @gardenhive on behalf of the HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY! We support gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

 3 years ago  

Hahaha - my goji crop was about seven berries last year, what a bounty! I was careful not to eat them all at once! :P Those pumpkins are so cute. YOu have reminded me to try tamarind but it's hard to find here. I can order it but due to covid plant deliveries take forever which isn't a good idea - I'd hate to be a plant wrapped in a box for two weeks, wouldn't you? I guess now the season is nearly done you'll ahve more time to work onyour bonsai. I'm sure there will be another post in November - I can't imagine the #gardenjournal without you!

 3 years ago  

Being in a dark box for 2 weeks does not sound fun. Hopefully you find some tamarind seeds. And yes, you're right more (proper) bonsai posts in the future (ones that actually have before pictures). Oh darn it, I forgot to use my brand new banner.

 3 years ago  

Those goji berries are very beautiful! I see you like to prune. Do you ever grow roses?

 3 years ago  

Well we do have rose bushes actually. I try to train them to grow on our side of the fence but they otherwise grow feral.

 3 years ago  

I have to ask, as I've no idea, what is a sacrificial branch and its purpose on the bonsai? I've never heard that mentioned before.

By the way, everything is so cute in your garden!

 3 years ago  

A sacrificial branch can be a sucker that usually forms low on the tree. Its sole purpose is to thicken the trunk of the tree as it grows. Once the desired girth is reached, the branch is then 'sacrificed' since it serves no aesthetic purpose directly.