Gardening Before the Gardening Season

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_20220308_121301176_HDR~2.jpg

While much of North America is still thawing, I am enjoying the warmth and getting sunburnt a ways south in my fatherland.
I smuggled a few rare seeds that are unavailable or otherwise rare over here.
Remember when I grew turban pumpkins last year? Well I brought just two seeds over. One sprouted but its sister did not. Since we have no room for big vines here at the house garden, I planted it in the orchard we're planning. We named it Terminal 5. There is not much to see there yet. (I am also designing a crest for the orchard!)

Future Transplants

IMG_20220308_095143067_HDR~2.jpg

Another odd fruit I'm growing this year is the kajari melon. I only brought one seed and, luckily, it sprouted! Although I won't be staying here long enough to taste the fruit, if it does fruit we'll have a supply of seeds here. But what does it look like? Think turban pumpkin but in melon form! It has striking colors. I will grow them at home thus spring/summer.

IMG_20220308_095129292_HDR~2.jpg

This little baby is something that I've grown before but doesn't do so well in my area. It is a pigeon pea or gandúl. These can grow into small trees and live for around 5 years. Old man winter killed the one I had at home. It would be nice to see one thriving here where there is no snow or frost.

I also brought some ayocote beans, cousins of the scarlet runner, back to their ancestral home but they are failing me. The two I brought rotted but it seems I had already brought two others some time ago. I'm trying to see if the red one will sprout using my usual method of propping the bean up with the "eye" facing down on a moist towelette. I should have done this to begin with.

All these plants grow very large, so their home will eventually be Terminal 5. There's no room at headquarters due to all the perennials and the occasional tomato that sprouts (my dad now follows my example and throws away all food scraps in the garden. There are papaya trees, natal plums, lime trees, and...

IMG_20220225_125501747_HDR.jpg

A Mexican pitahayo! Not to be confused with the pitayo (dragon fruit plant) though both are cacti. Someday, it will look like this:

IMG_20220308_100345501_HDR~2.jpg

Then it will bear white, night-blooming flowers that will turn into pitahayas! They are tasty, if you can get past the the prickly skin. It is also high in many vitamins and minerals. Dare I call it a superfood?

Today I drilled a hole in this gourd to make it into a birdhouse! Back in the day, they were used as water bottles with an olote (corn cob) as the stopper.

IMG_20220308_111128599_HDR.jpg

And then how could I let all these seeds go to waste!

IMG_20220308_111232734_HDR.jpg

Interestingly, these seeds are black. The gourds I've worked with before had peach colored seeds (and a much thinner skin). One lucky seed will eventually be sown in the orchard as well. I might also take a few back home with me.

Okay! Enough business talk! Want to see some flowers?

IMG_20220308_100021875.jpg

IMG_20220308_095740055.jpg

IMG_20220308_095907751.jpg

Oops, not a flower! This parasaur happily munches on the nuisance grass that spreads everywhere.

IMG_20220308_100204665_HDR.jpg

This is a bougainvillea, known locally as camelina. We have 3 of them; a red one, white, and fuchsia. Hummingbirds like to visit these flowers occasionally. Watch out for the thorns!

The flowers in our front yard really stand out. Few people have front lawns or even gardens here, but we bring our American ideas down here anyway!

That will be all from me for now! Good luck with your gardens and may the duendes be with you!

IMG_20220308_095853285.jpg

5s4dzRwnVbzGY5ssnCE4wXzkeAEXyVtgk1ApQTwHMTp6y5PvEo1yennC6ZnBYuthES1kLaJE7hzskn1dgdWdWxsNraBNx6twqdfteY9PzrJ7Vqo4EQCRk96cPpHfmqmgZBsFytCQrN7rV4peuVwtpUX45Fwd4r5iP34knT8.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

 2 years ago  

I love to see how the turban and kajari look like when they grow and bear fruit. By the way, the photo is nice (^_^) greetings from the Philippines!

 2 years ago  

I fear the pests won't let them reach maturity. They are vicious and have no remorse (talking specifically about leaf cutter ants). Thank you!. Best wishes from Mexico!

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

 2 years ago  

Pity I can't grow turban pumpkin at my place, because of the flies, I really liked the look of them

 2 years ago  

That's a shame! What flies do you mean?

 2 years ago  

I was wrapping up the garden post, a bit impatiently as it can take some time, and I realised i had missed yours. Spluttered coffee on my keyboard - that photo of you is hilarious. I'm going to have to have a 'sexiest gardener pose' award I think - you and @plantstoplanks would be strong contenders, although I think @edprivat might do his best to trump you both.

Hey you know if you plant feathers they don't grow birds, right?

Love the diversity in your garden! The bougainvillea is splendid. I saw some graffiti online this morning with it - it made me smile.

image.png

I had no idea it was a thing -now I'm lost in google images

image.png

image.png

 2 years ago  

I had you in mind when I took that picture and then when there was no comment from you I thought, 'darn, I was wrong. riverflows must not have liked it!'
I am relieved now!
Yes, I'm aware the feathers won't sprout birds, that's why I'm buying bird seeds!
And that's really clever street art! I love it! I feel like the people here in the village rarely let the plants get that big though.

 2 years ago  

You did a sexy photo just for me? Best thing to happen to me all day... Still smiling! Your humour ALWAYS tickles me. Sorry it took a while .. sometimes it's hard to catch up. RF.

 2 years ago  

Sorry about the coffee on your keyboard! If you want someone to blame, blame this guy:

Screenshot_20220311-091616-848.png

He was my inspiration. Just don't ask me why 2 of his songs are "the ice cream songs" here in Mexico. 🤔🤷😅

 2 years ago  

Bird seeds 😂😂😂 Sorry it took me a sec... 😂😂😂